• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Contest of ideas in politics welcome, says SM Goh

MarrickG

THE People's Action Party (PAP) will go out "to attract even better young people" to join it, said Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong yesterday.

He was responding to last week's report in The Straits Times that two former government scholarship holders had recently joined an opposition party, the Reform Party.

Ms Hazel Poa had been a Public Service Commission scholarship holder, while her husband, Mr Tony Tan Lay Thiam, was a Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) Merit scholarship holder.

Both had graduated with first-class honours - she in mathematics and he in engineering - from Cambridge University in Britain.

Mr Tan used to be a major in the SAF, while Ms Poa's last position in the civil service was that of an assistant director in the Finance Ministry.

The couple, who run a chain of 10 tuition centres, turn 40 this year.

Founded by the late opposition politician Joshua Benjamin Jeyaretnam in July 2008, the Reform Party is helmed by his eldest son, Mr Kenneth Jeyaretnam, 50.

Mr Tan, who joined the Reform Party in April last year, is now on its central executive committee as its spokesman for education and defence.

Last week, the couple told The Straits Times that they had joined the opposition to help foster a more balanced political landscape here.

SM Goh said: "It's not a bad sign, because politics in the future should be contested by able people, especially those of good character. And the young, able people do not have to agree with the PAP."

He welcomed the contest of ideas in the political domain, adding that the ruling party had already "loosened...the political arena for such contests".

Last year, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said that in the next election, there would be smaller group representation constituencies - electoral divisions with multiple seats in Parliament - and more single- member constituencies.

The number of opposition Members of Parliament would also be raised from three to nine through the Non-Constituency MP scheme.

But SM Goh cautioned against getting too excited about the elections.

He said: "We're still concentrating on the economic recovery. So don't create this excitement which, I think, is unnecessary. But it's part of the process. We're looking at young people all the time."

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20100125-194172.html

Woody - No elections yet

ln-sg-elections.jpg

SENIOR Minister Goh Chok Tong welcomes the entry of young Singaporeans into the ranks of the opposition but says the People's Action Party (PAP) is out to attract even better young people.

Singaporeans should also not start getting excited about a general election as the Government was still focused on the economy, he told reporters at a Marine Parade constituency event on Sunday.

The Straits Times reported last week that two former government scholarship holders had joined the Reform Party.

Several young, tertiary-educated individuals have joined other opposition parties. The Workers' Party said it recruited 50 young people the past year, many of them graduates and professionals.

Said Mr Goh of these developments: 'It's not a bad sign because politics in the future should be contested by able people, especially those with good character. And young, able people do not have to agree with the PAP. Of course, we hope they would join us, even though they disagree with us, so that we can have disagreements sorted out within the PAP, and then we have a policy manifesto for the public.'

But he added: 'If they choose to contest against us, but they are decent people with good views, I think it is to be welcomed.

Don’t stir up excitement about GE: SM Goh

Channel NewsAsia - Monday, January 25

SINGAPORE: Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong says he welcomes the entry of young people into the ranks of the opposition. But he adds that the People’s Action Party (PAP) has also been going out to attract younger candidates including more women.

Mr Goh said: "If they wish to choose to contest against us — they are decent people with good views — I think it is to be welcomed. Of course, I will be happier they would join us, but let it be.

"We have been interviewing people. But frankly speaking, don’t stir up any excitement about election. I think we are still concentrating on economic recovery."

Mr Goh was speaking on the sidelines of a community event in Marine Parade on Sunday.

At a separate constituency event, Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan was also about the opposition parties’ recruitment drive.

He said it was good that more young and better educated people were entering politics.

Mr Khaw, who has been leading Sembawang GRC since 2006, said he welcomes competition at the next general election, which is due by end 2012.

"It does not matter whether it’s PAP or non—PAP. If you like Singapore, if you think you’ve a better idea to run a better place; if you think you can run Sembawang better than I do, please come forward," he said.

"If the people think they can do a better job than Khaw Boon Wan, then so be it. I think that is the beauty of democracy — one man one vote."

Mr Khaw also commented on a suggestion to allow Medisave fund to be used for mammograms. Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office Lim Hwee Hua suggested this at a breast screening event on Saturday.

But Mr Khaw disagreed with the suggestion. He said: "My general rule of thumb is this — anything less than $100 — $20, $30 — please pay out of your own pocket. I think Medisave should be reserved for big bills. So let’s don’t abuse Medisave. This is not to say I’m against (using) Medisave for screening, because some screenings can be very expensive."

Mammograms, if subsidised, cost between $25 and $50.

— CNA/ir

Re: Woody - No elections yet

Yeah, wait for another 10 years lah..

Why the need to comment on decent people joining the opposition. As though opposition politics has had a history of convicts and criminals. In fact PAP has seen more electoral candidates from the party being convicted than opposition candidates.

Mr Goh said: "If they wish to choose to contest against us — they are decent people with good views — I think it is to be welcomed. Of course, I will be happier they would join us, but let it be.

Ex-Regent Woody merely echo the mantra while contest of ideas is tolerable, the contest for power at the expense of the Imperial is IMPOSSIBLE.

Despite dissenters gaining a few overly educated peasants, the regime is not in the business of sharing power to preserve the evil system where they are maintained in power and wealth.

This is modern peasantpore today.

He is hoping to get people that disagree with PAP policy to join them? Siao! So that they can put their critics within their control?

ln-sg-elections.jpg
banner.cgi

SENIOR Minister Goh Chok Tong welcomes the entry of young Singaporeans into the ranks of the opposition but says the People's Action Party (PAP) is out to attract even better young people.

Singaporeans should also not start getting excited about a general election as the Government was still focused on the economy, he told reporters at a Marine Parade constituency event on Sunday.

The Straits Times reported last week that two former government scholarship holders had joined the Reform Party.

Several young, tertiary-educated individuals have joined other opposition parties. The Workers' Party said it recruited 50 young people the past year, many of them graduates and professionals.

Said Mr Goh of these developments: 'It's not a bad sign because politics in the future should be contested by able people, especially those with good character. And young, able people do not have to agree with the PAP. Of course, we hope they would join us, even though they disagree with us, so that we can have disagreements sorted out within the PAP, and then we have a policy manifesto for the public.'

But he added: 'If they choose to contest against us, but they are decent people with good views, I think it is to be welcomed.

Thats what WKS is there for... he the whip... no?

PAP should hold elections in the later part of this year.

Next year is the last 12 months where GE should be called and even our usual sotong oppositions will start to prepare for elections by Jan 2011 if GE hasn't been held as time is running out for GE to be called before Jan 2012.

For the "element of surprise", PAP will hold elections after June this year.

PAP should hold elections in the later part of this year.

Next year is the last 12 months where GE should be called and even our usual sotong oppositions will start to prepare for elections by Jan 2011 if GE hasn't been held as time is running out for GE to be called before Jan 2012.

For the "element of surprise", PAP will hold elections after June this year.

PAP lost their guts already. They know what criminal things they have done to the people of Singaporea in recent years and damage very deep. Now they are coming out to do a little damage control - by acting credible and they-know-all talks. As usual acting saint and PA PA is around to help you. Damned hypocrite!!!

Why the need to comment on decent people joining the opposition. As though opposition politics has had a history of convicts and criminals. In fact PAP has seen more electoral candidates from the party being convicted than opposition candidates.

damage control? GCT can't risk further alienating the young and educated by saying "join opposition, xiao ah??!!" so he appears to be 'benevolent' and embrace opposing views.

short story - he's desperate; wondering how many more ex- Oxbridge types can Kenneth J attract to RP?

PAP have young people like Eric How and the CB face military hardman (lance corporal) to help them!

Get ready for GE, this year.:D

They can do it tonight...and still will SINgkingporeanS wake up?, now that Mee siam mai hum..says no "ang bao"..unless you are 'ang pai" join the fellowship...:D

There will will be a lot of pulling of hairs, beating of chests, at the end of the day....who wins???

Unless da da...join the HRH Sultan of Johor... the who win?, you know lah!:eek:

Mr Khaw also commented on a suggestion to allow Medisave fund to be used for mammograms. Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office Lim Hwee Hua suggested this at a breast screening event on Saturday.

But Mr Khaw disagreed with the suggestion. He said: "My general rule of thumb is this — anything less than $100 — $20, $30 — please pay out of your own pocket. I think Medisave should be reserved for big bills. So let’s don’t abuse Medisave. This is not to say I’m against (using) Medisave for screening, because some screenings can be very expensive."

Mammograms, if subsidised, cost between $25 and $50.

Khaw Boon Wan is right, for a different reason.

Somehow subsidies result in higher bills.

Perhaps now it costs $25 to $100.

With the subsidy (via your own money), the bill will go from $50 to $200.

Because you see, you can apply for 50% medisave grant, some doctors may tell you.

Ms Hazel Poa had been a Public Service Commission scholarship holder, while her husband, Mr Tony Tan Lay Thiam, was a Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) Merit scholarship holder.

Both had graduated with first-class honours - she in mathematics and he in engineering - from Cambridge University in Britain.

Good for the RP!

Please compete in as many wards as you can.

Haha, Wooden is such a lying piece of shit. S'pore Pools better start taking bets now on when this couple will be sued for slander, bankrupt and force to sell their chain of tuition centres.

By the way, anyone know where this makan stall that Wooden is visiting is located? The roast duck look damn shiok.