• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Fans boycott WCup deal

SwineHunter

May 12, 2010
Fans boycott WCup deal

Majority in street poll will not sign up for World Cup packages

<!-- by line --> By Wang Meng Meng
<!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar -->
front-mmsoc12.st.jpg

Jason Nah will not sign up for the 2010 World Cup packages, preferring to catch the football action at a Johor Baru coffeeshop. -- ST PHOTO: ASHLEIGH SIM

FOR RM$0.70 (S$0.30), the cost of a teh tarik in a Johor Baru coffeeshop, Jason Nah will catch the 2010 World Cup in South Africa. Parking is free and the shop has massive 42-inch flat-screen television sets. That is what you call a good deal, not the offer announced by SingTel's chief of content and media services Edward Ying, added the personal trainer, who has watched the World Cup since the 1986 Finals in Mexico. On Friday, Ying announced that home viewers would have to pay $66 (price before GST) for the early-bird package for live telecasts of the 64 World Cup football matches.

This works out to slightly over $1 per game, or as Ying said at the press conference then - about the price of a cup of coffee. Nah plans to watch all the matches featuring his favourite teams Spain and Ghana, as well as any big clash starting from the knock-out rounds. The Liverpool fan has been making such trips to watch the English Premier League in Johor at least once a month for the past four years.

Read the full story in Wednesday's edition of The Straits Times.
[email protected]

Prepare for Malaysian police and holigans to raid Singaporeans pockets .

Since word is out .

Sorry to say this, but 50% of those boycotting now, will sign up in last minutes, YES, we are SINKIES, LOL :D:D:D:D

May 12, 2010
Fans boycott WCup deal

<!-- end by line -->
front-mmsoc12.st.jpg

Jason Nah will not sign up for the 2010 World Cup packages, preferring to catch the football action at a Johor Baru coffeeshop. -- ST PHOTO: ASHLEIGH SIM

FOR RM$0.70 (S$0.30), the cost of a teh tarik in a Johor Baru coffeeshop, Jason Nah will catch the 2010 World Cup in South Africa. Parking is free and the shop has massive 42-inch flat-screen television sets. That is what you call a good deal, not the offer announced by SingTel's chief of content and media services Edward Ying, added the personal trainer, who has watched the World Cup since the 1986 Finals in Mexico. On Friday, Ying announced that home viewers would have to pay $66 (price before GST) for the early-bird package for live telecasts of the 64 World Cup football matches.

This works out to slightly over $1 per game, or as Ying said at the press conference then - about the price of a cup of coffee. Nah plans to watch all the matches featuring his favourite teams Spain and Ghana, as well as any big clash starting from the knock-out rounds. The Liverpool fan has been making such trips to watch the English Premier League in Johor at least once a month for the past four years.

[email protected]

While i feel that the WC rates by Sinktel and Suckhub are high, it will take an extreme idiot and stingy weasel to go JB to watch WC.

From the football fans i've spoken to, many will still subscribe to watch WC2010. But almost all of them will not take up mioTv for Bpl next season. Majority of them are liverpool fans in their 30s and 40s who are giving up on watching their own team. This demographic group has the biggest spending power which all businesses try to target.

So the temasek engineered switch of Bpl telecast rights from starhub to singtel will actually make both GLCs lose market share. Obi good.

if i am singtel, i will send my dogs to pay someone to steal the car of these people who drove to johor. put it on front page of newpaper.

a lot of sinkies will sign up.

$70+ < stolen car

While i feel that the WC rates by Sinktel and Suckhub are high, it will take an extreme idiot and stingy weasel to go JB to watch WC.

Yeah man, ridiculous hassle to cross the border like some refugee !

I rather pay $70 than go to cowboy town !

I dun watch soccer. U pay me $100 i oso won't watch... I think the price ridiculous n personnally even if i do, i will neber pay for it... But... there ish still a small chance i will subscribe... for my dad who enjoy watching...come on... it's golden age for him leow... how long more to enjoy... i think dis is how the SP fucking owned me... :oIo:

Think me gonna try brainwashing him to watch porn instead... At least they are free ebery where in de net...or maybe like some say... go buy a tv usb stick...:D:D

Yeah man, ridiculous hassle to cross the border like some refugee !

I rather pay $70 than go to cowboy town !

ha ha ha! I've heard of 'Worldcup Widows'. Now we also have 'Worldcup Refugees"!

From the football fans i've spoken to, many will still subscribe to watch WC2010. But almost all of them will not take up mioTv for Bpl next season. Majority of them are liverpool fans in their 30s and 40s who are giving up on watching their own team. This demographic group has the biggest spending power which all businesses try to target.

So the temasek engineered switch of Bpl telecast rights from starhub to singtel will actually make both GLCs lose market share. Obi good.

think it's the complete opposite, a large number of football fans will not subscribe to watch WC2010, most have realized SH & ST have ripped us off too much this time.

Most would still take up mioTv BPL.

May 12, 2010
Fans boycott WCup deal

<!-- end by line -->
front-mmsoc12.st.jpg

[email protected]

Ahh yes, a true Singaporean indeed. This kind of Singaporean i respect. Got balls and do think based on his own judgement and independent thoughts.

No following of signs, rules or whatever it says on the paper like those balless useless , good-for-nothing sinkies.

He can also fly to bangkok to watch it too. The aroma-fill and tasty Thai ice-tea is much cheaper too.

Ahh yes, a true Singaporean indeed. This kind of Singaporean i respect. Got balls and do think based on his own judgement and independent thoughts.

No following of signs, rules or whatever it says on the paper like those balless useless , good-for-nothing sinkies.

He can also fly to bangkok to watch it too. The aroma-fill and tasty Thai ice-tea is much cheaper too.

I supposed you and your 'wife' will be at Patpong waiting for him too? You two better stay the fuck off Ratchada, don't disturb real spending consumers :D

BPL subscription means u will still guai guai watch at least half of all the matches, bcos it features your favorite team & maybe a few epic matches. and BPL lasts so many months, from august to may (the following year).

WCUP is a tournament of 64 matches, lasting not more than 3weeks. kena pay 70+ bucks just to catch less than half of all the matches, is crazy. i dont know how many die-hard sinkies will actually sacrifice sleep & energy for work, just to catch all 64 matches.

so the idiot that suggested that it was $1± per game need to do his maths properly again. if subscriber is watching only half of all the matches, he's paying $2± per game. for those that follow matches that feature only their fav teams, may be paying $3± or $4± per game.

in other words, sinktel & stuckup parang very very sharp

Almost every other country has free to air WC2010. Instead of complaining to the two telcos, the issue should have been taken up against MDA and Mediacorp who should have been spearheading the telecasts of this event. In fact, all worldwide events including Olympics and Commonwealth should be taken up by Mediacorp.

I am not watching. My father is not watching (we are not staying together). My boss is watching. I think there will be some people not watching but $70 is not really A LOT of money. As someone says, Singaporeans are losers.

I supposed you and your 'wife' will be at Patpong waiting for him too? You two better stay the fuck off Ratchada, don't disturb real spending consumers :D

Tonychat is financially incapable of flying to Thailand, which is why all this while he is in Sinkieland, and with Sinkies.

In the past, he created the impression that he was in Thailand. It's a ploy to shake off his creditors so that they would not be hustling him at his doorsteps. Now with news that he is still in Sinkieland, Tony is fucked !

There are alot of angry football fans out there who don't like to be shafted. So even if they can afford it, they may choose to boycott because they don't want to support ST & Starthub. :rolleyes:

I dun watch soccer. U pay me $100 i oso won't watch... I think the price ridiculous n personnally even if i do, i will neber pay for it... But... there ish still a small chance i will subscribe... for my dad who enjoy watching...come on... it's golden age for him leow... how long more to enjoy... i think dis is how the SP fucking owned me... :oIo:

Think me gonna try brainwashing him to watch porn instead... At least they are free ebery where in de net...or maybe like some say... go buy a tv usb stick...:D:D

up u for ur realman's man act!

By boycotting the rates from the Sinkhell and Starsucks doesn't mean one is being stingy. It is a way of showing consumer displeasure of the way the deal is handled.

Similarly we can vote against PAP to show our disapproval of the way they run the country in the last decade.

It is a means of sending the message across.