• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Closing the gap between the "rich" and the "poor".

http://acapella.harmony-central.com/showthread.php?t=2399867

An economics professor at a local college made a statement that he had never failed a single student before but had once failed an entire class.

That class had insisted that socialism worked and that no one would be poor and no one would be rich, a great equalizer.

The professor then said, "OK, we will have an experiment in this class on socialism. All grades would be averaged and everyone would receive the same grade so no one would fail and no one would receive an A.

After the first test, the grades were averaged and everyone got a B.

The students who studied hard were upset and the students who studied little were happy.

As the second test rolled around, the students who studied little had studied even less and the ones who studied hard decided they wanted a free ride too so they studied little.

The second test average was a D! No one was happy.

When the 3rd test rolled around, the average was an F.

The scores never increased as bickering, blame and name-calling all resulted in hard feelings and no one would study for the benefit of anyone else.

All failed, to their great surprise, and the professor told them that socialism would also ultimately fail because when the reward is great, the effort to succeed is great but when government takes the reward away, no one will try or want to succeed.

Could not be any simpler than that.

phouse3

Folksy anecdotes are folksy anecdotes are folksy anecdotes.

Firstly, they are fakes. Secondly, they are tall tales used to numb your intelligence. Thirdly, they have the remotest link to reality.

How about the rich and dumb bribing the professor to get an A?
How about the poor and intelligent deserving a B getting an F?
How about the justification being the rich need good grades to secure well-paying jobs too?

Moreover, there is world of difference between discretionary actions and non-discretionary actions.

Nobody asked for discretionary actions to even out wealth. People are against discretionary or concocted actions that put them at a disadvantage. In fact, people are asking for non-discretionary actions or laissez-faire policies that are hands-off. People are asking for respect for the individual and freedom to progress according to one's own natural ability.

Apparently, politicians are so uneducated that laissez-faire has become a dirty word or failed to exist in their intellectually bankrupt and corrupt world.

To the morons of Singapore: "LAISSEZ-FAIRE!"

Indeed competition is good and healthy, which is exactly what is missing where politics in the Leegime is concerned! And the Familee is bent on perpetuating its power through commie means.

Seee3

Meritocracy also won't work because the rich and bright students have more resources and will become brighter.

The poor, though bright students have a hard time playing catch-up.

One or two poor kids may make it and become rich, behave in the same way making their kids brighter.

The cycle goes on and the rich becomes richer while the poor becomes poorer; not because of their lacking in effort but more due to unequal resources.

Indeed competition is good and healthy, which is exactly what is missing where politics in the Leegime is concerned! And the Familee is bent on perpetuating its power through commie means.

Mr Solid Metal GOld says " No competition, I worry!":biggrin:

TeeKee

Nepotism collusions and corruption is a hallmark of Hakka hybrid regime!

There's no free market economy in sgp! Dun be 天真!

best system is northern European system with strong free market without govt messing around with the economy but provides solid basic welfare to it's people!

Their productivity levels far exceeds any communist regime like Singapore and China, without being labelled as slave driving countries!

TeeKee

Mr Solid Metal GOld says " No competition, I worry!":biggrin:

I really like to see more competitions in parliament and national defence. How could singaporeans dominate the parliament and managed the lives of the people, half of it are foreigners?

This is unacceptable because they pay taxes too!

soIsee

I really like to see more competitions in parliament and national defence. How could singaporeans dominate the parliament and managed the lives of the people, half of it are foreigners?

This is unacceptable because they pay taxes too!

Nobody is asking you to stay.

As far as I can understand from TS post, he is just telling you the obvious.

If you can't 'make the grade' in Sinkie land and keep harping on 'equality', you can jolly well 'get out' to try new pastures!

TeeKee

If you can't 'make the grade' in Sinkie land and keep harping on 'equality', you can jolly well 'get out' to try new pastures!

dun be a spoilt sport would you mean my arguments have no merits?

ze professor (dunno whether wif fake degree 1 anot) obviously never heard of ze ingenous way of increasing gst ...

annexa

That means when our gahmen is rewarding FTs, that was why Sinkies are actively disengaged. Most actively disengaged according to some survey. And the gahmen blame us!

phouse3

If you can't 'make the grade' in Sinkie land and keep harping on 'equality', you can jolly well 'get out' to try new pastures!:biggrin:

Are you lying to yourself?

Some of the intentional meddling that has happened:

- Raised GST and cut top level income/corporate taxes giving the reason the rich needs incentive to work. (Corporate tax is already so low that Singapore has been marked as a tax-haven.)
- Raised GST to help the poor. (I cannot make head or tail out of this.)

There must be an equilibrium some point in time. And if something works, why fixed it? No one is "harping on equality". People are simply crying foul on measures that intentionally widen the inequality or create disequilibrium. How else did the Gini Coefficient go haywire? The MIW and their running dogs would want us to believe it is due to globilisation or that some Singaporeans "cannot make the grade". But even the stupid can see it is due to their meddling.

If they didn't intentionally encourage and legalise the employment of foreigners, even the local retard could still find a job as a toilet cleaner. And the lowly educated could still find jobs in the factories/restaurants/departmental stores. I am sure too the CEOs of DBS and OCBC would have been locals.

I am sure the local retard would love to "get out" too. But which country in the world would roll out the carpet to welcome him as a waiter/toilet attendant like what Singapore did to welcome the cheap foreign labour.

No one is asking for handouts. In fact, on the contrary, handouts are given out as part of the meddling of the government. This subject has been discussed many times before by Ngiam Tong Tau.

Remember?
- Nothing but an accounting exercise.
- Taking from the left hand to give to the right.
- Side effects of developing crutch mentality.

littlefish

Everything in this world requires a balance. Having socialism does not mean the end of the world. The crucial point is how socialism is used to temper full-on capitalism.

I will bet you that if unchecked capitalism is adopted everywhere, WW3 will not be far behind. People who have nothing, have nothing to lose. People who have everything, have everything to lose.

I think it's more important to try and close the gap between the knowledgeable and the ignorant.

nonsense it will work in singapore. all will have B.
a few might jump hdb because they did not get A, but we cannot help everyone.

An economics professor at a local college made a statement that he had never failed a single student before but had once failed an entire class.

That class had insisted that socialism worked and that no one would be poor and no one would be rich, a great equalizer.

The professor then said, "OK, we will have an experiment in this class on socialism. All grades would be averaged and everyone would receive the same grade so no one would fail and no one would receive an A.

The students who studied hard were upset and the students who studied little were happy.

As the second test rolled around, the students who studied little had studied even less and the ones who studied hard decided they wanted a free ride too so they studied little.

The scores never increased as bickering, blame and name-calling all resulted in hard feelings and no one would study for the benefit of anyone else.

All failed, to their great surprise, and the professor told them that socialism would also ultimately fail because when the reward is great, the effort to succeed is great but when government takes the reward away, no one will try or want to succeed.

Meltdown

Moral of the story is that the U.S. Taxpayers shouldn't give multi-trillion dollar bailouts to the incompetents on Wall Street. This is socialism for the crony elites on Wall Street.

To All Forummers: Please don't blame "Capitalism" for the recent global economic crisis. It's socialism for the crony elites that is the main cause of this crisis.

The world economy doesn't need taxpayer bailouts to keep the incompetents in business. It also doesn't require more gov't regulations. What it needs is less gov't regulations & let the incompetents fail. Gov'ts should also stop manipulating the economy & the financial markets through the Central Banks.

In fact, it's the Central Banking Fiat Money system that is printing multi-trillion dollars that is funding the socialism for the corrupt & incompetent crony elites.

hockbeng

Dont talk cock lah!