• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

chiatilik PG. fined $1,600

shittimes leeported today 26 may.

another hits the dust in the TBT public antics. at least ngejay was cleverer to PG without hesitation and fined only $600.

who's next to PG?

it wasn't really a all for one and one for all unity. it was more like a each man for himself. the whole antic was already destined to failure and embarrassment before it even started. sad.:(

captainxerox

for what? is this some protest? i'm sure a small fine would not stop them. the more the court fine and jail, the more they look cock.

Singapore lawyer challenges “law” that violates democracy, freedom
Monday, 25 May 2009
Singapore Democrats

Lawyer Chia Ti Lik stood his ground today when he told a district judge that “as a citizen of this country, I have to stand up against the law that violates the principles of democracy and freedom”.

Mr Chia made the defiant statement when he was asked by Judge James Leong if he had anything to say before sentence was passed.

Earlier, Mr Chia, one of the Tak Boleh Tahan (cannot stand) protesters, had pleaded guilty to two charges of “illegal assembly and procession” in front of Parliament House to mark World Consumers Day on 15 March 2008 where nearly 30 people had gathered to protest against the escalating cost of living.

This afternoon, Mr Chia pleaded guilty to the charges due to work commitments.

Before he was sentenced, Mr Chia read out a statement in which he told the judge: “I am not in defiance or disrespectful to the court. But because of my political conviction I can’t say this will be the only offence.”

Hearing this, Deputy Public Prosecutor Mr Isaac Tan noted that Mr Chia had shown “no remorse”.

Agreeing, Judge Leong said: ”Chia is unable to ensure the court that he will not do it again.”

The judge then fined Mr Chia, $800 for each offence, making a total of $1,600 or ten days’ jail in default. For his "unremorsefulness", the lawyer was fined $400 more than the amount meted out to Mr Chia's co-defendents who had siimilarly pleaded guilty also because of work commitments. The maximum fine for each offence is $1,000.

Another accused, Ms Suraya binte Akbar, a 26-year old housewife with three young children also pleaded guilty at the same court to the two charges and was fined a total of $1,200 or eight days’ jail in default.

Meanwhile, the trial involving thirteen other protesters continues at Subordinate Court 5 tomorrow at 9.30 in the morning.

for what? is this some protest? i'm sure a small fine would not stop them. the more the court fine and jail, the more they look cock.

if ONE pleads guilty, the judge would have already found ALL guilty. sadly, that's what UNITY were to the individual who PG. chee soon juan's antics had failed miserably!:mad:

ektay

this fucked-up lawyer actually pleaded guilty? my oh my......haha. chia ti lik.....u r guilty ah?

where the fuck is the gung-ho attitude earlier abt fighting pap blar blar blar.....shame on you.

becos of his foolish childish defiance and how-lian outburst to the judge, he had to pay an extra $400. that's really going to hurt this stingy like mata-kuching lawyer.:p

the shit times quoted chia decided to PG as "he got no time for work commitment"......

it's very strange that when he was involved in the first place, he had plenty of time.

tiger head; snake tail 虎頭蛇尾 has become very habitual. it was a total letdown and disappointment for all.:mad:

i know ah lik is reading this...

so ah lik ah,

look at it the brighter side. SHIT TIMES printed ur pic and though not a very big column leeport, that newsprint space would have easily costed you at least a few thousands if u were to advertise it.

in a way, u still profit from the 1.6k court fine.:wink:

for someone claiming "don't have time", he sure has lots of time for other things.:p

Pleading Guilty to Assembly and Procession without Permit – Why Pay More?
I took part in a protest on 15th March 2008. I was charged for 2 offences on 11th July 2008.

Yesterday, I decided to plead guilty to the charges i was facing as i already had gone through 2 tranches of 2 weeks each. This tranche would be the 5th week. The time spent on going on and on with evasive police witnesses in court was becoming more of a dread day by day.

I decided to plead guilty and disengage from the proceedings as i had my professionalism to my clients as priority. Surayah decided to do the same for reasons of her own.

DPP Issac Tan was visibly happy to know that i have thrown in the towel, the press was there ready to pounce…. ST’s Elena Chong and another reporter which I could not identify was there to report on the proceedings.

The charges were read. Surayah mitigated.

When District Judge James Leong asked me for my mitigation, this was what i said:

“I stand before this court with the dubious distinction of being an officer of the Court charged for offences which i am pleading guilty to.

Under normal circumstances i would be ashamed of myself but this is not the case here. It is my position that the law in question is designed to curb the activities of opposition political parties and it is my duty as a citizen to stand up against a law which violates principles of democracy and freedom.

Not out of defiance or disrespect towards the Court or the prosecution, i must state that I stand first and foremost a citizen of this country and because of my political convictions i cannot say that this will be the only offence.”

DPP Issac Tan jumped on my words and pressed the Court to take note of my lack of remorse.
District Judge James Leong took note of that and i was slapped with $200/- more for each charge.

ST was very quick with the report that i had thrown in the towel and that I had been fined $800 for each of the charges. However absolutely no mention was made by our mainstream media on why was it that i had to pay more?

Carl stopped me outside court and told me that if i had said too much. He told me that if i had stopped midway, i would not have been made to pay the additional S$400/-. So was it worth it? He asked me with a cheeky grin.

I told Carl that the $400 was well worth every cent as i needed to be clear that by pleaing guilty i am not backtracking on the principles and values i tried to push for. To me, i was only being frank to fellow officers of the court [the DPPs Issac Tan, David Low and the APP] an the Judicial Officer District Judge James Leong.

But frankly was being made to pay extra money wise?

To me, someone who has had the audacity to stand for public office, it was a simple matter of principle, of truthfulness and accountability, of being having the guts to break the law and face the consequences. Furthermore, the $400 is money from my own pocket which i will gladly pay as the price. From my recollection, other politicians have been made to pay sums in excess of S$400,000 for saying things that are objectionable to the powers that be.

Critics will say “In essence, i was made to pay S$1,600/- of my hard earned money [I don't make much anyway ] to the State because of my noseyness in wanting to speak up for my fellow citizens and also of my big mouth during mitigation in Court. This was $400/- more painful than the rest of my co-accused.”

But at the end of the day, the $400/- that was losing was every cent my hard earned money. I don’t mind losing it to stand by principles of truthfulness and accountability.

This obviously pales in comparison with the position of stupidly losing S$4.6 billion of taxpayers’ money under extremely dubious circumstances and wanting to be shrouded under the cloak of secrecy.

For the Public Officers [public servants] reading such a comparison, I am sure they will be able to appreciate the finer differences between the two situations and reckon among the two, which would deserve greater respect.

I think by the above reasoning, i should measure up pretty well. And there are no prizes for guessing where i would stand from a scale of 1 to 10.

really sad. as stubborn and immature as ever. as self-righteous and self-glorify as ever. master chee is really good at brainwashing and increasing such stupidity from dumb to dumber. really sad!

a confused & self-contradictive chiatilik

1. Carl stopped me outside court and told me that if i had said too much. He told me that if i had stopped midway, i would not have been made to pay the additional S$400/-. So was it worth it? He asked me with a cheeky grin.

2. I told Carl that the $400 was well worth every cent as i needed to be clear that by pleaing guilty i am not backtracking on the principles and values i tried to push for. To me, i was only being frank to fellow officers of the court [the DPPs Issac Tan, David Low and the APP] an the Judicial Officer District Judge James Leong.

But frankly was being made to pay extra money wise?

3. To me, someone who has had the audacity to stand for public office, it was a simple matter of principle, of truthfulness and accountability, of being having the guts to break the law and face the consequences. Furthermore, the $400 is money from my own pocket which i will gladly pay as the price. From my recollection, other politicians have been made to pay sums in excess of S$400,000 for saying things that are objectionable to the powers that be.

4. Critics will say “In essence, i was made to pay S$1,600/- of my hard earned money [I don't make much anyway ] to the State because of my noseyness in wanting to speak up for my fellow citizens and also of my big mouth during mitigation in Court. This was $400/- more painful than the rest of my co-accused.”

4. But at the end of the day, the $400/- that was losing was every cent my hard earned money. I don’t mind losing it to stand by principles of truthfulness and accountability.

1. carl was wise. and who was carl?

2. you love to be foolishly egoistic and teekee, then pay the price and SHUDDUP!

3. your self-righteousness and prejudiced misled thoughts are simply very ludicrous and cartoon to the peasants. again, if u like, continue to think the reverse:wink: the public antics of ur involvement was chicken feet. it opposed only a simple law that such an action wasn't approved but again tricked by your own self-righteous and warped ego, u thought it was chilvarous to proceed. so pay the price and SHUDDUP!

4. thanks for the revelation, u poor miserable stingy lawyer. maybe u should join in GREAT S'PORE SALES and start giving discount for ur exorbitant leegal fees.:smile:

the truthfulness here is: u still haven't learnt a thing from the ordeal. u still think the LAW should be bent in your favour. master chee has indeed brain-washed and taught u very well. stand-by to march into a bigger longkang later. the last one was only a little ditch.:p

don't listen; don't regret.:wink:

Perspective

An important tactic in politics - you either go all the way or keep out the path. It seems to me that this Chia Ti Lik wanted to step on two boats and ended up not looking very credible.

Porfirio Rubirosa

chia ti lik and his comprade ng e-jay appear to have taken on more than they could chew...perhaps wearing too big a hat...intentions may be good but unable to see things through...like you say it appears to affect their credibility...unfortunately this TBT18 affair is now becoming like Harper's Island...one by one...

The Rocky Path Ahead
Life has its cycles.

Of late i am beginning to doubt whether i am in fact suitable for opposition politics and whether or not the fight should carry on.

I am not proposing that we let the PAPpies off and let them have their good time in peace. It is still my conviction that they should be bent over and shafted by someone like me at every single given opportunity.

There is however a limit to my abilities. I have a limit to my patience, my tolerance, my strength and endurance. I have a heart made of flesh just like any other human being. I have the pride which i hold dear just like any other man.

When I engage in combat on a daily basis, at the end of an eventful day, there is always a yearning to return to a cosy home, a warm hug from a pair of waiting arms. A tender and non-judgmental listening ear. Ever supportive words and unconditional acceptance.

When all these things are absent, there is no home to return to.

When there is no home to return to, what is there to fight for?

When there is nothing to fight for, is there even a reason to carry on fighting?

Without a home to return to, even the coolest and least emotional and mightiest warrior will find a fight difficult, the battles wearisome and the burden arduous.

Is it now time to laydown arms? Is it time to turn swords into ploughshares?

Amidst all these thoughts, I am aware that I will qualify to be a Commissioner for Oaths in less than a week’s time.

In any election, there will be a need for Commissioners who can attest the signatures of the deponents to electoral documents and for polling and counting agents to get their Oaths of Secrecy administered.

Who knows, perhaps a lesser supporting role like that might be suitable for me.

As before, I will not know whether I can fill this role until i try. I will not know if i will try unless i come to it.

Till i come to it, there is still this rocky path ahead.

An important tactic in politics - you either go all the way or keep out the path. It seems to me that this Chia Ti Lik wanted to step on two boats and ended up not looking very credible.

always the case: tiger head; snake tail 虎頭蛇尾

the perspective is to win support from the ground - the peasants. for chia's case, he's more on self-glorifying and self-righteous. it gives the impression he's all for SELF. This already signals the start of failure. it's no different from chee soon juan who keeps thinking peasants are in pysche with him for which they are not. he further harps on "increased supports" which in actual fact is a fairy tale.

chee all along cheated himself. even with respect to the peasants' support, he chooses to think they are with him rather than ignoring or even disagreeing or worst, mocking him.

if one is passionate to serve the peasants, he could do it in many ways. priority is : TO SERVE PEASANTS. if one could project that kind of mentality and thus the impression the peasants see it, ultimately, the supports would roll in and build up gradually.

ONE GOOD DESERVES A BETTER RETURNS.

chee fails to see that. neither does chia. probably that's why they can click and allow the paps to continue gangbang them. both of them haven't done anything good which impress peasants. if going to jail or be sued is good and what they are proud of, well, maybe the peasants are impressed that such stubborn idiots do exist here.

both do not realise that their actions do not tally with what peasants' expectation of an opp candidate or political wannabe. the best part, they still bask in their self-praises which make many puke.

hahaha....maybe he's good at bullying my li'l brother the original LEETAHSAR. let's see he deals with his bigger and much more evil LEETAHBAR:rolleyes:

Perspective

chia ti lik and his comprade ng e-jay appear to have taken on more than they could chew...perhaps wearing too big a hat...intentions may be good but unable to see things through...like you say it appears to affect their credibility...unfortunately this TBT18 affair is now becoming like Harper's Island...one by one...

Yes, I felt it was kind of silly for them to realize that such court cases take up a hell lot of time because the 18 had, in their midst, members who had been hauled up to court several times (Chee, Yap) and 2 lawyers who should know better. Funnily, it was a lawyer who surrendered.

At first, I refrained from criticizing them because I understand they made sacrifices but neither support them because I don't agree with the usefulness of the approach. But their u-turns doesn't do their image good and also affects the opposition's image as a whole.

On top of that, this was their personal choice to take this route although they claim to fight for Singaporeans. Firstly, I prefer them to keep themselves politically alive so that more people can contest PAP at the election. If they do not take the views of a Singaporean like me, are they really representing me? Secondly, I hope not to see people go to jail, whether I like them or not. Thirdly, as a Singaporean, I do not feel benefitted from their approach although they say they were fighting for me.

Yes, I felt it was kind of silly for them to realize that such court cases take up a hell lot of time because the 18 had, in their midst, members who had been hauled up to court several times (Chee, Yap) and 2 lawyers who should know better. Funnily, it was a lawyer who surrendered.

At first, I refrained from criticizing them because I understand they made sacrifices but neither support them because I don't agree with the usefulness of the approach. But their u-turns doesn't do their image good and also affects the opposition's image as a whole.

On top of that, this was their personal choice to take this route although they claim to fight for Singaporeans. Firstly, I prefer them to keep themselves politically alive so that more people can contest PAP at the election. If they do not take the views of a Singaporean like me, are they really representing me? Secondly, I hope not to see people go to jail, whether I like them or not. Thirdly, as a Singaporean, I do not feel benefitted from their approach although they say they were fighting for me.

in simple term, they are wasting the country's resources and security to deal with them. and even more humorous, this to them they proudly self-prasie as "PATRIOTISM AT THE HIGHEST LEVEL".

go ahead. have a good laugh from these bunch of clowns!:biggrin: