• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Entire Malaysia Airforce could be grounded soon!

TeeKee

Can invade now? hehe..

90 Russian MiGs found unsafe to fly

By VLADIMIR ISACHENKOV, Associated Press Writer
1 hr 16 mins ago
MOSCOW – A large part of Russia's fighter jet fleet has been found unsafe during inspections made after a MiG-29 plane lost part of its tail on a training flight, the air force said Friday.
The air force grounded the entire MiG-29 fleet after the Dec. 5 crash in southern Siberia, an area where another of the jets had crashed in October. A check of the planes' condition began as a military panel investigated the cause of the December crash.
Air force spokesman Col. Vladimir Drik said Friday that about 90 MiG-29s had been found unsafe to fly and would need repairs. Over 100 of the planes have been cleared for flights, and a number of others remain to be checked, he said.
Drik did not say how many MiG-29s the air force has. Russian media reports put their number at about 300, and the entire fighter fleet at some 650.
Drik would not say how long repairs of the faulty planes and checks of the remaining part of the fleet could take.
"That will depend on the availability of funds," he told The Associated Press. Drik refused to provide a cost estimate or give any further details on the planes' condition.
Air Force Lt.-Gen. Sergei Bainetov said investigators continued looking into the reason for corrosion that caused the tail section to break off in December, Interfax news agency reported.
The twin-engined MiG-29, codenamed Fulkrum by NATO, has been in service with the Soviet and then Russian air force since the 1980s. The two other types of fighters in the Russian inventory, the Su-27 and the MiG-31, also date from the 1980s.
The military may find it hard to afford costly repairs of the planes now, when slumping oil prices have drained the government coffers. During eight years of Russia's oil-driven economic boom, the military has upgraded only a few dozen fighter jets.
Grounding of the MiG fleet has dealt a blow to the Kremlin's effort to revive the nation's military and project its power worldwide. It may also jeopardize Russia's efforts to increase arms sales.
In a humiliating blow to Russia, Algeria last year returned 15 MiG-29s, saying the quality was poor. Moscow has dismissed the claim, and the Russian military said it would commission the planes this year.

russian assault rifle can buy

but russian plane cannot buy one
unless you have a diving wind squadron.

nickers9

For what I know Dr Mahatair bought the MiGs fighter jets from the Russia is because when he found out that the USA sold F-15s fighter jets to Singapore.

He was so pissed off that he went out and bought the MiGs fighter jets from Russia.

But dont worry lah, Malaysia always says Malaysia Boleh!!! Everything Boleh!!!

If the plane want to dive, dive lah!!! MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!!

TeeKee

yeah russian ak47 solid, 7.62mm rounds with penetrating power but shorter range.

all purpose RPG against any targets, may it be air or ground...:biggrin:

yeah russian ak47 solid, 7.62mm rounds with penetrating power but shorter range.

all purpose RPG against any targets, may it be air or ground...:biggrin:

Agree AK-47 is the best. If have unlimited bullet. Anyway if keep firing accuracy not important anymore due to the vibration and hitting more target is more important.

accuracy is very important for assault rifle.

AK-47 is not known to be very accurate. M-16 on the other hand are very accurate.

UseYourBrain

They can afford to buy frigates & F15s but I never had a chance to fire 100 rounds at one go :biggrin::biggrin:

You are considered lucky to even have the chance to fire ONE round... The last time they asked me to hold the rifle and aim at the target and asked me to make a bang sound like this Bang Bang Bang 100X

You are considered lucky to even have the chance to fire ONE round...

Only time they let you use real bullets is during the marksman test. I remember how the officer(also reservist) in charge of our reservist unit got into trouble for letting us fire too many rounds :biggrin:

Yep, they don't want us to wear out our rifles. They spent billions on hardware but nit pick on the number of bullets we can use. :rolleyes:

rodent2005

Yep, they don't want us to wear out our rifles. They spent billions on hardware but nit pick on the number of bullets we can use. :rolleyes:

In civi life, the equivalent will be blowing billions in less than a year on some ang moh banks but quibble over giving welfare recipients a few tens of dollars more.

1sickpuppy

Now don't u feel happy that SAF made the right choice and pay a bit more and bought a better quality fighter planes?

TeeKee

Now don't u feel happy that SAF made the right choice and pay a bit more and bought a better quality fighter planes?

you mean this?

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/U22_7jsQy7s&hl=de&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/U22_7jsQy7s&hl=de&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

1sickpuppy

you mean this?

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/U22_7jsQy7s&hl=de&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/U22_7jsQy7s&hl=de&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

OMG! was this b4 or after we bought those defective planes?:eek:

Don't worry lah. It will only be used on national days. :smile:

With the maintainence hours requirement they will ration the number of flight hours :rolleyes:

Another bad investment. How many F15 and total cost have SAF spend on this scrap plane?

i thot mudland bought some Mig31 or Mig30? They are not grounded are they? or are they canablising the parts to put into one functional plane?

You mean the ones they bought using coconuts:smile:

They worked out a barter agreement with the Russians.

Don't know who is dumber, the Malaysians who exchanged some coconuts for their brand new fighters or Spore who spent billions of cold hard cash :rolleyes: