• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Cheap public transport fares 'popular but not sustainable' : Penang Khaw

iluvgst

GST increase not enough to cover ur cheapo sinkie public fare rides....

The public transport fare formula is being reviewed by the Public Transport Council (PTC) in the light of rising operating costs, said Transport Minister Khaw Boon Wan in Parliament on Wednesday (7 March).

Khaw told the House that the current formula is “inadequate” and can be better improved to track total costs. “While transport fares must be affordable, we must be careful that they are not priced too cheaply as maintaining a high quality transport requires resources. Cheap fares are popular but they are just not sustainable,” said the Member of Parliament (MP) for Sembawang GRC.

Khaw added, “I’m confident that PTC can work out a fair and sustainable arrangement. Please support the PTC when they make their recommendations,” said Khaw.

The 65-year-old affirmed Tampines GRC MP Cheng Li Hui’s observation that there had been a “alarming spike” in public transport subsidies. Khaw noted that his Ministry’s budget is now the second biggest among ministries after the Ministry of Defence, and ahead of the Health, National Development and Education ministries

Much of this was down to the fact that, over the last five years, improvements to public transport services have increased operating costs by 60 per cent new lines, buses and trains were added.

In the same period, said Khaw, fares have gone down by 2 per cent.

Khaw added, “Over the next five years, we will provide subsidies of about $5b for public bus services and $4b to renew our rail operating assets…another $20b will be invested in infrastructure to further expand the public transport network.”

Uber and Grab are cheap too with all their promo codes. But they have been losing money since day 1. They are not sustainable either.

Told u guys already. No point getting one time $300 but have to pay more for this and that till you drop dead.

Heng ah I'm converting this free $300 to 7,200 baht for my therapy

Songboh?

MRT should operate like google. Free service. You can have full screen billboards placed everywhere at the stations that runs simultaneously. One advert at a time. With free tickets, you get the numbers.. and the advert money. Peak time, advert costs more.

What is the cause of all these infrastructure problems-basically too rapid population growth
Had they not imported so many millions of foreigners, the strain on the infrastructure will not be so severe.
The sad part is that the pappy is the one that controls the population growth and yet they did not expand the infrastructure accordingly.

Same old solution-Pay And Pay.

The infrastructure problem is due to poor planning, design and implementation.

This fucking Penang Cow should get another $8 bypass follow by a lightning strike.

Cut the top management pay by 70%. A train system with a virtual monopoly can be operated at a lower cost so no need fancy management. Just a proper operations system. The CEO is virtually overpaid

More good news ! Increase 100% also no problem because the 70% voted for it ! Well done COW.

Cut the top management pay by 70%. A train system with a virtual monopoly can be operated at a lower cost so no need fancy management. Just a proper operations system. The CEO is virtually overpaid

They are volunteers...how to sack them? The taxpayers, pay taxes in all forms to the government, the government subsidises all the public listed transport providers. The Tpt minister says that cheap fares are not possible, must increase the fares...funny, the 70% are not seeing it...they are being f$%$%&% at all angles...

Soon, the Tpt minister will say that his CHEAP SALARY is not sustainable also, so must ask the voters for their mandate to increase...so what is new?

The public transport companies listed on the stock exchange, major share holders are the government listed companies....the 70% are doubly f$%$%ked every which way they turn & yet, they just don't care!

GST increase not enough to cover ur cheapo sinkie public fare rides....

The public transport fare formula is being reviewed by the Public Transport Council (PTC) in the light of rising operating costs, said Transport Minister Khaw Boon Wan in Parliament on Wednesday (7 March).

Khaw told the House that the current formula is “inadequate” and can be better improved to track total costs. “While transport fares must be affordable, we must be careful that they are not priced too cheaply as maintaining a high quality transport requires resources. Cheap fares are popular but they are just not sustainable,” said the Member of Parliament (MP) for Sembawang GRC.

Khaw added, “I’m confident that PTC can work out a fair and sustainable arrangement. Please support the PTC when they make their recommendations,” said Khaw.

The 65-year-old affirmed Tampines GRC MP Cheng Li Hui’s observation that there had been a “alarming spike” in public transport subsidies. Khaw noted that his Ministry’s budget is now the second biggest among ministries after the Ministry of Defence, and ahead of the Health, National Development and Education ministries

Much of this was down to the fact that, over the last five years, improvements to public transport services have increased operating costs by 60 per cent new lines, buses and trains were added.

In the same period, said Khaw, fares have gone down by 2 per cent.

Khaw added, “Over the next five years, we will provide subsidies of about $5b for public bus services and $4b to renew our rail operating assets…another $20b will be invested in infrastructure to further expand the public transport network.”

Of course! What’s the point of having 6.9 million slaves if you cannot exploit them? o_O

... “While transport fares must be affordable, we must be careful that they are not priced too cheaply as maintaining a high quality transport requires resources. Cheap fares are popular but they are just not sustainable,” ...
agree! ...

juz like chip kitchen cabinets r a popular choice but oso cannot last ...

Ah Cow says "cheap things not good....good things not cheap....but the $8 surgery is sustainable".

nice! hints to higher transport fares which will translate to less crowded, like COE.
The higher the better!!!

They are volunteers...how to sack them? The taxpayers, pay taxes in all forms to the government, the government subsidises all the public listed transport providers. The Tpt minister says that cheap fares are not possible, must increase the fares...funny, the 70% are not seeing it...they are being f$%$%&% at all angles...

Soon, the Tpt minister will say that his CHEAP SALARY is not sustainable also, so must ask the voters for their mandate to increase...so what is new?

The public transport companies listed on the stock exchange, major share holders are the government listed companies....the 70% are doubly f$%$%ked every which way they turn & yet, they just don't care!

No leh, LTA can hire more chiobu social media influencers and people will sappork

Screen-Shot-2018-01-23-at-09.53.15.png

my bad, i missed my morning's medication
withdrawal symptoms