• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Cockroaches love my HDB Executive Flat

manokie

Roaches crawling up my chute
Letter from David Soh Jin Hoe 05:55 AM Jun 23, 2010

EVERY morning when I open the lid to the rubbish chute in my HDB executive flat, cockroaches rush out and scramble into my kitchen. I've gotten used to standing by with insecticide spray in hand, to ensure that the cockroaches do not make it as far my kitchen cabinets or living room.

Cockroaches spread diseases including diarrhoea, dysentery, cholera, leprosy, plague and typhoid fever, as well as viral diseases such as poliomyelitis.

They also carry the eggs of parasitic worms and may cause allergic reactions, including dermatitis, itching, swollen eyelids and more serious respiratory conditions.

I've asked around and this is not an uncommon occurrence in many estates around the country. Could the authorities please look into eradicating this pest for once and for all, for the sake of health and hygiene?

http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC100623-0000055/Roaches-crawling-up-my-chute

Sinkie Soh, how about hiring a maid to kill the cockroaches for you??
:oIo::oIo:

Poor implementation. I am sure than any entomologist can plan out an effect routine to prevent pest. Not rocket science here. Perhaps fumigating rubbish chute every week would do the job.

It cannot be that rubbush chute MUST have pest. That is poor regulations. They should just hire a team of specialist, put out best practices guidelines and solve the problem once and for all.

For example, to prevent rats, uneaten food from food court and wet markets should be collected more frequently - maybe up to 3 times a day. We know that rats are nocturnal - so make sure that food trash is picked up by 6pm and food trash from food court after 6pm must be placed in rubbish bins with lids that seal properly. No food = no rats or less rats.

Roaches crawling up my chute
Letter from David Soh Jin Hoe 05:55 AM Jun 23, 2010

EVERY morning when I open the lid to the rubbish chute in my HDB executive flat, cockroaches rush out and scramble into my kitchen. I've gotten used to standing by with insecticide spray in hand, to ensure that the cockroaches do not make it as far my kitchen cabinets or living room.

I've asked around and this is not an uncommon occurrence in many estates around the country. Could the authorities please look into eradicating this pest for once and for all, for the sake of health and hygiene?

http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC100623-0000055/Roaches-crawling-up-my-chute

One of these night, "Edgar" will pay him a visit...and he won't complain, about those vermins anymore.

He should concentrate in getting rid of those 'cockroaches' (Pappies TC) & the bigger pappinosaurs rattus ( MIW), by voting correctly; for they are collecting fat salaries & sleeping on the job, thus the vermin infestation.

har...it must be the flood of Orchard Road...driving the cockroaches & rats to dry grounds...

Your HDB EC must be in one of those opposition town council! Bcos PAP run ones score very good ratings...

Aiyah, the chute is meant to house the cockroaches wat. What do you throw in the chute ? Left-over foods and rotten stuff right ? Is it air-tight bag that can take the fall from 40 storey HDB ? Who else love these smash trash besides the cockroaches ? We need this cockroaches to promote business also, otherwise, how the pest control earn their millions. What can FT throw if no trash in chute. Wait till you see centipede crawling out of chute !

PAP run ones score very good ratings... ????

Good my ass ! My Bt Timah estate also infested but they come out only once a month ! Obedient cockroaches hor ? You know why it only show up once in month ? Fumigation time.

Why an entomologist and not a pest controller? A doctor well trained in anatomy and dissection will not likely know how to cut a carcass of an animal into well known parts that we use in cooking.

Poor implementation. I am sure than any entomologist can plan out an effect routine to prevent pest. Not rocket science here. Perhaps fumigating rubbish chute every week would do the job.

Your HDB EC must be in one of those opposition town council! Bcos PAP run ones score very good ratings...

The roaches have upgraded themselves from rented flats to EC, for they have heard that the food there is better, for EC & above have people who can attend $50,000 French Cooking lessions, the leftovers is just sumptous.:rolleyes: