• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Clinton: Malaysia a model nation

metalslug

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Malaysia/Story/A1Story20110116-258448.html

Sun, Jan 16, 2011
New Straits Times

20110116.095357_18763709---13_01_2011---qatar_.jpg

UNITED States Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, who is impressed with Malaysia's developmental efforts, wants to make Malaysia a model nation for developing countries. Three factors that impress her are the country's democracy, effective government and continuous economic growth.

Clinton said this to Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin at the US State Department here on Friday.

This was a follow-up to the meeting they had when Clinton was in Kuala Lumpur last year.

Muhyiddin was accompanied by Malaysian Ambassador to the US Datuk Seri Jamaludin Jarjis and Foreign Affairs Ministry deputy secretary-general Datuk Husni Zai Yaacob.

Speaking at a press conference on Friday before returning home, Muhyiddin expressed satisfaction with his meeting with Clinton.

Clinton said it was "very exciting for the breadth and depth of our relationship to be on such a positive track, and I look forward to continuing to work closely with the government and people of Malaysia for a better future".

Muhyiddin and Clinton also discussed Malaysia's proposal for a Peace Corps programme to teach English to teachers and schoolchildren in the country, and the signing of the Trans Pacific Partnership (TPP).

TPP is a multilateral free trade agreement that aims to integrate the economies of the Asia-Pacific region.

Muhyiddin said negotiations on the Peace Corps programme were underway. "When the draft is ready, we will table it to the cabinet."

Muhyiddin said he was confident that Malaysia would conclude TPP negotiations before the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation conference in Hawaii at the end of the year.

Clinton asked him about Malaysia's increasing role in Afghanistan and Palestine.

He said following the United Arab Emirates' US$6 million (RM18.5 million) aid to the International Security Assistance Force to Afghanistan, Malaysia's participation in it could be expanded or extended.

Malaysia's presence in Afghanistan is at the request of the host nation to provide medical and humanitarian aid.

Muhyiddin said Palestine had asked Malaysia to help rebuild its infrastructure and economy. "We stressed to her the importance of the US' role in resolving the Palestine issue."

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak may visit Palestine at the invitation of President Mahmoud Abbas.

Clinton indicated to Muhyiddin that it was time for another US presidential visit to Malaysia.

Lyndon B. Johnson was the first and only American president to have visited Malaysia in 1966.

A Felda settlement in Negri Sembilan was named after him following the visit.

Muhyiddin said if this happened, it would be another milestone in US-Malaysia relations.

Najib extended an invitation to President Barack Obama to visit Malaysia when both leaders talked on the telephone during their first conversation as heads of states in June 2009.

Obama is expected to attend the 19th Asean Summit in Bali in October.

Muhyiddin congratulated Jamaludin for a job well done as Malaysia's representative in the US.

At the launch of Malaysian Bio-technology Corporation's (BiotechCorp) Malaysian Biotechnology Entrepreneurial Special Training (myBeST) programme here on Friday, Muhyiddin said Malaysia should make the world its laboratory to nurture talent. "Let's make it our aim to learn from the best, wherever that may be."

He said degrees and formal education were irrelevant without creativity, strategic and critical thinking, practical training, communication ability, skills and business acumen.

He urged agencies and government departments back home to develop human capital. The next step would be to partner the public and private sectors, he added.

"We must acknowledge that the Malaysian government and private sector are significantly engaged in the advancement of education. The government and private sector fund almost 40,000 of the 60,000 people studying abroad."

He said the public and private sector partnership could now place more focus on practical training.

Under the myBeST programme, more than 200 Malaysian students from selected universities in the US will undergo training in bioprocess operations and other specialisations in American companies.

The programme will refer them to US-based companies, which are setting up operations in Malaysia, for possible recruitment.

The programme is a collaboration between BiotechCorp and General Electric Healthcare. GE will equip trainees with skills in biotechnology, including bio-processes.

The programme in Malaysia has trained about 800 sciences students, of whom 85 per cent secured jobs.

well done Malaysia.

I am waiting for Clinton to tell the world sinkieland is a bad example of a so -called developed nation.

when i see the title thread...

Thought was Clinton666 ... :D

A model for developing countries? Is Malaysia still developing since 1957?

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Malaysia/Story/A1Story20110116-258448.html

Sun, Jan 16, 2011
New Straits Times

20110116.095357_18763709---13_01_2011---qatar_.jpg

UNITED States Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, who is impressed with Malaysia's developmental efforts, wants to make Malaysia a model nation for developing countries. Three factors that impress her are the country's democracy, effective government and continuous economic growth.

Wakakakakah !!!!! :D :D :D

No wonder it is still a developing nation so long after independent.
No wonder...

4405460837_2167165bac_b.jpg

2798207285_7d3ffd1ec9.jpg

MALAYSIA APA PUN BOLEH !!!!

Clinton went bonkers since that lewinsky incident. I wouldnt put any weight on what she says. Even sarah palin has a better shot at prez than her

lucky thing she did not win the president erection.:rolleyes:

You believe the country that have their cable kena leaked them saying things which don't look like what they say?

"Three factors that impress her are the country's democracy, effective government and continuous economic growth"

"Democracy" - don't you agree? Malaysians can vote for opposition without fear of losing their pants. Singaporeans cannot. The majority of Singaporeans simply complain and complain but have no guts to vote against PAP for fear of repercussions to their career and future, you know this.

"Effective government" - effective, not efficient, and it does not imply clean government as well. Economy grows, quality of life good - effective or not??

"Continuous economic growth" - you can laugh at the old kampong houses in the midst of city, but to some this is old world charm. Not everybody plans their town lego-like Singapore style. Even LA have slums. It is a fact that Malaysia did enjoy continuous economic growth in the last 3 decades under Dr M.

Hilary is not saying MY is any better than SG. She is just stating some facts and i don't see anything wrong to say MY is a model nation for developing nation.