• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Debtors, please share how you deal with UML

YellowRibbon

Hi

My house recently was targetted by loansharks.

Can anyone with any experience on how to deal with them ?

Some friends i know already suggested that to me, when they install cctv, the harrassment stop.

Is it that effective ?

Also some suggest that i change my home no/ and hp no. too.

Please help

Should not the Poodles be the ones dealing with the problem? Especially when their minister is the BEST PAID in the world? What is he bz with?

why they have your hp or house number??

you or someone from your family borrowed from them:confused:

perhaps returning the $ will help stop the harrassment..:D

I was advised not to pay them anything, because even if you paid all, they will still continue to ask for payments knowing you have $

Is this also true ?

Should not the Poodles be the ones dealing with the problem? Especially when their minister is the BEST PAID in the world? What is he bz with?

The best paid ministers really don't give a rat's ass about you after you voted them in. Getting rid of loan sharks forever is not that difficult a task. Just spend a fraction of the IR money on more patrolling, law enforcement, etc.

I was advised not to pay them anything, because even if you paid all, they will still continue to ask for payments knowing you have $

Is this also true ?

can't answer u leh..

i no dealings with ah long lah... perhaps u can ask CB kia tonychat.. he is THE resident O$-run-away-to-other-country-expert :D

you can keep your home no. and hp no. the best thing for you to change is your address...

borrow money and got money but dun wan to pay,,,

luckily they only target house and not you,,,,

borrow money and got money but dun wan to pay,,,

luckily they only target house and not you,,,,

U think loansharks stoopid? Money not in theirs hands with each passing day, their fists will get itchy. Once the itch becomes unbearable, they will soothe the itch by rearranging the borrower's face!

Any UML ex-victims here ??

What is most effective way of removing paint ?

If we wallop the runner then call the police, are we in the wrong ? As we are preventing damage to our property, what is the max force we can use ?

House fire insurance got cover loanshark mischief ?

Print out the latest Parliament Bill on Loan Shark in Multiple languages, just like our MRT and paste on your door.

If possible buy the thickest Rotan that you can find, and hang it too on your door.

Good luck.:)

Hello TS... are you the one borrow ? or someone from your hosue borrow ah long ?
If yes, someone did borrowed, next question is, how much ? do you intend to pay them ?

If yes, call them and negotiate a installment plan, stop the interest. If dont agree to the plan, dont pay a single cent. And forget about paying them. If they called your house, just tell them "the person who borrowed have run away, and you have report police", then hang up the phone, dont talk anymore. dont be afraid of them.

Then you have to be prepared for the harassment, but dont be afraid of it. Just install a cctv, even though it might not work, the ah long runners will be scare if they see something looks like a cctv.

OK... even if they really paint your door, just ignore them, and make police report immediately, call town council to clean it up.

If dont agree to the plan, dont pay a single cent. And forget about paying them. If they called your house, just tell them "the person who borrowed have run away, and you have report police", then hang up the phone, dont talk anymore. dont be afraid of them.

Then you have to be prepared for the harassment, but dont be afraid of it. Just install a cctv, even though it might not work, the ah long runners will be scare if they see something looks like a cctv.

OK... even if they really paint your door, just ignore them, and make police report immediately, call town council to clean it up.

All the above mentioned had passed.
CCTV done, paint door done, inform neighbours to look out done, police report done, town council done.

What is the next step / action ?

All the above mentioned had passed.
CCTV done, paint door done, inform neighbours to look out done, police report done, town council done.

What is the next step / action ?

get a good baseball bat & some rope.

Catch the paint splasher red handed, beat the shit out of him until he spit out his big boss contact & you talk to the big ass direct.
Tell him that the previous owner has moved & if he dont stop harrassing, you will come after him.

It worked for some. if you show teeth for teeth, they'll most probably back down. After all, you dont owe ah long money to begin with. And ah long thrive on fear. Show them none.

get a good baseball bat & some rope.

Catch the paint splasher red handed, beat the shit out of him until he spit out his big boss contact & you talk to the big ass direct.

Thats what i want to ask, how much force are we allow to use to prevent damage to our property ? What if we beat up the wrong guy ? Maybe he is visiting his friend ?

Use discretion lah.

If he's visiting friends in the middle of the night with a can of paint, what do u think?

Catch him in the act before acting. You can bash him up & quip youre protecting your own property but dont kill the bugger. He cant sue you either as his job as a runner is illegal.
Most importantly, u shld talk to the big ass. And if he dont back down you should start a vigilante agianst him.

Hi

My house recently was targetted by loansharks.

Can anyone with any experience on how to deal with them ?

Some friends i know already suggested that to me, when they install cctv, the harrassment stop.

Is it that effective ?

Also some suggest that i change my home no/ and hp no. too.

Please help

put a cctv camera.
very cheap and it will identify the culprits.

Is this also true ?

True or not, i do not know.

But i do not agree with that.

You choose to borrow and so, it is right to pay back.

I presume you borrow because you have a real need of money, not for buying cars, gambling or drinking. Be grateful someone help you over the period and do the right thing by paying back.

The Government can help by creating a LoanSharks' Act and restrict the interest rate to a more reasonable rate. Perhaps help the LoanSharks to set up a credit card company?