• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

CB PAPee Use Reserves to Help Foreigners; Japan Help Japanese. This is the Difference

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=452 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width=452 colSpan=2>Published March 4, 2009
c.gif

</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top width=452 colSpan=2>Japan taps reserves to help firms facing credit crunch
Toyota the first to benefit with a US$2b loan from the initial US$5b taken from reserves

By ANTHONY ROWLEY
IN TOKYO
<TABLE class=storyLinks cellSpacing=4 cellPadding=1 width=136 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR class=font10><TD align=right width=20> </TD><TD>Email this article</TD></TR><TR class=font10><TD align=right width=20> </TD><TD>Print article </TD></TR><TR class=font10><TD align=right width=20> </TD><TD>Feedback</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
IN a highly unusual move, Japan will dip into its foreign exchange reserves to help companies operating overseas that face funding problems. Motor industry giant Toyota will get US$2 billion of the initial US$5 billion taken from reserves.

The move is needed because even the state-owned Japan Bank for International Cooperation (JBIC,) which was earlier designated to make emergency aid available to stressed companies, is itself having trouble raising foreign currency.
'Taking into account the current severe conditions for those trying to procure foreign funds, we have decided to lend foreign currencies to JBIC as a temporary, extraordinary measure' if it has difficulty raising foreign currency from the markets, Finance Minister Kaoru Yosano said yesterday.
Japan has been conservative up to now in the use of its US$1 trillion foreign exchange reserves - the world's second largest after China's - which are invested mainly in US Treasury securities.
The fact that it is prepared to dip into them to aid corporate Japan is a measure of how serious the global funding position has become. Loans made by JBIC using the reserves are expected to be extended up to the year 2010. Japanese companies operating overseas are having trouble raising foreign currency finance because of the virtual seizing-up of credit markets, with even the biggest of them, such as Toyota, unable to access funds, analysts say.
<SCRIPT language=javascript> <!-- // Check for Mac. var strAgent; var blnMac; strAgent = navigator.userAgent; strAgent.indexOf('Mac') > 0 ? blnMac = true:blnMac = false; if (blnMac == true) { document.write('
'); } //--> </SCRIPT><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=4 width=300 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top align=middle>
greenline.gif

adgrey.gif

<!-- AdSpace --><IFRAME marginWidth=0 marginHeight=0 src="http://ads.asia1.com.sg/html.ng/site=tbto&sec=btointhenews&cat1=bnews&cat2=btointhenewsart&size=300X250" frameBorder=0 width=300 scrolling=no height=250 bordercolor="#000000"><script language='JavaScript1.1' src='http://ads.asia1.com.sg/js.ng/Params.richmedia=yes&site=tbto&sec=btointhenews&cat1=bnews&cat2=btointhenewsart&size=300X250'></script><noscript> </noscript></IFRAME><!-- /AdSpace-->
greenline.gif
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>Toyota's financial service unit, Toyota Financial Services Corp, said yesterday it was seeking a loan from the government to help it shore up its finances. Toyota's European unit is, meanwhile, preparing to submit a funding request to the European Investment Bank to finance research and development into clean technology.
Domestically too, many Japanese firms are having trouble funding their operations because banks are reluctant to lend at a time when their own balance sheets are damaged by the falling value of shares they hold.
With this in mind, the Finance Ministry also announced yesterday that it will raise the ceiling on JBIC's yen-denominated lending by 50 per cent to 1.2 trillion yen (S$19 billion). At the same time, lending by another state agency, the Japan Development Bank, to large and medium-size corporations will be increased by 50 per cent to 1.5 trillion yen.
The authorities are trying a number of unconventional approaches to help ease the strain on Japanese companies, financial institutions and on the stock market.
The Bank of Japan (BOJ) has promised to buy up to one trillion yen of stocks from Japanese banks to help ease their balance sheets strains and to shore up their capital. BOJ is also under pressure from the government to buy exchange traded funds on Tokyo stocks to help shore up share prices in general.
Another recent example of Japan's growing flexibility in the use of its official foreign exchange reserves was a US$100 billion loan by Tokyo to the International Monetary Fund to help support the fund's operations.
This was in line with Japan's cautious approach, however, since the IMF bears the credit risk on any loans made using the Japanese funds and Japan is protected against currency risk because such loans are denominated in IMF Special Drawing Rights, officials say.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

shelltox

Re: CB PAPee Use Reserves to Help Foreigners; Japan Help Japanese. This is the Differ

With our dwindling and grey population, the govt need foreigners to come in to beef up the CPF. If the present trend continues , our population growth would become a inverted pyramid.
The Chinese and Indians PR are sustaining the price of the HDB flat and our property market (the non landed ones).

Re: CB PAPee Use Reserves to Help Foreigners; Japan Help Japanese. This is the Differ

With our dwindling and grey population, the govt need foreigners to come in to beef up the CPF. If the present trend continues , our population growth would become a inverted pyramid.
The Chinese and Indians PR are sustaining the price of the HDB flat and our property market (the non landed ones).

How? By replacing the Pink ICers, axing them and driving them to default on their bee hive loans while still recalling for ICT? The real motive is that the Familee is to make use of FTrash to perpetuate their power!

congo9

Yes , beefing up the population. oh yes of course. But at what cost ?

But what kind of talent does Singapore attract now ? If a population with less then 3 million can generate the kind of money that GIC and GLC ( may be S$500 billion combined in 40 yrs) to play santa claus with , i think we are obviously attracting the wrong kind of ppl to stay in Singapore. We need real talented ppl to add value to this place. Not just someone who can just command lower salary from other country. These are not talent obviously, they are call "ECONOMIC MIGRANT".

The truth is that the cost of living and sustaiining and running of this country has risen to a unacceptable and unreasonable level. You and i know who are the main culprit.

Like the price of a HDB flat. Imagine the price of a public housing in Singapore can buy you a free hold Terrace in Malaysia (999yrs). You know how over price is this so call PUBLIC HOUSING. The best thing is that you are only paying for the lease in advance for the 99 yr old flat. You are only the leasee and you don own the flat. The landlord is HDB.

In the 1st place , why do we need to TOP up the population from other 3rd world country ? Is the stoop at 2 population too successful ? Is the cost of living so high that couples are not willing to have more ?

mscitw

Ha ha, the regime loves foreign banks so much that Old Autocrat says it will stand by them for 10 years if necessary!

Joker!

51 billion is no big sum, you can build 10 MRT lines, maybe one to Pulau Ubin or build 10 Intergrated Resorts all over the island!

The regime rather burn the 51 billion dollars then look after old peasants, telling younger peasants to send them to JB!

ha ha ha, woe woe woe singapore!

funglung

Ha ha, the regime loves foreign banks so much that Old Autocrat says it will stand by them for 10 years if necessary!

Joker!

51 billion is no big sum, you can build 10 MRT lines, maybe one to Pulau Ubin or build 10 Intergrated Resorts all over the island!

The regime rather burn the 51 billion dollars then look after old peasants, telling younger peasants to send them to JB!

ha ha ha, woe woe woe singapore!

You getting what you getting because you got no balls

Sinkies got no balls
You all dare not stand with those that tried to speak for you.
You all dare not give money to them so that they can work for you.
You all dare not support them publicly so that they can speak for you.

You all turn your backs on those that spoke out bravely against LKY
LKY hit out at those who tried to speak for you with his kangaroo courts
You turn your backs and not support them with money and courage.

You let them be beaten and bankrupted because you all have no balls

Why complain now?

Your 400-500++ billions sucked and bled into LKY Temasick and GIC

And even more billions are currently sucked and bled so that LKY can use those money to bastardised and pay his kangaroo courts and running dogs to bleed even more billions from you in future

You got what you all deserved
for your lack of balls

FIND YOUR BALLS TO PUT AN END TO LKY

or open your legs to be further screwed by him