• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Cleaning Contractor Complains No SGs Want $500 PM Jobs!

[h=2]Cleaning contractors can’t find Singaporean cleaners[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
May 29th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

cleaner.jpg

As the Ministry of Manpower is tightening the issue or work passes for foreign workers, the cleaning companies are complaining that they can’t find Singaporeans willing to do cleaning jobs.

Ban Chuan Cleaning Services put up an advertisement looking for Singaporeans to work as HDB cleaners with salary from $500 to $1,000 recently. No one Singaporean has applied.

Despite a bid to attract them with higher salaries, cleaning contractors said it’s difficult to attract Singaporeans.

A spokesperson from Ban Chuan Cleaning Services said, “We are trying to get housewives and retirees to join us part-time. But even when they do try it out, some are choosy about what they want to clean, or simply do not show up for work.”

The spokesperson also said that many Singaporeans do not want to work near where they live for fear of being recognised by their neighbours or compared with foreign cleaners.

In other first world countries where cleaners are paid well, certainly they do not exhibit such inferiority complex. In fact, many would go to pubs after work and mingle with other white collar workers and all are treated as equal. There is no clear class distinction.

Another cleaning contractor, Colin Toh from Legend Maintenance Singapore also complained about Singaporeans, “They will almost never do refuse collection or block facade cleaning.”

Currently, the market rate for a part-time Singaporean cleaner involving in sweeping 2 HDB blocks 4 hours a day, 6 days a week is about $650 a month.

Labour MP Zainal Sapari said the shortage of local cleaners is due to the low pay. He recognized that even though cleaning companies are willing to offer more, it is not attractive enough. The cleaning companies typically put in low bids in order to win a tender and that indirectly suppresses cleaners’ salaries, he said.

In their defence, the cleaning contractors say they will not get the contract if their bids are higher than others.

Over the last 10 years or so, the median wage for cleaners was $1,227 in 2000, and dropped to $960 a decade later.

Recognizing this, DPM Tharman has said in Parliament that more needed to be done to increase the wages of cleaners. Plans are now in the pipeline to make it mandatory for all government agencies to award contracts only to accredited cleaning companies, which have better pay structures and worker welfare.

<CITE class=fn>Anon:</CITE>
May 30, 2012 at 12:20 am Anon(Quote)
Nah bei, why don’t PAP talk to their fellow member Prof Tommy Koh?? Prof Tommy has already identified 4 successful European countries where cleaners can earn $5,000 a month salaries, and where their population growth is healthy i.e. people still having babies, no population decline and no unhealthy population explosion. If you expand your scope worldwide, you can also learn from other successful countries like Oz and Canada.
Let me give you a prediction:
PAP will learn best practices from SMRT. PAP will talk cock sing song with Union Chief and Cleaners’ Association cum Union. They will announce big big on TV and in Shit Times that they will increase cleaners pay by 30%. But they never tell you that now, the cleaners will have to work 7 days a week, with one (1) day off per year — on CNY, Hari Raya, Deepavali depending whether you are chinese, malay or indian.

500- 1000 eat what after CPF? Housing and expenditure very cheap in sg is it?

Read the article properly, it's a part time job, not a full time job.

4 hr /day work 6day/week for $500.
That even worst than McD pay no wonder no one pick up. The cleaner company sgould ask them self if not happy employ FT.
1. They need to pay levy $450/month/head
2. Dormitory about $250/month/head
3. Pay $30/day for FT cleaner
4. Deposit of $5k/head for FT

To employ the FT min $1600/month included levy and dormitory.
But pay Sinkie $1000. So go ahead employ FT if they think cheaper. Also employ FT need quota of SG/PR working in company that extra cost again.

You failed to see this?

Over the last 10 years or so, the median wage for cleaners was $1,227 in 2000, and dropped to $960 a decade later.

You should work yourself to find out how much part-time is indeed part time.I chat with some of them.Give them ciggies and buy them coffee too.

It's pure exploitation of the worst kind.

Part time is claimed by the contractors to avoid some legal requirements.Otherwise the jobscope is more than full time.Sort of finish your work before quitting.

Some folks here may be shocked to find out that some cleaners are from old folks homes or homeless.They carry no IC.Contractors come and fetch them in the morning.Pay them $10/ a day and nothing more.The 10 bucks for the transport back,meal and etc.the rest of the money,still within $600,is paid to to the home.That is $600 minus $300.The old folks don't see this money nor know where it is kept.

Homeless folks rather work for this $10 a day since it's an opportunity for them to get out of prison like conditions.Buy some hawkers food,ciggies or a beer or two.But the work is back breaking.

If you see an old folk cleaning your estate,talk to him or her.The chances are that they are from old folks home.Please do.

this cleaning company should be burn down for making such rubbish comments!

Poor old folks are liability.
Get them to work be productive as form of exercise.
60.1% please take note....you end up like that if you are not careful.

You should work yourself to find out how much part-time is indeed part time.I chat with some of them.Give them ciggies and buy them coffee too.

It's pure exploitation of the worst kind.

Part time is claimed by the contractors to avoid some legal requirements.Otherwise the jobscope is more than full time.Sort of finish your work before quitting.

Some folks here may be shocked to find out that some cleaners are from old folks homes or homeless.They carry no IC.Contractors come and fetch them in the morning.Pay them $10/ a day and nothing more.The 10 bucks for the transport back,meal and etc.the rest of the money,still within $600,is paid to to the home.That is $600 minus $300.The old folks don't see this money nor know where it is kept.

Homeless folks rather work for this $10 a day since it's an opportunity for them to get out of prison like conditions.Buy some hawkers food,ciggies or a beer or two.But the work is back breaking.

If you see an old folk cleaning your estate,talk to him or her.The chances are that they are from old folks home.Please do.

this fucker fat ass just a pap dog, always like to twist and act upright!

Whenever see a senior cleaning tables, clear you plates and stack them to make things easier for them. Imagine old people, standing and pushing the trolley all day long. Exercise is exercise, but this is abit too taxing for most old people.

This is uniquely Singapore.You never find old folks pushing trolleys in any third world countries.Not even in the poorest such as Mynmmar.in fact most Asian countries respect their elderlies and never put them thorough such a dehumanizing rigor.

Even across the causeway in Malaysia,elders are given the due respect.They are given first priority in any que...they are served first.

Here in Singapore,we find elders with their deformed limbs and crouching spine working like slaves.It's very very embarrassing to explain this to foreign friends.What is worse that even FT and foreigners are behaving the same towards our old folks.I often find fit and young Bangla and Filipino workers beating our elders to a seat in MRT--even reserved ones.

We had set the bad example,or rather the fucking NTUC chief had set the bad example and foreigners think it's natural to punish our old folks who cannot afford private transportation.

That is why it always eludes me when I hear "Proud to be a sinkie".........foreigners are laughing behind sinkie's back.

What have we done as daft individuals and collectively as an intellectually lazy electorate for our "home":confused::(

This is uniquely Singapore.You never find old folks pushing trolleys in any third world countries.Not even in the poorest such as Mynmmar.in fact most Asian countries respect their elderlies and never put them thorough such a dehumanizing rigor.

Even across the causeway in Malaysia,elders are given the due respect.They are given first priority in any que...they are served first.

Here in Singapore,we find elders with their deformed limbs and crouching spine working like slaves.It's very very embarrassing to explain this to foreign friends.What is worse that even FT and foreigners are behaving the same towards our old folks.I often find fit and young Bangla and Filipino workers beating our elders to a seat in MRT--even reserved ones.

We had set the bad example,or rather the fucking NTUC chief had set the bad example and foreigners think it's natural to punish our old folks who cannot afford private transportation.

[h=2]Cleaning contractors can’t find Singaporean cleaners[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
May 29th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

cleaner.jpg

As the Ministry of Manpower is tightening the issue or work passes for foreign workers, the cleaning companies are complaining that they can’t find Singaporeans willing to do cleaning jobs.

Ban Chuan Cleaning Services put up an advertisement looking for Singaporeans to work as HDB cleaners with salary from $500 to $1,000 recently. No one Singaporean has applied.

Despite a bid to attract them with higher salaries, cleaning contractors said it’s difficult to attract Singaporeans.

A spokesperson from Ban Chuan Cleaning Services said, “We are trying to get housewives and retirees to join us part-time. But even when they do try it out, some are choosy about what they want to clean, or simply do not show up for work.”

The spokesperson also said that many Singaporeans do not want to work near where they live for fear of being recognised by their neighbours or compared with foreign cleaners.

In other first world countries where cleaners are paid well, certainly they do not exhibit such inferiority complex. In fact, many would go to pubs after work and mingle with other white collar workers and all are treated as equal. There is no clear class distinction.

Another cleaning contractor, Colin Toh from Legend Maintenance Singapore also complained about Singaporeans, “They will almost never do refuse collection or block facade cleaning.”

Currently, the market rate for a part-time Singaporean cleaner involving in sweeping 2 HDB blocks 4 hours a day, 6 days a week is about $650 a month.

Labour MP Zainal Sapari said the shortage of local cleaners is due to the low pay. He recognized that even though cleaning companies are willing to offer more, it is not attractive enough. The cleaning companies typically put in low bids in order to win a tender and that indirectly suppresses cleaners’ salaries, he said.

In their defence, the cleaning contractors say they will not get the contract if their bids are higher than others.

Recognizing this, DPM Tharman has said in Parliament that more needed to be done to increase the wages of cleaners. Plans are now in the pipeline to make it mandatory for all government agencies to award contracts only to accredited cleaning companies, which have better pay structures and worker welfare.

Problem can be solve immediately but ensuring that contracts only go to companies that hire Singaporeans. The rest will sort itself out - the companies will have no choice but to increase the salaries, the agencies will have no other bids that can offer any lower... I'm sure our government can spend more so its citizens can benefit from it.

DPM is talking cock. This is so easy yet they give you all sorts of bullshit stories.

A world class Cabinet paid millions and still can't find a solution to this problem for the past decade or so. It's shocking. And this problem cannot be that difficult to solve, imo.

Since the govt loved Pinoys, why not give these jobs to their beloved Pinoys.
Most have faked papers anyway.
If Pinoy women can work as maids why not their men work as cleaners?
Why should we allow Pinoys with fake qualifications to steal PMET jobs from locals.?
Dumb 60%(as in the GE)

If it is half day cleaning in office (with aircon), I am sure those carton or cardboard collectors will be most glad to grab the $500/mth job. Now, the ball is back to Ban Chuan Cleaning company whether they want to discriminate these poor folks.