• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Fans may miss all matches

• Thread starter Thread starter Masamune Date
  • Start date Start date
M

Masamune Date

Singapore
Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Jan 20, 2010

Fans may miss all matches

<!-- by line --> By Wang Meng Meng

front-mmfifa20.jpg

Not even the free-to-air telecasts of four critical games will be shown here if the telcos fail to secure the rights. -- PHOTO: AFP

IF SINGTEL and StarHub's joint bid to broadcast World Cup soccer matches fails, Singapore will face a total television blackout on the action from South Africa. Not even the free-to-air telecasts of four critical games will be shown here if the telcos fail to secure the rights from football's world governing body Fifa - at a reported $100million. The matches are the opening game between host South Africa and Mexico on June 11, the semi-finals on July 6 and 7, and the final on July 11. SingTel had said earlier that if the joint bid failed, Singapore fans would still get to see those four key matches. But a SingTel spokesman clarified with The Straits Times on Tuesday that that would not be the case. 'The free-to-air match telecast is dependent on whether the broadcast rights for World Cup 2010 are awarded to Singapore,' the spokesman said.

Read the full story in Wednesday's edition of The Straits Times.

Go to Mudland watch loh. Or get a portable TV and camp out in Woodlands and hope you get the Mudland signal. :mad:

Haha... joker. Sinkapore so rich, cannot afford to bid for World Cup once every 4 years. CB...ask Ho Jinx not to punt so much $ on Big/Small la!

instead of soccer world cup, why not replace with ping pong world championship, since we have a world class ping pong team. then sinkies will be happy.

Bah, might as well say world cup cricket, world cup rugby, union/league. Mudland can broadcast FiFa worldcup if "swiss standard of living" Sinkapore can't should it still be considered "swiss standard"?

ole to Singapore 2010. Mr Mah when he first launched the slogan must have forseen that this will happen.

What a big slap on the face. In the year where we want to host the Youth Olympics, we don't get to watch WC 2010. Haha...

Is this a ploy to force us to watch S-league? Oh gosh, its a perfect medicine to cure insommia.

It's a freaking disgrace!!! There is no excuse whatsoever for the TV providers NOT to get the rights. The money issue shouldn't even be an issue. Get Singapore Pools into this, they freaking make more then enough $$$ to cover this. Singtel and Starhub's reasoning was that they need to answer to their shareholders if there is a loss. What about answering to the pple who pays to watch freaking football!!!! I'm almost 101% certain number of paying customers > number of shareholders!!!!

Fret not, after all their little act is over, we will enviably still be watching World Cup on our TV sets. :)

I think there is already one or two sponsors found ready to front the cash, the problem is who to front the bid.

Singtel wants it because it offer the platform to launch its attack into sports channel tv, after World Cup, its BPL, perfect. But then, the problem is, they won't be able to wire the houses, send out set top boxes in time !

Starhub wants it as well because they already have the infrastructure - sports fan already have the set top boxes, its easy for them. But I believe Starhub will want to have a joint bid with Singtel but tie in also for BPL package nxt year - thats their best position for their situation. Tis is something that Singtel don't want.

So, the typical fashion of all Singaporeans, they sit around and wait for daddy to come in to make a judgement.

The final outcome will probably be: the government force their hand, Starhub be given certain matches and Singtel some matches. end up, shit for fans. and both operators get to air the finals and important matches (free-to-air).

And it will be resolved quickly - within a month or so, simply because there will be a price hike and billing arrangments need to be in place.

So, the typical fashion of all Singaporeans, they sit around and wait for daddy to come in to make a judgement

Hopelessly, primitive behavior. So they cannot be MAN enough to make their own decision. WAHAHHAH!!

Bah, might as well say world cup cricket, world cup rugby, union/league. Mudland can broadcast FiFa worldcup if "swiss standard of living" Sinkapore can't should it still be considered "swiss standard"?

Sepp Blatter is a blardy SWISS himself. Is that why he want to impose Swiss standard of charges towards our own self proclaimed Swiss Standard of Living? PUI!!!!!!!!!

Dun blame FIFA, blame the 2 telcos.

Why bother to complain? we WILL get to see World Cup lah, the MIW wont let this chance to sucks more of our blood 1, just wait and see :D:D:D:D

Dun blame FIFA, blame the 2 telcos.

Why bother to complain? we WILL get to see World Cup lah, the MIW wont let this chance to sucks more of our blood 1, just wait and see :D:D:D:D

Ahh the usual. Wait for others to do the job and you stand aside and see.

If really want to watch, the solution for me is simple. Go over to my brother's house in Malaysia or my cousin's house in Thailand. Count on MDA, Medicorp, SingTel and StarHub to work something out? No thanks. I always have my own contingency planning. Anyway, there're only some matches that I wish to watch. If I'm busy or tired, I may not even watch at all.

That's what Im doing. Will be planning more trips to KL come June. At least the roti canai & teh tarik taste much better up north.
And I'll be even happier to spend my money in Msia rather than in Spore. And I'll even make an issue out of it.
Msia boleh!!! Spore can go suck the merlion's cock!!!!