• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chinese Clans Buay Song FAPee TRAITORS Tweaking System to Favour Princelings!

May 4, 2010

Chinese clans to petition

<!-- by line -->By Leong Weng Kam
<!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar -->
ST_IMAGES_P1BLURBS04-ETY.jpg
Mr Lee Peng Shu (right) says equal emphasis on English and Chinese for ethnic Chinese pupils should not be changed as it has been effective in ensuring the success of Singapore's bilingual education policy. Mr Ho Kwok Choi (above) feels the standard of Chinese taught in schools is already low and it must not be allowed to drop further. -- PHOTOS: LIANHE ZAOBAO

<!-- story content : start -->
LEADERS of Chinese clan associations in Singapore want the Government to reconsider any plan to reduce the weighting given to mother tongue languages in Primary School Leaving Examination (PSLE) scores.
They fear such a move will discourage the young from learning the Chinese language even at the primary school level.
Mother tongue now gets a 25 per cent weighting at PSLE, equal to that of the other three examination subjects - English, mathematics and science.
More than 80 leaders and members of the Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations (SFCCA) met last Saturday in an emotionally charged two-hour session at the federation's premises in Toa Payoh.
The SFCCA is an umbrella body for 188 Chinese clans and community groups. SFCCA secretary-general Lim Fang Hua, 63, told The Straits Times yesterday that leaders from all member clans and groups were invited to voice their opinions on the issue.
The controversy over language weighting was prompted by Education Minister Ng Eng Hen's remarks in a press interview a fortnight ago.
Read the full story in Tuesday's edition of The Straits Times.
Read also:
Mother tongue still vital

It all started cos some Old Fart's grand spawn failed CL2. What meleetocracy indeed!

Chinese Clans coming together to petition!!!

a8.jpg
Mr Lee Peng Shu says equal emphasis on English and Chinese for ethnic Chinese pupils should not be changed as it has been effective in ensuring the success of Singapore's bilingual education policy. -- PHOTO: LIANHE ZAOBAO

LEADERS of Chinese clan associations in Singapore want the Government to reconsider any plan to reduce the weighting given to mother tongue languages in Primary School Leaving Examination (PSLE) scores.

They fear such a move will discourage the young from learning the Chinese language even at the primary school level.

Mother tongue now gets a 25 per cent weighting at PSLE, equal to that of the other three examination subjects - English, mathematics and science.

More than 80 leaders and members of the Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations (SFCCA) met last Saturday in an emotionally charged two-hour session at the federation's premises in Toa Payoh.

The SFCCA is an umbrella body for 188 Chinese clans and community groups. SFCCA secretary-general Lim Fang Hua, 63, told The Straits Times yesterday that leaders from all member clans and groups were invited to voice their opinions on the issue.

The controversy over language weighting was prompted by Education Minister Ng Eng Hen's remarks in a press interview a fortnight ago.

I have to agree with the government on this. Forcing students to score well in an additional language which is not used as a medium of instruction will only make them hate the language more. I believe the approach should be to encourage a passion and interest for the language rather than through force. I have seen many who did just enough to pass and then hate the language so much that they will have absolutely nothing to do with it after they leave school.

Note that I have no problems with increasing the number of teaching hours devoted to learning an additional language. What I am against is forcing the students to attain a minimum standard when their interest in it is already flagging. For those keen to be proficient in an additional language, they can sit for optional exams for it but the grades should not be considered for advancement unless they are majoring in that language itself.

Re: Chinese Clans coming together to petition!!!

Fuck these Chinese clans. If they were any good, they should stop the gov from commencing "Speak Mandarin" campaign in the late 70s and 80s. My mother tongue is not Mandarin. Load of useless fucks these Chinese clans are.

Mother tongue may be important but people talk $$$ only.
istockphoto_5915117-singapore-dollar.jpg

U want the $$$ u talk my language...

Most Singaporeans can't speak English well enough even though many are Pinkertons

But they can't speak mother tongue well enough either

They can only talk cock on this little red dot, elsewhere nobody gives a hoot

The CLANs and all their members should all lead a route march down Orchard Road and into the CBD on a working day. Easily 100,000 members.

That would be the beginning of ..........

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

The CLANs and all their members should all lead a route march down Orchard Road and into the CBD on a working day. Easily 100,000 members.

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

Must tell the kantang that enough is enough. Buddha also has fire (temper).

May 4, 2010

Chinese clans to petition

<!-- by line -->By Leong Weng Kam
<!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar -->
ST_IMAGES_P1BLURBS04-ETY.jpg
Mr Lee Peng Shu (right) says equal emphasis on English and Chinese for ethnic Chinese pupils should not be changed as it has been effective in ensuring the success of Singapore's bilingual education policy. Mr Ho Kwok Choi (above) feels the standard of Chinese taught in schools is already low and it must not be allowed to drop further. -- PHOTOS: LIANHE ZAOBAO

<!-- story content : start -->
Read also:
Mother tongue still vital

All these calm members can't speak or write decent english to save their lives. So they must impose on others. I say leave it to the parents to decide.

Nanyang university scenario all over again?

The CLANs and all their members should all lead a route march down <leo_highlight style="border-bottom: 2px solid rgb(255, 255, 150); background-color: transparent; background-image: none; background-repeat: repeat; background-attachment: scroll; background-position: 0% 50%; -moz-background-size: auto auto; cursor: pointer; display: inline; -moz-background-clip: -moz-initial; -moz-background-origin: -moz-initial; -moz-background-inline-policy: -moz-initial;" id="leoHighlights_Underline_1" onclick="leoHighlightsHandleClick('leoHighlights_Underline_1')" onmouseover="leoHighlightsHandleMouseOver('leoHighlights_Underline_1')" onmouseout="leoHighlightsHandleMouseOut('leoHighlights_Underline_1')" leohighlights_keywords="orchard" leohighlights_url_top="http%3A//shortcuts.thebrowserhighlighter.com/leonardo/plugin/highlights/3_1/tbh_highlightsTop.jsp?keywords%3Dorchard%26domain%3Dwww.singsupplies.com" leohighlights_url_bottom="http%3A//shortcuts.thebrowserhighlighter.com/leonardo/plugin/highlights/3_1/tbh_highlightsBottom.jsp?keywords%3Dorchard%26domain%3Dwww.singsupplies.com" leohighlights_underline="true">Orchard</leo_highlight> Road and into the CBD on a working day. Easily 100,000 members.

These clans dun come and talk cock now, where were they when the gov decided to carry out ethnic cleansing and eradicated the mother tongue of the different chinese dialect group. It is laughable that now all chinese adopts this language Mandarin as their mother tongue and culture. Just what is a Mandarin culture? No wonder the chinese in Singapore are the weakest link culturally.

u want high weightage 4 mother tongue? ... wait 4 dose burgers' kids 2 b very powderful in it 1st la ...

The chinese clan should also know that because of influx of foreigners, the govt kept tweaking policies to accomodate this newbies into our shore. In the past Singaporeans do not have such issue on language skill, now PAP appears to be too arrogant and expect us to change every micro level of our life to blend in with them. This is totally outrageous. I agree that all chinese should start boycott PAP and support alternative parties. We don't want Singapore CHINESE culture to dissappear because of PAP.

fuck lah since when has the chinese clans in singapore been guardians of heritage and tradition? All they have ever done is make more money thru connections and create news thru infighting.

You are wrong in this...the clans did look after the heritage of the dialect group they represented, ask the MIWs what they did to the clan associations in the past....:p

uncle, i have gotten calls in the middle of the night from strangers asking my parents to vote for the new party in the clan Agm. no head no tail.:confused: my parents weren't even active members.
I dont know about the past. but presently i don't see them playing any role in the local chinese community. All i see is their building/office in prime Cbd areas. I remember thinking: can't the clan function go online? more practical this way.
Btw, what did the Pap do to the clan? Seng han thong and a few Mps were clan people right?

uncle, i have gotten calls in the middle of the night from strangers asking my parents to vote for the new party in the clan Agm. no head no tail.:confused: my parents weren't even active members.
I dont know about the past. but presently i don't see them playing any role in the local chinese community. All i see is their building/office in prime Cbd areas. I remember thinking: can't the clan function go online? more practical this way.
Btw, what did the Pap do to the clan? Seng han thong and a few Mps were clan people right?

That you have to read the history of singapore...not HIStory by LKY....:p They are trying to revive the Clans to suit their political needs....that is why they get people calling your parents...

In the past, they were very fervent in disbanding or curbing the activities of the Clan Associations... remember, you can walk past one...and feel that time had stood still...

I was educated in Clan school before I attended mainstream school....:p

what if PAP refuse to do so which is 99%.

will leaders of Chinese clan
1) take their supporters to the streets to protest
2) form a political party to fight PAP in elections
3) keep their mouth tightly shut and never mention the whole episode ever again.

These clan assocs are looking after their interests. If interest in Chinese language and education dies, the clan assocs will also die along with these people. When parents and our children had problems coping with Chinese, what were these people doing? Where were they? Did they come out to help?