• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Does IOC Know That YOG Uses FORCED CHILD LABOUR?

ahleebabasingaporethief

THIS IS TOTALLY DISGRACEFUL!

<table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr class="msghead"><td><table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr class="msghead"><td class="msgT" width="1%" align="right" height="20" nowrap="nowrap">To: </td><td class="msgTname" width="68%" nowrap="nowrap">ALL <nobr></nobr></td> <td class="msgNum" align="right" nowrap="nowrap"> (1 of 8) </td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr><tr><td rowspan="4" class="msgleft" width="1%"> </td><td class="wintiny" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">37537.1 </td></tr><tr><td height="8">
</td></tr> <tr><td class="msgtxt">MR LIM YOKE PENG: 'I was appalled by the meals served to volunteers of the Youth Olympic Games ('Caterer acts after criticism of YOG food'; yesterday). My son, who is a junior college student, was enlisted as a volunteer. He had to train for weeks from 11am to 11pm and sacrificed weekends. So it is irresponsible of the organisers to neglect basic requirements like a proper meal or transport. After training, volunteers must find their way home. How would one expect to encourage pride in service?'</td></tr> <tr><td> </td></tr> </tbody></table><table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr><td class="msgleft" width="1%"> </td><td class="msgopt" width="24%" nowrap="nowrap"> Options</td><td class="msgrde" width="50%" align="center" nowrap="nowrap"> Reply</td><td class="wintiny" width="25%" align="right" nowrap="nowrap"> </td></tr><tr><td class="msgbfrbot"> </td><td colspan="3"> </td></tr></tbody></table> <!--PostMsgHTML--> <script language="JavaScript"> <!-- if (adPosition == 1){ GA_googleFillSlot("DF_ROS_inline_BTF_1"); } //--> </script> <!--/PostMsgHTML--> <!--PreMsgHTML--> <!--/PreMsgHTML--> <table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr class="msghead"><td class="msgbfr1" width="1%"> </td><td> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody><tr class="msghead" valign="top"> <td class="msgF" width="1%" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">From: </td><td class="msgFname" width="68%" nowrap="nowrap">kojakbt_89 <nobr></nobr> </td><td class="msgDate" width="30%" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">1:00 pm </td></tr> <tr class="msghead"><td class="msgT" width="1%" align="right" height="20" nowrap="nowrap">To: </td><td class="msgTname" width="68%" nowrap="nowrap">ALL <nobr></nobr></td> <td class="msgNum" align="right" nowrap="nowrap"> (2 of 8) </td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr><tr><td rowspan="4" class="msgleft" width="1%"> </td><td class="wintiny" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">37537.2 in reply to 37537.1 </td></tr><tr><td height="8">
</td></tr> <tr><td class="msgtxt"> Aug 14, 2010

Offer volunteers a decent meal, at least

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --> <!-- story content : start --> I REFER to yesterday's report ("Caterer acts after criticism of YOG food").
It states: "The committee did not respond to questions on how much was budgeted for volunteers' meals and whether there had been any guidelines for food provision."
Since volunteers are not paid, I think the least that organisers could do is provide them with decent meals. As Singapore is hosting the first Youth Olympic Games, which will be reported by media internationally, such news does not bode well for Singapore's reputation.
In the interest of public accountability, and given the fact that the YOG budget is already almost four times over <leo_highlight style="border-bottom: 2px solid rgb(255, 255, 150); background-color: transparent; background-image: none; background-repeat: repeat; background-attachment: scroll; background-position: 0% 50%; -moz-background-size: auto auto; cursor: pointer; display: inline; -moz-background-clip: -moz-initial; -moz-background-origin: -moz-initial; -moz-background-inline-policy: -moz-initial;" id="leoHighlights_Underline_0" onclick="leoHighlightsHandleClick('leoHighlights_Underline_0')" onmouseover="leoHighlightsHandleMouseOver('leoHighlights_Underline_0')" onmouseout="leoHighlightsHandleMouseOut('leoHighlights_Underline_0')" leohighlights_keywords="the%20original" leohighlights_url_top="http%3A//shortcuts.thebrowserhighlighter.com/leonardo/plugin/highlights/3_2/tbh_highlightsTop.jsp?keywords%3Dthe%2520original%26domain%3Dforums.delphiforums.com" leohighlights_url_bottom="http%3A//shortcuts.thebrowserhighlighter.com/leonardo/plugin/highlights/3_2/tbh_highlightsBottom.jsp?keywords%3Dthe%2520original%26domain%3Dforums.delphiforums.com" leohighlights_underline="true">the original</leo_highlight> budget, the following questions should be answered:
- How much was budgeted for each meal of a volunteer? Was it a problem with the budget or a case of the caterer scrimping to make more money perhaps?
- Was a tender exercise done to award the catering budget? If so, was it given to the lowest bidder, and what was the second highest bid?
Answering the above questions may help to ensure that similar problems do not occur in future events.
Leong Sze Hian

</td></tr></tbody></table>​
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="if(typeof(jsCall)=='function'){jsCall();}else{setTimeout('jsCall()',500);}" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

BTW, where is the story where a teacher reported that primary school students were forced and made to stand in the streets for 3 hours under the hot sun and rain just to make it look that MANY Singaporeans support the YOG?

This so that the torch relay looks good.

If have the story can link it here?

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="if(typeof(jsCall)=='function'){jsCall();}else{setTimeout('jsCall()',500);}" id="jsProxy" type="hidden"><input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="if(typeof(jsCall)=='function'){jsCall();}else{setTimeout('jsCall()',500);}" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

YOG international volunteers are treated like slaves

PostDateIcon.png
August 15th, 2010 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

Dear Editor,
We are international volunteers who have given up our school time (yes we are missing school for this) as we believe that it is needed for us to give back to such a great organization and event however ever since we applied for the role, we got no feedback until last minute where the organizer gave us a date to be there.
This news came with no other information and we were forced to buy tickets without knowing what we were going to do or else give up our role. We kept phoning and emailing our supervisor but there was no reply. At one point when we asked him five questions he duidn’t even bother answering and sent us an FAQ! Which we were instructed to read upon first application.
As we are missing school in between work days we need to fly back to our home countries to take a day of school as we can’t miss more than 15% of school. In total we have bought 16 extra plane tickets as we are shuttling back and forth.
You would think that after all we have spent on VOLUNTARY work our supervisors would be content and pleased we are so eager to take part in this YOG. But no, we were greeted with disapproval and when we had to leave fifteen minutes early to go home (our working hours are from 12am to 11pm – more than standard working hours)in order to awake the next morning to catch our flight our supervisor was not understanding and threatened to pull us out from the programme.
Everyone should speak up. The people do not organize things well and volunteers are treated like slaves.

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="if(typeof(jsCall)=='function'){jsCall();}else{setTimeout('jsCall()',500);}" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

August 15th, 2010 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions I’m not directly involved in YOG since I graduated from university already, but I hope that someone will be able to put together a case and report it to the UN Human Rights council or even UNISEF since young children are involved. Here is some information that may be useful for the readers/students involved.
UN Human Rights (civil society)
Telephone: +41 22 917 9656
Mail: [email protected]
UN Human Rights (national insituition/region)
[email protected]
Complaint procedures and forms:
http://www2.ohchr.org/english/bodies/petitions/index.htm
http://www.bayefsky.com/unts/index.html
I hope this is useful for someone. It’s really despicable how the PAP is violating the olympic charter *AND* coercing all these students. It makes me ashamed of being Singaporean.

Rachel

Recent Comments

• Brandon: “Why don’t this gahmen employ cheaperest Bangladesh FTs to be volunteers? That is in line...
  • Mr. E: Everything is run by power and fear. Not by directive or common sense. That is why we fail at...
  • mez: fish! damn straight! hmmmmm.. so far i see complains frm jc and poly.. whrs ite?? bet if my juniors...
  • CPPoodle: PAP is a fascist political party. Fascist political party have iconic leaders, they corporatise...
  • justme: Hey, Lets give SFI a break. Try doing a mega event with few hundreds of workers, (temp and perm)...
  • I love PAP: CST knows what to do. He knows which GRC to contest and to win. He dun need to share here...
  • anonymous: @ Martin: August 15, 2010 at 12:41 am First up, thanks mighty for that wonderful Dave...
  • mez: aah..positive points of view from the floor. its nice to hear.. majority just dun get how volunteers...
  • CPPoodle: This is to make easy for the male coach to also wrestle with the female wrestler what.
  • aurvandil: Goh Meng Seng from the NSP did a montage questioning the $387 million spent on the YOG. There...
  • 厚颜无耻-shameless no limit: Why don’t this gahmen employ cheaperest Bangladesh FTs to be...
  • Hazrein Yong: My cousins back in Singapore also had similar comments to the above. One mentioned that even...
  • Singapore Investments: I did not watch the show as not tickets. but managed to catch the fireworks outside...
  • 厚颜无耻-shameless no limit: Wtf. Where is the green vegetable? This is unhealthy food they provide to...
  • $4mp$R&o#fit: i guess that’s what a $20.00 meal is supposed to be??? $5.5 million contract to...
  • 厚颜无耻-shameless no limit: 1st this gahmen treats our local volunteers and citizens as slaves, now...
  • inception: There is nothing we can do…
  • wiseman: 400 million wasted? Maybe its pocketed somewhere. Smell of rats.
  • Sun-Tsu: Ashamed you are traducing again. I think MM, NSM and JR explained the purpose of the YOG very well...
  • 厚颜无耻-shameless no limit: This gahmen corrupted our society’s 道德伦理, from last...
  • Jeffrey: “out train crowededness is not as sever as that in Tokyo” - this kind of reasoning is...
  • sang he hong: Excellent read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that....
  • 贪得无厌-greedy no limit: Yes. Must investigate. Last time Marcos and Suharto when there were in power...
  • Vivian Dua Kang: @Linda: you’re right to say that the papayas have developed a new generation of...
  • zero: To Linda I agree with you that TR is actually in need of lots of improvement. With an Alex ranking of...
  • garyp: FUCKYOU. VERY DISAPPOINTING! The opening ceremony is really LOW BUDGET! NO STANDARD! The...
  • Vivian Dua Kang: Everything with moe is top-down and propaganda driven, so even if one wants to ‘do...
  • Darth Vader: Kid, on behalf of the people of Singapore, I thank you and your friends for being gracious...
  • Pissed Off Singaporean: We spent $300+million on YOG and the server crashed? WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • zero: This is not a fair article. The writer said “i don’t see any improvement in the...
  • msia news: I’m a fuckin’ m’sian, man. and I totally disagree with what you said.
  • Vivian Dua Kang: scan the letter and publicize it! to get more credibility, this kind of injunctions should...
  • Haha YOG: this YOG fiasco really brings out the govt’s attitude: all out for foreigners and to wayang...
  • SpiritOfSingapre: @Linda, >> What have YOU done to improve the situation? I have made a video to...
  • Hmmmm....: Hmmmmmmm …….. the babe is the one in RED…….. the Blue is a guy…
  • Blue Digital Cameras: Good to see the Premier League getting started.
  • PAP smear: @F*ck the kiasi YOG volunteers Fact is, if you have read some of the other articles on this...
  • NoElephant: @Linda, >>I distinctly remember the whole nation cheering when it was announced that...
  • yog volunteer: You know, there are actually thousands of us who wake up at 5am in the morning to make the...
  • sharon: @anonymous: August 14, 2010 at 10:49 pm well it’s not juz p5 kids who got dragged into this...
  • M Caugilia: No one cares, nada, nil media stations or media papers are reporting YOG in USA….LOL
  • LehmanBrothers: Linda, if you’re not going to blame the committee for “poor planning and a lack...

Junior College students FORCED to attend YOG games

PostDateIcon.png
August 14th, 2010 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

Im a 17 year old from a Junior College. I find it absoulutely absurd that we have been given a letter from the college which states that we have been SPECIALLY chosen to attend one of the YOG events.
I find it absurd that we have been asked or rather mobilised to go for the Football match this Sunday at Jln Besar Stadium when the government for the past few months has been telling us, we members of the public that sale of YOG tickets for the events ”are going very well”.
This leads me to wonder why then is MOE issuing a directive to colleges to get students to go for some of these events. The truth is that many of these events are only in their preliminary stages and thus no one would want to attend. Thus it would look very very bad for the host country if no one were to attend these games.
But honestly, I think we are being treated like slaves. The college has handed down instructions that anyone who do not attend these games will have to do 6 hours of Corrective Work Order. Why use such drastic methods ?
Furthermore, the college had also forced us to go down and support the Torch bearers. So that it would look good on newspaper.. this is rather oppressive and I see no difference between the YOG committee, MOE, the government and the Communists in China where people were forced to attend events just to make up the numbers.
IM WRITING THIS ON BEHALF OF EVERY JUNIOR COLLEGE STUDENT WHO HAS BEEN FORCED TO ATTEND ANY YOG EVENTS/GAMES.

PAP and their cronies are smarty enough not to get involve "Directly" by through their proxy the MOE.

Kids are "Encourage" and "Arranged" to attend, it is "Packaged" with free tickets and free meals.

So how can you say this is child labor?

66.6% gave their mandate for their children to be exploited, the balance have no choice but to give their mandate also for only 2 oppositions in parliament; that gives a 101% support.

What to do, it had already happened & 'FIXED"..

PAP and their cronies are smarty enough not to get involve "Directly" by through their proxy the MOE.

Kids are "Encourage" and "Arranged" to attend, it is "Packaged" with free tickets and free meals.

ENCOURAGE = DO AS 'WE' SAY OR ELSE

ARRANGED = YOU HAVE NO CHOICE IN THIS MATTER

PACKAGED = FREE MEALS AND TICKETS? YOU ARE SLEEPING. SEEN THE PIX?

Because cheapskate Singaporeans will always give up their freedom for freebies . They are bought unto slavery .

That alone is their downfall .

It always disgust me . I hate Singaporeans . They are stupid and love freebies .

As long as A SINGLE student if "asked" to participate one way or another against his/her wishes, it is FORCED.

Already we have numerous letters of complains from parents to teachers to NTU students who are FORCED OUT of their dorms.

I am sure if you trawl the Singapore websites, you will see hundreds if not thousands of complains against this "FORCED PARTICIPATION".

All these years, stupid sinkies vote base on HDB upgradings.

With such low level intellect, PAP took advantage, not many understand the higher and deeper implication of Constitution rights, One party rule, Accountability and Transparency, Judicial independence Until they lost their rice bowl to FT and their face got press into smelly armpit in a crowded MET then they realize that something is not right.

But being the majority under prolong brainwashing by the MSM and our resident Traitor cum Despot aka Old fart still around, he still can instill some fear into the 66.6% pea brain.

As for the rest of the 33.3% who see through the lies and disgusted by their abuse and insult, they are the hard core minority that PAP can no longer con, As the ground on this side started shifting to the majority, that is what PAP is most afraid of because they can't be "Brought Over" by lift upgrading or "Threaten" by Old Fart.

Change is coming to Singapore, People are waking up, the battle has began,
The first shot is fired, Right here in Cyberspace, and they are loosing.

Because cheapskate Singaporeans will always give up their freedom for freebies . They are bought unto slavery .

That alone is their downfall .

It always disgust me . I hate Singaporeans . They are stupid and love freebies .

As long as A SINGLE student if "asked" to participate one way or another against his/her wishes, it is FORCED.

Already we have numerous letters of complains from parents to teachers to NTU students who are FORCED OUT of their dorms.

I am sure if you trawl the Singapore websites, you will see hundreds if not thousands of complains against this "FORCED PARTICIPATION".

This government is very good at suing its opponents to keep them quiet unless you can provide the letters that mandate the participation and the warning that corrective work order will be dished out to anyone who disobey.

Let's compare this to the recent BJ olympics:

There was overwhelming response from all over the country (and some foreign countries) to volunteer for the event. I applied too but was not selected

The volunteers were given 2 full sets of (I think Nike) sports suits plus shoes

They were given MacD's vouchers.

Free transport provided to bring them to the stadiums. They were also issued a pass for free public transport (bus and MRT) 24/7 throughout the whole event. My neighbour told me she was given CNY20 a day for road marshalling.
That's enough to cover a decent meal at small restaurants or fast food.

They will be given a volunteer certificate at the end of the event - something that will add points to their academic records and also CV. They will have an advantage in job interviews as employers recognise this cert as well.

In conclusion: You get a bunch of real volunteers that give their heart and soul to the event.

Let's compare this to the recent BJ olympics:

There was overwhelming response from all over the country (and some foreign countries) to volunteer for the event. I applied too but was not selected

The volunteers were given 2 full sets of (I think Nike) sports suits plus shoes

They were given MacD's vouchers.

Free transport provided to bring them to the stadiums. They were also issued a pass for free public transport (bus and MRT) 24/7 throughout the whole event. My neighbour told me she was given CNY20 a day for road marshalling.
That's enough to cover a decent meal at small restaurants or fast food.

They will be given a volunteer certificate at the end of the event - something that will add points to their academic records and also CV. They will have an advantage in job interviews as employers recognise this cert as well.

In conclusion: You get a bunch of real volunteers that give their heart and soul to the event.

BJ is the BEIJING OLYMPICS 2008...not blow job (this is part of humsup forum so must qualify).

Yes. In China they really take care of their volunteers.

IN SINGAPORE, IT'S ALWAYS EXPLOITATION OF THE CITIZENS.

So which country is MORE COMMUNIST?

All the usual complains. 6 hours of corrective work order is better than wasting many hours during Sunday to watch a match you don't enjoy.

The students should organnsied and appoint student leaders to discuss the matters if they feel that they are forced. Complain should be followed by actions and it may lead to results. If not. It's just empty talk.

BJ is the BEIJING OLYMPICS 2008...not blow job (this is part of humsup forum so must qualify).

Yes. In China they really take care of their volunteers.

IN SINGAPORE, IT'S ALWAYS EXPLOITATION OF THE CITIZENS.

So which country is MORE COMMUNIST?

They will tell you they are not communists here..socialists... a rose is a rose, whatever the name...

that fellow should just go for the 6 hrs of corrective work order. i think volunteering might end up spending more than 6 hrs in total

The PAP has never been a communist party. They have ALWAYS been a FASCIST political party. The major similarity between Fascism and Communism is that both have one party rule and they both control the media.

Even China today is more open than Singapore.

A fascist political party believes in having iconic leaders, they believe in corporatising the economy, they believe in one-party rule, they believe in an elite group to rule over the people, they believe in controlling the media, they believe in using the military and police to curtail the true choice of the people.

Do not confuse communism with fascism. There are overlaps but they are quite different. As long as we are not knowledeable, the PAP will continue to hoodwink us into thinking that we are a democracy because we have elections.

The truth is that we are not democratic because the PAP is a fascist political party. Everyone should be warned that fascism is more dangerous than communism. All we have to do is to look at fascism and all their vile leaders in the past.