• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Elite daughter spends $1k per week

Cthulhu

Who says the economy is bad when people can still spend $1000 per week on their princess. I think this Lyn Yip really need to do NS, then she can wash away the Monday blues with lunch at a SAF barracks, water parade 2000ml of sky juice on Wednesday with her friends and squeeze in a stand-by-bed and change parade between PT sessions on Fridays.

Living the high life
by Debby Kwong Jia Hui
— February 6th, 2009, 2.54am

With supplementary cards, students lead extravagant lifestyles despite the economic crunch---Illustration: Tan Wei Zheng

To rid herself of the Monday blues, Ms Lyn Yip treats herself to brunch at Dempsey’s Barracks before attending contract law class. On Wednesday evening, the twenty-year-old undergraduate parties with her friends, drinking—$200 each—bottles of Moët & Chandon. To prepare for the weekend, she squeezes in a manicure and pedicure in between tutorials on Friday.

By the end of the week, she has spent almost $1,000. All expenses paid by her father, thanks to her supplementary card.

Ms Yip is one of an increasing number of youths who lead extravagant lifestyles because they have a supplementary credit card. Such cards offer credit limits of up to $60,000 depending on the main card holder income. And some parents allow their children to spend as much as they please.

“But in my opinion, as long as I don’t go overboard, life’s too short and we might as well make the most of it,” Ms Yip said.“I guess I don’t realise how much I spend because all I have to do is swipe my card and the deal’s done,” she said. “But in my opinion, as long as I don’t go overboard, life’s too short and we might as well make the most of it,” Ms Yip said.

Her father, businessman Mr Yip Chee Hong, does not find her spending an issue. “I don’t mind that my daughter spends a bit of my money, as long as she does not take it for granted,” the 54-year-old said.

With the convenience of a supplementary card, some youths are also taking full advantage of online shopping. Take undergraduate Ms Charmaine Ong who spends much of her free time on online shopping websites such as net-a-porter.com and chickdowntown.com.

With just a few clicks of the mouse, the twenty-year-old adds a pair of Giuseppe Zanotti boots, a 3.1 Phillip Lim dress and a Luella bag to her shopping basket. At the checkout, the three items cost a total of £926 ($2,070).

“It’s a reasonable amount to pay. The three items had a 50% discount, something the local boutiques would never have. Or sometimes, they aren’t available in Singapore,” she said.

For the recent holiday season, undergraduate Ms Meaghan See prepared for parties by hitting Orchard Road. She went to boutiques and high-end shops to find a dress to wear for each lunch or dinner party. By Christmas Eve, after spending $800 on her supplementary card, she had three new frocks to choose from.

“At these functions, it is important that no one wears the same dress. So I can’t just go to the usual shopping spots like Topshop or Forever 21 or Guess,” the twenty-year old said. “But I always show my mum what I buy, to make sure she’s okay with it. If not, I’ll go back to the shop and do an exchange.”

Despite what many consider a large sum of money to be spent on material goods and food, these youths are well aware of how much they spend. Often, they come from well-to-do families with their own businesses and have planned on taking over. Those interviewed for this story are currently majoring in degrees such as law, business and economics.

When asked whether they could afford such lifestyles once they are financially independent, both Ms Yip and Ms Ong were confident that they could maintain their current spending habits.

“I’m not reckless in my spending. I know my limits. I know how to judge whether it is worth to pay $500 for a pair of shoes or not,” Ms Yip said.

Ms Ong added that not all of the luxury goods that she purchases are paid by her father, nor does she expect her father to agree with her on the amount that she spends on certain items.

“For the past six months, I’ve been saving up to pay for my 21st birthday party. I am aware that to have a party of 40 people at a fine dining French restaurant will cost almost $10,000, so I’m prepared to pay most of the cost,” she said.

Since July 2006, banks have been issuing supplementary credit cards to those aged 18 and over - down from the previous minimum age of 21. For banks, this has allowed them to reach out to a previously untapped customer base.

According to the Monetary Authority of Singapore’s Credit and Charge Card statistics, there has been an 11 percent increase in the number of supplementary cards from 2006 to 2008.

Some parents believe supplementary cards will give their children the experience of handling finances before qualifying for their own credit card. But others are aware of the possibility of overspending.

Marketing director William Fong, 55, said: “If my daughter goes over the agreed limit of $500 a month, I’ll just take the card away for good.”

Ms Stephanie Fong, 21, an undergraduate, has a supplementary card but does not swipe the card unnecessarily. She only uses the card to pay for school-related purchases such as buying a laptop, paying fees or when she needs an advance for her allowance.

“I’d rather pay for the things that I buy, rather than have my dad question what I spend his money on when he gets the bill at the end of the month.”

If you like this story, please consider making a donation to help further the Enquirer's cause.

http://http://enquirer.sg/2009/02/06/living-the-high-life/

VeryWise

No wonder there's a thread that say women in SG expect their partner to earn at least $4000 per month to even considered to be financially stable. Well, for these young women, I am afraid that amount will not be possible. They will probably demand their partners to earn at least $10k per month.

Firstly how come all the ppl interviewed were gals??? Also not financially indpendent???????

Wtf is this crap??? So the guys dun spend a lot after all.

Imagine marrying these .... these....

WHORES. :biggrin:

Firstly how come all the ppl interviewed were gals??? Also not financially indpendent???????

Wtf is this crap??? So the guys dun spend a lot after all.

Imagine marrying these .... these....

WHORES. :biggrin:
what a question...guys of this age are in NS lah...protecting these SPGs wanna bes..how to spend when you spend most of your time confined to camp?

of course they don't worry about maintaining their lifestyle after work lah...they are going to hook themselves onto FTs mah...and then with the Woman's Charter protecting them...ho ho....

glock

No wonder there's a thread that say women in SG expect their partner to earn at least $4000 per month to even considered to be financially stable. Well, for these young women, I am afraid that amount will not be possible. They will probably demand their partners to earn at least $10k per month.

unless they are angmohs

then in that case dont need a lot of money , as long as he LOVE her , she is prepared to suffer

yellow_people

what a question...guys of this age are in NS lah...protecting these SPGs wanna bes..

I don't believe so. They are in NS because they have no choice. Protecting the SPG's virginity, defending the nation and what the fuck not are an afterthought. No choice in the end.. incarceration looms like the Jehovah witness clan... better to milk as much sympathy and advantage out of this as possible whill being forced to serve NS.

NS men make good prostitutes. Time to get off the high horse my friend.

SamuelStalin

With the convenience of a supplementary card, some youths are also taking full advantage of online shopping. Take undergraduate Ms Charmaine Ong who spends much of her free time on online shopping websites such as net-a-porter.com and chickdowntown.com.

Hahaha affluent nerds.

SamuelStalin

Also, they are still quite alright, if the newspaper reports of their spending figures and what these "affluent" test sample students say are believable.

oli9

Some parents believe supplementary cards will give their children the experience of handling finances before qualifying for their own credit card. But others are aware of the possibility of overspending.

HAHAHAHAHAHAH
Shouldnt it be "to give their children the experience of earning their own money before spending it"???? Or this logic is applicable to Immortal Parents?

2lanu

Those Orchard Rd shops will say good to have such young customers as it boast their sales during such downturn. Dun be green eyes...

brandon66

“But in my opinion, as long as I don’t go overboard, life’s too short and we might as well make the most of it,”

Her father, businessman Mr Yip Chee Hong, does not find her spending an issue. “I don’t mind that my daughter spends a bit of my money, as long as she does not take it for granted,” the 54-year-old said.

“I’m not reckless in my spending. I know my limits. I know how to judge whether it is worth to pay $500 for a pair of shoes or not,” Ms Yip said.

If spending $1K a week is not "overboard" and "taking it for granted", I don't know what is...

Or maybe they are really THAT rich?

I earn $4K + per month and considered myself quite well off. But after reading this I think can go fly kite :confused:

Conan the Barbarian

Ms Ong added that not all of the luxury goods that she purchases are paid by her father, nor does she expect her father to agree with her on the amount that she spends on certain items.

“For the past six months, I’ve been saving up to pay for my 21st birthday party. I am aware that to have a party of 40 people at a fine dining French restaurant will cost almost $10,000, so I’m prepared to pay most of the cost,” she said.

http://http://enquirer.sg/2009/02/06/living-the-high-life/

Hey, a $500 pair of shoes. If she judges its nice and branded, why not.
She knows how to judge.

So is a $10K birthday bash.:eek:

She saves too, one can save without earning an income. The poor man-on-the-street
should learn from her and figure out how to save as he is one up on her, he works.

Its not how much you earn, its how you manage your money. I'm sure she is practising
that.

miosux

If spending $1K a week is not "overboard" and "taking it for granted", I don't know what is...

Or maybe they are really THAT rich?

I earn $4K + per month and considered myself quite well off. But after reading this I think can go fly kite :confused:

nothing has changed... you are still as well off as before you read the article. no?