• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

FAP: All TCs face similar cost pressure

[h=2]PAP TCs Co-ordinating Secretary: All TCs face similar cost pressure[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
September 7th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

pap_badge.jpg

We refer to Mr Goh Kian Huat’s letter ‘Still not convinced of the need to increase S&CC‘ (Sep 3). Each town is unique, and estates under the town councils differ in age and design.

With a diverse profile of towns and residents, each town council may have different facilities to meet their residents’ needs. Thus, maintenance costs and operating expenses vary.

The amount of government grants also differ depending on the property profile. Hence, the town councils determine service and conservancy charges based on their needs and financial position.

But all town councils face similar cost pressure. Those that are not increasing charges this year would have to decide on the increase in the future.
To counter rising costs, the 14 People’s Action Party town councils have been working together to explore new cost-saving measures to keep our utilities cost low.

In the last few years, we have implemented many energy conservation projects, such as the replacement of fluorescent lighting with LED lighting for corridors and staircases, energy-saving amalgam lamps for outdoors and LED car park entrance signs.

Projects were planned with concerted efforts, to leverage on possible economies of scale when tenders are called.

Concerning investments of sinking funds, all 14 town councils complied with the guidelines set by the Ministry of National Development and Town Councils Act.

We assure our residents that we will continue to do our utmost to manage costs carefully to optimise every dollar collected from them.
Albert Teng Ann Boon
Co-ordinating Secretary, 14 PAP Town Councils

* The letter first appeared on TODAYonline on 7 Sep.

<CITE class=fn>Susan Ong:</CITE>
September 7, 2012 at 4:05 pm Susan Ong(Quote)
All these Town Council staff are “jia liao bee” as outsourcing jobs to contractors where their staffs “Disappear” or never do cleaning jobs in many HDB estate and yet they got the guts to collect from us residents !!!!!
My block and many neighbouring blocks are so dirty as no cleaners are on site to cleaning them… all “disappearing act like the SPF” !!!! Nowaday many people say our police force are all “Ninja” only will appear when everything are resolved then appear to write down statement…. what kind of system these pappies are to deserve their millions salaries ?????
They (pappies regime) only know is wayang and twist logic explanation and play taiji… that’s what Lee dynasty is good at only !!!!