• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Do you agree with this cheap employer?

Ripley

Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Nov 11, 2009
THARMAN TO BUSINESS GROUPS:
Keep the feedback coming <!--10 min-->
Economic Strategies Committee will consider every idea put before it <!-- headline one : start --> <!-- headline one : end --> <!-- Author --> <!-- show image if available --> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr></tr> <tr> </tr> <tr> </tr> <tr> </tr> <tr><td colspan="2" class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold">By Francis Chan </td></tr> <tr valign="bottom"> <td width="330">
M-7.jpg

</td> <td width="10">
c.gif
</td> <td valign="bottom">
c.gif

-ST PHOTO: MUGILAN RAJASEGERAN
</td></tr> </tbody></table>
FINANCE Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam on Tuesday urged businesses to keep contributing ideas on how to grow the economy, telling a business forum: 'I can tell you frankly that we're open to all ideas.' He said the Economic Strategies Committee (ESC) that he chairs will look at everything that is put before it. The ESC, which was set up in May to look at new ways of growing the economy, is consulting widely for suggestions. On Tuesday, the industry forum discussed the wide range of recommendations which business groups and the Government Parliamentary Committee (GPC) on Finance and Trade and Industry have put forward. The GPC's recommendations centred on the themes of sustained growth and capability development. It wants the Government to step up efforts in building Singapore's 'external wing' and to encourage more local firms, especially small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), to collaborate in overseas ventures. During the panel discussion, Mr Tharman saidthat Singapore, which already has many multinationals, is also becoming an 'interesting' destination for smaller firms from other parts of Asia, the United States and Europe.

Do you agree with the comments of this cheap employer Misnomer below?

Latest comments

<table class="Post" style="width: 100%;" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left">We need more cheap foreign labour. That would keep business costs low. Unless you can force locals to take on jobs that pay $400 to $800, work 12 hours a day, 7 days a week.
</td></tr><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;" align="left">Posted by: Misnomer at Wed Nov 11 08:19:23 SGT 2009

</td></tr></tbody></table>

cass888

Who is this? He looks like a GLASSLUT 'volunteer' or PorLumpar.

Anyone got any other close up photos of GLASSLUTS 'volunteers or PorLumpars, please post them in this thread for all to see.

Why do you attribute even this to sucking up to the government. If you were an employer, you would want to pay the lowest possible wage, not the highest possible wage.

Lord Imperious

Another overpaid useless turkey. What the bloody hell do we pay them so much for? If just to sit around waiting for ideas to be presented to them?

phouse3

Misnomer said:
We need more cheap foreign labour. That would keep business costs low. Unless you can force locals to take on jobs that pay $400 to $800, work 12 hours a day, 7 days a week.

That is despicable and blatant cheating!

That is not free trade based on comparative advantage. Cheap foreign labour is not our natural resource. Neither is cheapness our competitive advantage.

Human exploitation and sweat shop practices have no place in one of the "freest" economies in the world.

That guy should be institutionalised in the IMH!

1. aiyoh! simple theory.
2. many more overpaid individuals taking up positions in this "talking" committee.
3. any concrete stuffs, well, "we are looking into it, keep your feedback coming".
4. who does not how to utter such crap?

ahleebabasingaporethief

Why do you attribute even this to sucking up to the government. If you were an employer, you would want to pay the lowest possible wage, not the highest possible wage.

I AM an employer and I do not agree with your statement.

It is people like you that is driving S'pore into the quicksand.

Pay according to a NATION's cost of living and you are doing the right thing; if company is making profits.

BUT, here in Singapore, there are many COMPANIES making obscene profits

YET they cut pay and hire cheaper FTs and make S'poreans tulan. We all know all these companies belong to who ah....GARMENT and their PorLumpars leading the way.

What would make them stop and think twice?

I dunno. Maye a major catastrophe like disgrunted employees destroying their companies in God knows what ways.

cass888

Which fairyland do you live in?

Pay according to a nation's cost of living? In the real world, companies pay according to what the employee is worth, and just higher than the employees' opportunity cost.

Companies are driven by profit, profit and more profit. Why should they pay higher wages at the expense of their bosses, the shareholders?

Pay according to a NATION's cost of living and you are doing the right thing; if company is making profits.

ahleebabasingaporethief

Which fairyland do you live in?

Pay according to a nation's cost of living? In the real world, companies pay according to what the employee is worth, and just higher than the employees' opportunity cost.

Companies are driven by profit, profit and more profit. Why should they pay higher wages at the expense of their bosses, the shareholders?

Your comments just goes to show your SELFISH nature.

Maybe you should go and join the GlassLuts. Maybe u already are judging from your comments.

There are many employers like myself that do not cut employees' pays un-necessarily or bring in cheaper talent tr replace them.

Cost of living in S'pore is very high and going higher year after year. Yet u cut people's wages?

U tulan or not?

Maybe u don't know how the ground feels but i was brought up in a very poor environment and know how it feels like when someone takes away your bowl of rice

Cheap FTs brought into S'pore is for 2 main things. Sell HDB flats that were left over for 10years owing to the 1999 HK where our MIWs predicted at 500,000 HK families would come and settle here. They were dead wrong. Not even 50,000 came.

2nd...to booost GDP figures so that there million $$ pay would not look bad.

littlefish

I have nothing to say if the employers are so good at business that they operate as "real" MNCs (meaning their brand is instantly recognisable in many countries). If they just operate a small outfit in Singapore (plus some struggling foreign branches), then they better not rip off the consumers here by paying third-world wages and charging first-world prices.

Even if they are MNCs, there are ways to punish them but Singapore may be too small a market and 66.6% of the population are only concerned about issues that hit their pockets directly while ignoring the wider implications which may end up hurting their pockets more.

$1M Question: Why can employers only afford to pay Sporns $400 pm? What are his cost components? Who are responsible for making his other cost components so high, but refuse to implement min. wage at the same time to allow him to offset them against labour cost?

FINANCE Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam on Tuesday urged businesses to keep contributing ideas on how to grow the economy, telling a business forum: 'I can tell you frankly that we're open to all ideas.'

Who the hell care if you need ideas or not???!!!!

cass888

elementary watson both....!! the main point is the weightage ... !:o

Wrong. Companies are meant to make profits. If they have to hire employees in the process that is just incidental.

Remember employment is the means to the end i.e. profit. Employment is not the end in itself. So the employer has a duty to pay as low as possible to maximise shareholder value.

coolguy

FINANCE Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam on Tuesday urged businesses to keep contributing ideas on how to grow the economy, telling a business forum: 'I can tell you frankly that we're open to all ideas.'
vince+marinello+bald.jpg

Mr tharman, with all due respect. I have one idea but please don't tell your sinkies this idea came out from me, ok?
How about reliving the needs of employers like me to have to contribute 10% of my employee pay to my employee's CPF? This will surely encourage more businesses to come to spore. You can enforce the law to increase the CPF contribution of employees to 30%?, so as to offset the loss of the employer's contribution.:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Equalisation

Wrong. Companies are meant to make profits. If they have to hire employees in the process that is just incidental.

Remember employment is the means to the end i.e. profit. Employment is not the end in itself. So the employer has a duty to pay as low as possible to maximise shareholder value.

... elementary mrs watson .... weightage so as no uprising ....:o

cass888

... elementary mrs watson .... weightage so as no uprising ....:o

No uprising if this group is a very small minority - 5% at most?

People keep questioning democracy in Singapore but they have to remember that in most democracies it is the centre which matters. Capture 50% in the centre and the right/left or rich/poor don't matter.

takcheksian

Fuck you, bald nigger!

Give you millions to quit your '$6million top legal practice', call you world class talent, and you need to ask us peasants for ideas?

You are not god meh? You are not greater immortal meh? You cannot produce ideas yourself aa?

Who the hell care if you need ideas or not???!!!!