• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Cancer shock, then long wait for specialist

MarrickG

ST Forum

MY FATHER, who is 75 years old, was referred to Ang Mo Kio Polyclinic on June21 by a general practitioner as he had a lump in his throat.

Without performing any necessary test, the attending doctor informed my father that he had cancer.

My father was shocked and devastated. He was then referred to Tan Tock Seng Hospital to consult a specialist but the earliest date he was given was two months later.

How could such a situation happen?

An elderly patient is told he has a terminal disease and then finds out he has no choice but to wait for two months to consult a specialist.

I am upset about the polyclinic doctor's insensitivity. He should not have told an elderly patient directly that he had cancer without having conducted a test.

A doctor ought to be prudent and not indifferent while treating a patient.

What would have happened if my father, who was alone, had been unable to handle the shock of being told he had a terminal illness?

He broke the news to me only a few days later. He was traumatised and depressed while waiting to consult the specialist at Tan Tock Seng Hospital.

Why did the doctor behave as he did and why does my father have to wait two months to consult a specialist?

Pauline Low (Madam)

http://forums.asiaone.com/showthread.php?t=40878

cooleo

Doctors are supposed to give the hard truth which might be hard to swallow for some

The hard tooth is you have money, power & connection, you can even get an Airbus 380 at your disposal ( formerly Jumbo 747), to fetch the patient to USA for the best cancer treatment. Less mortals, wait to be cremeated.

cooleo

The hard tooth is you have money, power & connection, you can even get an Airbus 380 at your disposal ( formerly Jumbo 747), to fetch the patient to USA for the best cancer treatment. Less mortals, wait to be cremeated.

Isn't that an incentive for u to work hard or suck someone's balls to earn money? Darwin's theory of evolution. Weak ones die off to be replaced by strong ones.

No, it is an incentive for me to work to be an 'EMPEROR" also!

In London a certain old man's wife wife even got to jump queue:eek:

It's not Sporean, eh ... I mean cricket to jump queue:smile:

karmabear

Thanks to LKY predisposition towards tekan-ning the local singaporeans, all of us have learnt to be very callous to our fellow citizens. We call it the HARD TRUTHS!!! Next time when you are interviewing potential job seekers or have local singaporeans, always make sure to tekan them. Give them the HARD TRUTH!!!

Foreign talents, we have to make sure we suck up to them. Even if they are your employee, you must give them welfare. Every morning greet them warmly, pour them tea. Let them have 2 hour lunch break....

:oIo::oIo::oIo:

HellAngel

Have money then cut queue. That is the Singapore medical system.

When one of my parent was diagnosed with cancer, the next appointment given for the specialist was 2 days away. After the specialist, the next day was the operation. No need to wait for weeks.

The cancer is probably just a unverified assessment and not confirmed as there was no test conducted.

cooleo

5374831944_9b90e142a7.jpg

images

"Haha....you guys can't take the hard truth?"

Because of he private Jumbo jet. More Singaporean curse her to leave early if not more cost will be added because they might use A380 if happen now.

lianbeng

ST Forum

What would have happened if my father, who was alone, had been unable to handle the shock of being told he had a terminal illness?

He broke the news to me only a few days later. He was traumatised and depressed while waiting to consult the specialist at Tan Tock Seng Hospital.

Why did the doctor behave as he did and why does my father have to wait two months to consult a specialist?

Pauline Low (Madam)

http://forums.asiaone.com/showthread.php?t=40878

lianbeng besides sympathizing with Mdm Pauline Low, would also like to say, "pls join the Q coz there are many other people just like ur father in the waiting list. Q numbers may not be called in sequence.":biggrin:

Going off topic a bite.

I saw a new sign sign above Tan Tock Seng Hospital , it said Asia Hotel.

Is this this hotel now open? Is the hotel owned by the Tan Tock Seng Group & is it targeting medical tourists?

Excuse me, Ex-minister Cow has already say that cancer patients are very understanding. So, this old man better donch rock the boat, and better change his attitude to more understanding. Understand?

Health minister says touched by understanding of two cancer patients Channel NewsAsia - Monday, November 23Send IM Story Print

Health minister says touched by understanding of two cancer patients
SINGAPORE: Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan says he is touched by the generosity and understanding of the two cancer patients at KK Women’s and Children’s Hospital despite being affected by a drug blunder.

The incident happened earlier this month after two pharmacists at the hospital gave the two patients an overdose of chemotherapy drugs.

Mr Khaw, who wrote on his Ministry’s blog, says he is relieved one patient, Mrs Yip Poh Hung, is making good progress and that doctors expect to have her discharged soon.

Another patient has since recovered and is able to return home.

Mr Khaw also commended the reaction of the Yip family.

Mrs Yip’s husband had said the pharmacists who made the mistake should be penalised, but not to the extent of being fired or ostracised.

Mr Yip also reminded his wife that mistakes do occur and added that there had been no malice. Eventually, Mrs Yip forgave the pharmacists for their error.

Mr Khaw added that KKH and other hospitals will learn from this episode.

Mr Khaw also said that when mistakes are made, those involved should readily admit them and learn from them so that they are not repeated.

Agoraphobic

Cancer shock????????

All of us have cancer cells in us. You can wait in line to be killed by chemo, or you can do something about it on your own.

Go talk to the people at Kampung Senang.

Even if you die, you won't be wasting your money to "professionals" like Dr. Susan Lim.

Good luck.

exobay

It is not unusual to have to wait for 1 - 2 months to see the specialist in Singapore. With money one can visi any specialist but due to the over influx of residents population of 5 million, they cannot cope.

If you have money you can always shop around for hospitals in Malaysia & Thailand.

Even if you're not rich you will probably find a better deal outside of Spore.

Going off topic a bite.

I saw a new sign sign above Tan Tock Seng Hospital , it said Asia Hotel.

Is this this hotel now open? Is the hotel owned by the Tan Tock Seng Group & is it targeting medical tourists?

ASIA HOTEL? wasn't this hotel hotel at Stevens Rd now gone?, you sure didn't take too many of Diazepam that you are having visions?:biggrin:

I know that years ago there used to be a YMCA & Hotel Equatorial near the Bukit Timah/Stevens Rd junction. Don't remember seeing an Asia Hotel?

Maybe you mean Hotel Asia which is on Scotts Rd?

If your on Thomson Rd heading towards KK hospital, just after Novena Church, you can see the big "Asia Hotel" sign on the rooftop around the Tan Tock Seng buildings. From the distance I couldn't tell which building or if it was open yet.

There's alot of construction going on there. Looks like Tan Tock Seng is going into property development:eek:

Scotts Road lah bro, not Stevens Road.
U suffering from parallex error isit? :biggrin: