• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Combat ration anyone?

Romagnum

Does anyone know where to buy combat rations, I went to the Beach Road place, all clothing and accessories, and very cheap LED torch lights, but no combat rations, sigh....

You mean those hard-to-bite biscuit? We used to call that dog biscuit. One bite, drink lots of water and you can get bloated for a whole day:D

During my 'slavery' days :p, I used to bring home the so called 'dog bisuits' and gave them to my dog, who took a sniff & walked away..:p

What was good was the talcum powder, which we used often for dry bathing in the field, when there was no bath fascility...and the ever useful FOOT POWDER...:D

Does anyone know where to buy combat rations, I went to the Beach Road place, all clothing and accessories, and very cheap LED torch lights, but no combat rations, sigh....

Why do you want to eat combat ration???

I heard that there is a lot of preservatives and nasty stuff in there

Do you expect the floods to cut off you from NTUC & food courts :)

Can always store canned foods, mee packets,...

Why do you want to eat combat ration???

I heard that there is a lot of preservatives and nasty stuff in there

Mine was baked beans, curry chicken, 'dog biscuits'..Khong Guan Assorted biscuits..some sweets?? ( I think the ones with the torch brand)...

Yours likely from SFI these days..they have added 'preservatives' to make you docile & continually vote for the People's Affordable Party..subconciously even your mind says "LTK"...but it whisper "PAP, PAP, PAP"...and when you approach the polling station, a low decibel whistle is blown...and you VOTE the right PARTY!!:D

This "dog biscuit" is an icon which brings back memories of those good old days with the brudders. I wonder if the army boys nowadays still eat that. Maybe they have outsourced everything to Pizza Hut, KFC or MacDonalds. At the press of the button, the Delivery bikes will whizz their way through the dirt tracks of Pasir Labar or Lim Chu Kang and deliver the hot meals to this pampered generation of army boys.:p

Wow, can see that there are a lot of Senior Citizens here, still remembering the days of hard-tac biscuits, not knowing that combat rations now are MRE-style that can sometimes come in surprising packs of "Spaghetti Bolognaise", "Fried Kway Teow" and "Chicken Briyani"

Are MREs what you are looking for? If so, maybe you should call SFI directly and speak to the sales rep.

I don't think they sell it via the Unit provision shop though.

Not sure if you mean just that dog biscuit or a full CR pack. I think that the dog biscuit was phased out already, no longer in production. For a full CR pack, you can make one up with the various canned foods, instant noodles, snacks, dried foodstuffs, instant beverages etc. from supermarkets according to your appetite. If you want a standard SAF CR pack, ask a NSman friend what are it's contents and pack it up yourself. You may want to check out the army shops (those in army camps, not Beach Road).

The biscuits actually taste the best on the whole. Still remember when in taiwan, the first thing when we went outfield was to bury all the rations and leave only the biscuits to eat.

Yeah and indeed, the best thing to come out of NS is to have a bunch of buddies going through all those shit together.. That kinda spirit actually non-existent in the society..

The biscuits actually taste the best on the whole. Still remember when in taiwan, the first thing when we went outfield was to bury all the rations and leave only the biscuits to eat.

Yeah and indeed, the best thing to come out of NS is to have a bunch of buddies going through all those shit together.. That kinda spirit actually non-existent in the society..
That's because the majority of those forming modern day SG society never served NS.

This "dog biscuit" is an icon which brings back memories of those good old days with the brudders. I wonder if the army boys nowadays still eat that. Maybe they have outsourced everything to Pizza Hut, KFC or MacDonalds. At the press of the button, the Delivery bikes will whizz their way through the dirt tracks of Pasir Labar or Lim Chu Kang and deliver the hot meals to this pampered generation of army boys.:p
During field exercises, the modus operandi was to drop off at the nearest kopitiam, which in truth could be 5 km away, to tar pao 50 packets of fried bee hoon and 50 packets of bandung!

Why do you want to eat combat rations?
There are other things you can eat which are much more nutritious and tasty and could be cheaper too.

Viand
–noun
an article of food.
viands, articles or dishes of food, now usually of a choice or delicate kind.

Victual
–noun
victuals, food supplies; provisions.
food or provisions for human beings

'Combat rations' are nothing more than a collection of easy to carry, little preparation needed food supplies. You can make your own by putting together things like:
  • canned meats;
  • chocolate bars - Snickers? Mars? Cadburies?
  • high energy biscuits - in the SAF they used hard tack biscuits, i.e., they don't break too easily;
  • powdered drinks;
  • instant noodles; etc..

If you want serious tactical food, i.e., those you can eat without prep, try looking for MREs (Meals Ready to Eat) on EBay. There are some high tech ones where all you need to do is add water and it will heat up by itself.

Many people (especially elder uncles and aunties) pack Singapore-style combat rations in their luggage when travelling to western countries.

I think some no need to add water, just pull a tab and it heats up.

'Combat rations' are nothing more than a collection of easy to carry, little preparation needed food supplies. You can make your own by putting together things like:
  • canned meats;
  • chocolate bars - Snickers? Mars? Cadburies?
  • high energy biscuits - in the SAF they used hard tack biscuits, i.e., they don't break too easily;
  • powdered drinks;
  • instant noodles; etc..

If you want serious tactical food, i.e., those you can eat without prep, try looking for MREs (Meals Ready to Eat) on EBay. There are some high tech ones where all you need to do is add water and it will heat up by itself.

Combat rations can now be bought online.
Go to the NSman portal, login your ID, unit, quantity, the days you want your orders delivered and then confirm your orders. :p

Take note they only deliver to your unit address so you have to collect from your camp.

Sorry, I wasn't clear. Now got so many different versions and different batches, so not clear.

I was referring to the dog biscuits - very tasty and filling

At night if watch football or neighbours screwing, one biscuit and one cup coffee damn enjoy

If one green pack of 4 can tahan whole day

wahlaneh...
im no longer liable liao since 2004 but still having dog biscuits lah u want?:D
just blow blow phooo...phooo...phooo... still can bite lah.