• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

EMA pricing Electricity

annexa

I give credit. I saw this on Mr Brown and I copy one.

Mr Brown! The EMA say next time they will using the 3 quater oil average instead of only the last quater!

Why so strategic timing? When oil price falling they want peg to last 3 quarters of higher oil price to be “fairer”! Steady right?

Lestat

Energy is the only market which the PAPies can squeeze every single dollar out from us. Why the surprise in the announcement? :p

annexa

They keep earning 2x the oil price and run the electricty on natural gas which cheaper than oil. KNN I want to know those PUB people how much bonus!

peterpan707

They keep earning 2x the oil price and run the electricty on natural gas which cheaper than oil. KNN I want to know those PUB people how much bonus!

Fully agreed. it is not about oil price. what is being used is natural gas. the pricing should be based on natural gas pricie. Everyone knows the natural gas cost less than petrol. So why are Singaporean still paying the price of oil. Did the cost saving give to Singaporean?

DrPanacea

It is just an administrative convenience to screw the citizens again and again even though 80% of our electricity is gas fired. The maths just doesn't add up. They are just making citizens pay for the mistakes of those (scholars probably!) in EMA. This is state monopoly at work!

Lestat

Fully agreed. it is not about oil price. what is being used is natural gas. the pricing should be based on natural gas pricie. Everyone knows the natural gas cost less than petrol. So why are Singaporean still paying the price of oil. Did the cost saving give to Singaporean?

From what I know, there is no market formula to calculate how much natural gas should be costing. Hence, they are still using oil price as a benchmark.

Also, in the trading world, natural gas is still being traded based on oil price formula. So unless EMA creates its own formula to calculate how much natural gas should cost, we just have to live with the fact that oil prices calculation formula will still be used as a benchmark. :o

Lestat

It is just an administrative convenience to screw the citizens again and again even though 80% of our electricity is gas fired. The maths just doesn't add up. They are just making citizens pay for the mistakes of those (scholars probably!) in EMA. This is state monopoly at work!

If EMA were to come up with a energy calculation for natural gas, we might be ending up paying more than what oil prices are now. :biggrin:

wikiphile

I give credit. I saw this on Mr Brown and I copy one.

Mr Brown! The EMA say next time they will using the 3 quater oil average instead of only the last quater!

Why so strategic timing? When oil price falling they want peg to last 3 quarters of higher oil price to be “fairer”! Steady right?

Those buggers pegged energy rices to LPG, LPG pegged to Fuel oil, MOPSS is the benchmark, knn! Based it on crude oil lah not expensive fuel oil now that refiners cutting down on fuel oil production since they buying less heavy crude.

CB PAP, can count or not? Dunno go ask the market people not yr mathematics graduates :oIo:

DrPanacea

I learn that SIA has contracted fuel at high pices. It is now caught with a high operating cost and are unable to be competitive. Passengers can choose the airline to fly with, but EMA knows we cannot choose to use another energy supplier.
One way is to have your own generator and avoid getting caught.