• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dr Tan Cheng Bock PSP

rocket

Dr Tan Cheng Bock

Below are some of his contributions to Singaporean. Please add on

CPF for Tertiary Education​

In 1988, Tan, as GPC Chairman for Education, led a team of MPs to argue for the use of the Central Provident Fund (CPF) for education, as an appreciable number of able students were not able to enter local universities due to limited places. Tan felt that education was a form of investment and that all his GPC was asking for was an extra option for CPF members, to let them decide whether to put their investible savings in stocks and shares or in education. Chief argument against the idea was that the use of such retirement savings may leave the account holder with an insufficient amount at the end of his or her working life. Minister for Labour Lee Yock Suan said that there were alternatives available such as soft loan schemes which were interest-free. In answer to Tan's claim that Lee had not clearly stated his position on the issue despite the idea being first mentioned years ago, Lee insisted that his position had always been plain, that he "was against it, but you have pressed me to study it and I shall.
The set of guidelines on the use of CPF for Education proposed by the GPC was eventually implemented, paving the way for the beginnings of a wave of Singaporean students studying at local tertiary institutions.

Free parking​

edit
Tan also convinced the Ministry of National Development (MND) to allow Singaporeans to park their cars for free in Housing & Development Board (HDB) estates on Sundays and public holidays, to promote family togetherness.

In early 2010, Tan volunteered himself to help residents in Sentosa Cove to meet with Sentosa Development Corporation (SDC) to seek a waiver of the gantry entry charge (S$2 to S$7 depending on the entry time) for visitors to their residences to the Sentosa island. His efforts, however, did not bear immediate fruits. Later in October 2010, the SDC offered to cap the entry charge at a concession rate of S$3.

Nominated Member of Parliament Scheme​

edit
Tan voted against his own party, despite the Whip not having been lifted, regarding the NMP scheme, on the grounds that MPs had to be elected by the people and be accountable to an electorate for

Think Singaporeans First​

edit
In 1999, when Singapore was recovering from the 1997 Asian financial crisis, and experiencing labour talent shortages in several key sectors, the PAP pushed for a stronger intake of foreign talent to fill the ranks. Although not against this rationale, Tan argued that the Singapore government should tone down its calls for the recruitment of foreign talent and reassure Singaporeans that they came first, which earned him strong rebuttals, including one from George Yeo and a stern rebuke from Lee Kuan Yew.

No Blank Cheque​

In 1985, he made a speech in Parliament about "no more blank cheque" for the ruling party which he revisited on his blog in May 2011.

Working with the opposition​

edit
After the 2011 general elections, Tan said in a speech at the 52nd Singapore Medical Association Annual Dinner that he had given advice to opposition candidates, including Tan Jee Say, on how to campaign in the elections when they approached him.

In May 2011, he resigned from the PAP to stand as a candidate in the 2011 presidential election.

CPF for Tertiary Education
This was a good move.
But 1 of my ex colleague's wife Leefused to let the poor husband used the cpf to pay for their childrens tietary education becos she doesn't want them to leeturn back the cpf to her poor husband account once they started work.
So end up my poor colleague have to go to the bank to take loan :cautious:

This was a good move.
But 1 of my ex colleague's wife Leefused to let the poor husband used the cpf to pay for their childrens tietary education becos she doesn't want them to leeturn back the cpf to her poor husband account once they started work.
KNN, you colleague a bit bodoh. 咁近城隍庙都唔抽番支好签. She should have asked you for some secret code.

Any citizens ready to being the ERBC to court first? Do this first then election got hope.

This was a good move.
Last time house cheaper, go uni using cpf is logical move.

This was a good move.
Don't study tertiary better. Can think out of the box.

Most importantly, don't waste money study private university or distance learning. Not recognized by SSC.

TAKE skills future credits learning something useful.

Most importantly, don't waste money study private university or distance learning. Not recognized by SSC.

How about ntu accounting?

I think last time, like me study tietary is good and can give me a good headstart.

Now is different, everyone has tietary cert and make no difference.

Learn something out of the box and breaking secret codes everywhere is more important.

I think last time, like me study tietary is good and can give me a good headstart.

Now is different, everyone has tietary cert and make no difference.

Learn something out of the box and breaking secret codes everywhere is more important.
Can help me break toto code.
I not greedy,break 1 time 可以了。
Kumsia

Tan Cheng Bock should contest alone in a SMC, if he dares.

Last time men must study tertiary to get a good headstart. But women no study, can give good head can also strike rich.
But those woman that didn't go further and gave heads after failing gce oar level are all now aunties with hoarders mind.
My ex colleague wife also now a hoarder home maker.
My ex colleague drink beer everyday to drown his sorrows.