• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Driving people mad!!!

TeeKee

Driving people mad

When Zhang Ximan bought her second car before the Olympics, she did not expect Beijing's vehicle restrictions to become permanent.

"I had to buy a new car because I needed it to send my 4-year-old son to kindergarten every day," says Zhang, who lives outside the Fifth Ring Road in eastern Beijing.

Her son's kindergarten is in Haidian, northwestern Beijing, an 80-minute drive away. Zhang thinks the long journey is worthwhile because the kindergarten is affiliated with prestigious Peking University and so guarantees a good education for her son in future.

Beijing banned vehicles on alternate days during the Olympics and Paralympics, depending on whether their license plates ended in an odd or even number.

Combined with other drastic measures, like shutting down construction sites and factories, Beijing saw clearer skies and smooth traffic during the two-month ban.

According to a Greenpeace China poll, 54 percent of car owners want car restrictions to be retained to keep Beijing's air clean and a whopping 93.8 percent of Beijingers want the city's public transport system to be expanded further.

Professor Li Dihua from the Environment and Ecology Department of Peking University says now is the best time to extend the traffic restrictions and build an environment-oriented society.

"I think the public should see this policy from the standpoint of a long-term government strategy to improve city planning and the quality of public life," Li says, adding the policy will change China's concept of urbanization.

Zhang's second car spared her two months of inconvenience during the Olympics but now she has new frustrations.

The municipal government recently launched a six-month trial ban on all cars effective for one weekday each week depending on the last digit of the license plates.

Cars are divided into five groups: license plates ending in a 1 or a 6 are banned on Mondays; those with plates ending in a 2 or a 7 are banned on Tuesdays, and so on. A third of local government vehicles will be banned from the road.

The Municipal Committee of Communications says the trial ban has taken 800,000 cars off the road every weekday.

chupacabra

China will be a slum in 30 years. China is not going to be an economic powerhouse.

With no NGOs or watch dogs on anything in China, the government will have its hands full.

TeeKee

China will be a slum in 30 years. China is not going to be an economic powerhouse.

With no NGOs or watch dogs on anything in China, the government will have its hands full.

when was your last visit to China?

which city did you visit?

chupacabra

Shanghai, 4 years ago. Pretty on the outside but there is cancer on the inside.

Benign or active? I do not know. No newspaper in China gonna report it.

TeeKee

Shanghai, 4 years ago. Pretty on the outside but there is cancer on the in inside.

Benign or active? I do not know. No newspaper in China gonna report it.

but of course what can you expect from a totalitarian regime? this ailments somehow affected many of the asians countries....from China, to Malaysia and Singapore.....why Asians so fucked up?

but then there's internet you know...and China has surpassed US in numbers of Internet users!

chupacabra

China will always win on the numbers game my friend. That no brainer.

But the question is whether numbers matter. Look at India, its fucked with its huge numbers.

Plus you noticed when big corporations launch their products, it won't be likely to be launching it in China first.
Take the playstation 3, even though China is 1.3b, Sony still decided to launch it first in the US. Why? Simply there is not enough people who can afford the Playstation.

TeeKee

China will always win on the numbers game my friend. That I agree.

But the question is whether numbers matter. Look at India, its fucked with its huge numbers.

Plus you noticed when big corporations launch their products, it will most likely be launching it in China first.
Take the playstation 3, even though China is 1.3b, Sony still decided to launch it first in the US. Why? Simply there is not enough people who can afford.

wah lan aye, your preception if China is so out-dated! many people in China are eating in restaurants nowadays! and it's always jam packed!! now do you eat in restaurants everyday?

people living in countryside are flying more than you can imagine!!

but still they are millions of poverty too....but it takes time lah, so big country when can change overnight! hey at least they make an effort to change...give them a break lah..

the train of change is chugging along leh, slow and steady...give them some time lah....please dun compare China with India....

India is crawling man with regards to infrastructure developments..the only thing India will outpaced China in the next decade is her population!! :biggrin:

solution, more cars
one with even license number
one with odd license number
another which end in different last digit

i am sure that will help improve air quality

chupacabra

wah lan aye, your preception if China is so out-dated! many people in China are eating in restaurants nowadays! and it's always jam packed!! now do you eat in restaurants everyday?

people living in countryside are flying more than you can imagine!!

but still they are millions of poverty too....but it takes time lah, so big country when can change overnight! hey at least they make an effort to change...give them a break lah..

the train of change is chugging along leh, give them some time lah....please dun compare China with India....

India is crawling man with regards to infrastructure developments..the only thing India outpaced China is her population!! :biggrin:

Restaurants there are staffed and supplied locally therefore cheap. With locally made commuter planes also making air travel cheap.

With a huge population, of course everywhere is packed. This one also no brainer. With more than 10m in Beijing. Ten restaurant side by side with the combine capacity of 1000 is easy to fill up.

Poverty in China is more severe than you think.