• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Cheapo Sinkie bloke held his wedding reception at Gong Cha BBT store in Brisbane

But I must say that he's a smart bloke. His AMDL bride probably thinks that it's a novel and romantic idea, and he gets to save a lot of money.

Dumb AMDL thinks this sinkie is down to earth, creative, yadda yadda.

Dot actually think this is a sensible decision.

They are young and do not have much money.

The venue is very meaningful as this was a regular dating venue for the couple.

It is not wise to follow tradition and host a grand banquet when they can't afford it. Throwing a banquet is to save face for the families to show they can afford it. How meaningful is it to throw a dinner for distant relatives that one hardly sees in one's lifetime?

Even if the couple wants to host a wedding banquet, there are difficulties for the guests to travel to and attend the banquet.

This couple could be financially better off than their Sinkies counterparts in not spending a lot of money on the wedding.

Hongkies are getting married at McDonalds.

No need to care what others think, just do what makes you happy.

mcdonalds-wedding-party-hong-kong-1.jpg

Wedding banquet is one of those silly things whereby 99% of the people involved feel shitty doing stupid things to please the 1%.

Most youngster bride and groom feel it's expensive, stressful and cumbersome. The people invited feel idiotic paying ridiculous angpow and making their way to some far away place to eat shitty central kitchen catering food. The only people having fun are the parents from both sides basking in glory.

Wedding banquet is one of those silly things whereby 99% of the people involved feel shitty doing stupid things to please the 1%.

Most youngster bride and groom feel it's expensive, stressful and cumbersome. The people invited feel idiotic paying ridiculous angpow and making their way to some far away place to eat shitty central kitchen catering food. The only people having fun are the parents from both sides basking in glory.

Here's an idea: don't have a wedding banquet at all. Don't invite anybody... which might be a blessing in disguise if your relatives are the gossipy types and your bride is a divorcee or single mother etc. :biggrin:

Go to ROM, then after that, if you have excess money to burn, spend it on a lengthy honeymoon trip overseas. :cool:

Here's an idea: don't have a wedding banquet at all. Don't invite anybody... which might be a blessing in disguise if your relatives are the gossipy types and your bride is a divorcee or single mother etc. :biggrin:

Go to ROM, then after that, if you have excess money to burn, spend it on a lengthy honeymoon trip overseas. :cool:
Why get married in first place?

Gen Y and millennials would definitely prefer this, but most of them kena emo blackmail by the parents. Some of the parents at least more reasonable, they want this they pay and arrange for everything - the couple just turn up to test dish and walk the carpet on the day itself. Unfortunately I know of parents who want the session, but don't really contribute anything and end up the couple planning and paying for everything.

I personally know of someone who got married late in his early 40s burnt a big hole in his savings for this because the future parents in law are the act atas kind. He was already feeling dejected for needing to work till 67, now it looks like it's gonna be picking cardboard box or clearing food court trays in his 70s.

The best wedding is the one held at your house void deck. Best if held next to a Chinese funeral, so both parties can employ the same chef to cut costs.