• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

CCB PAPee Tax Sporns to Death @ Airport!

Dec 2, 2009

Holiday trip spoilt by GST shock at airport

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
MY FAMILY recently returned from a holiday in Europe.
As usual, we bought some gifts from the countries we had visited.
But we were stunned when the Customs officers stopped us and slapped us with 7 per cent goods and services tax (GST) for the gifts we purchased abroad.
Even the watch I was wearing on my wrist was not spared.
We were told that the maximum limit for gifts purchased overseas is $300 - anything exceeding that is taxable.
I checked with many friends and relatives and none of them knew that this rule exists, not even the tour agency.
Needless to say, the incident dampened our spirit after a great holiday.
Patrick Lim

allanlee

Singkieland no more $$$ liao........ the order has gone out to collect as much $$$ as they possibly can....... so be prepared to be taxed.... summoned..... conned...... robbed :p

This sinkie really stupid. Watch on wear on wrist just tell them custom brought in Singapore case close. Those clothes cut the price tag loh before comeback. So stupid still KPKB only make him more dumb. So far I never being tax by custom.

kaipoh

really a dump ass, which school you come from? univesity of dump bell, 1st class hon in ass study.
the gst in existance for decades, you suffer amnesia, don't be a loser any more.

This sinkie really stupid. Watch on wear on wrist just tell them custom brought in Singapore case close. Those clothes cut the price tag loh before comeback. So stupid still KPKB only make him more dumb. So far I never being tax by custom.

mercbenz

That is real strange, I never encountered this type of situation before, the custom office don't even want to check my baggage through the many years of travel. Mr.Patrick Lim might have a CFM look on his face :rolleyes:

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
This rule has existed since GST was introduced.

People are ignorant about the implications of GST until they face it flat on their face. GST is not only applied in Singapore's goods and services, it applies to those things you bought over in other foreign land as well.

It would be good for many more Singaporeans to experience first hand what GST really means, before they give the mandate to PAP to raise it to 10%.

Goh Meng Seng

that is true for all countries.

just a random selection, if you are unlucky, you will get it.

but i guess it is quite rare for them to check for singapore.

but if they check you, then you sure kena one.

some countries check more than others. but the rule are the same for all countries.

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
isn't this double taxation? We are already taxed overseas and not all items can claim for tax-free

that is your business, that why you should not buy it, if it is not worth it, after calculating in singapore gst.
but i think it is so rare for sinkies to be stop, so even if you go to many holiday, even if you get hit one big one, still worth it.

that why i only buy things that i cannot get in singapore, not buy things that are cheap.

Watchman

Singkieland no more $$$ liao........ the order has gone out to collect as much $$$ as they possibly can....... so be prepared to be taxed.... summoned..... conned...... robbed

So be-careful driving on the road in the next few days .

Matas coming out in the next few days to issue summons .

newyorker88

This rule has been in place for a long time liao. Why this fellow declare he BOUGHT these items overseas at high price, just say a low price or buy in singapore bring out to use. BTW, what he bought?