• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Confirmed: Singapore No 1 in stress, better downgrade or emigrate

downgrader

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporebusinessnews/view/428839/1/.html

Singapore workers showing up at work despite being sick
By TODAY |

Posted: 13 May 2009 0728 hrs

Photos 1 of 1

SINGAPORE: In an ominous finding, a workplace survey has shown that employees here are turning up for work despite being sick, even as Singapore braces for the arrival of the H1N1 virus that is rapidly spreading across the globe.

According to the results of the 2009 Workplace Survey released on Tuesday by human resource specialists Robert Half, 61 per cent of Singaporean respondents cited a fear of falling behind on their workloads as their greatest concern for showing up when ill - highest among the more than 6,000 polled in 20 countries including the United States and Japan.

Some 52 per cent of the local respondents fear that too many sick days could go against them, while 50 per cent did not want to be perceived by superiors and peers as not working, the highest rates among those surveyed.

And as Singapore's worst recession continues to bite, workers here are feeling increasingly stressed.

Globally, Singapore ranks only second to Japan, with 69 per cent and 71 per cent of respondents, respectively, who expect workplace stress levels to rise this year.

The main reasons cited for the expected increase in stress levels are worries about job security and excessive workloads due to under-staffing.

According to the respondents in Singapore, the main effects of rising stress levels are lower staff morale (64 per cent) and lower quality of work or service (37 per cent).

Some 32 per cent also feel that decreased productivity due to stress-related issues would be the most significant cost to the company, followed by increased employee turnover (24 per cent) and a drop in the quality of work or service (19 per cent).

Rising stress levels at work are also taking a toll on employees' personal lives and welfare.

And Singapore again ranked highest globally when it comes to employees checking company emails outside working hours, with 26 per cent spending on average 30 to 44 minutes a day doing this.

- TODAY/so

mercbenz

I've seen this on a daily basis, office workers working after office hours and bring work home to continue on weekends and holidays, and even asked to do things by the boss while on personal leave.

annexa

Who started "multitasking"?

See, so clever. Make solutions which give more problems. Keep your job so that you pay for more bills. End up, worse than no job and ask gahmen for money.

mercbenz

hierarchy-bird-tree.jpg

Porfirio Rubirosa

you know i have always wondered about this one...is this because of workoverload or because of being unproductive or abit of both??

I've seen this on a daily basis, office workers working after office hours and bring work home to continue on weekends and holidays, and even asked to do things by the boss while on personal leave.

mercbenz

you know i have always wondered about this one...is this because of workoverload or because of being unproductive or abit of both??

Takes two hand to clap. The employee is too scared to lose the job, so do anything just to please the boss, and the boss, sensing the opportunity to get more out of the same workforce, abuse the employee. I don't know why this has to happen to a lot of people, but most of them are in their 35++. Probably scared of their shelve life running out.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporebusinessnews/view/428839/1/.html

Singapore workers showing up at work despite being sick
By TODAY |

Posted: 13 May 2009 0728 hrs

Photos 1 of 1

SINGAPORE: In an ominous finding, a workplace survey has shown that employees here are turning up for work despite being sick, even as Singapore braces for the arrival of the H1N1 virus that is rapidly spreading across the globe.

According to the results of the 2009 Workplace Survey released on Tuesday by human resource specialists Robert Half, 61 per cent of Singaporean respondents cited a fear of falling behind on their workloads as their greatest concern for showing up when ill - highest among the more than 6,000 polled in 20 countries including the United States and Japan.

Some 52 per cent of the local respondents fear that too many sick days could go against them, while 50 per cent did not want to be perceived by superiors and peers as not working, the highest rates among those surveyed.

And as Singapore's worst recession continues to bite, workers here are feeling increasingly stressed.

Globally, Singapore ranks only second to Japan, with 69 per cent and 71 per cent of respondents, respectively, who expect workplace stress levels to rise this year.

The main reasons cited for the expected increase in stress levels are worries about job security and excessive workloads due to under-staffing.

According to the respondents in Singapore, the main effects of rising stress levels are lower staff morale (64 per cent) and lower quality of work or service (37 per cent).

Some 32 per cent also feel that decreased productivity due to stress-related issues would be the most significant cost to the company, followed by increased employee turnover (24 per cent) and a drop in the quality of work or service (19 per cent).

Rising stress levels at work are also taking a toll on employees' personal lives and welfare.

And Singapore again ranked highest globally when it comes to employees checking company emails outside working hours, with 26 per cent spending on average 30 to 44 minutes a day doing this.

- TODAY/so

the gabment only want u work to the skin. die or alive, they cannot be bothered. just make the millions for them for the peanut shells u r paid with.

probably another reasons why sgporeans drop dead so easily.

downgrader

the gabment only want u work to the skin. die or alive, they cannot be bothered. just make the millions for them for the peanut shells u r paid with.

probably another reasons why sgporeans drop dead so easily.

no leh, i downgrader, take it easy

don't chase after material goods

play guitar, make enough for two meals a day good for me

health is great, no worries, life is a song

If worry about job security, then dun get a job, so you dun need to worry.