• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Can Someone Ask This FAPee Paper General What Are We Defending? Familee? FTrash?

GE: Cutting defence spending "populist", says Tan Chuan Jin
By Hetty Musfirah | Posted: 02 May 2011 2208 hrs <LINK rel=image_src href="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/imagegallery/store/phpvIDHIb.jpg">
<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=260 align=right><TBODY><TR><TD width=20 align=right></TD><TD width=240 align=right>
phpvIDHIb.jpg
</TD></TR><TR><TD height=60 vAlign=top></TD><TD class=update height=80 vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=138>Photos </TD><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=47>1 of 1</TD><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=18><INPUT id=btnPrev disabled value="<< Previous" src="/images/butt_previous.gif" width=18 height=15 type=image></TD><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=19><INPUT id=bntPlay value="Play - Stop" src="/images/butt_stop.gif" width=19 height=15 type=image></TD><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=18><INPUT id=btnNext disabled value=" Next >> " src="/images/butt_next.gif" width=18 height=15 type=image></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
dotline_240.gif

Brigadier-General (NS) Tan Chuan Jin (R)</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD class=update></TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD><TABLE style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #cccccc" border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=240><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width="100%"><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #ffffff"><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD bgColor=#cccccc vAlign=top>
shim.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top>Special Report </TD></TR><TR><TD bgColor=#cccccc vAlign=top>
shim.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top align=left><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=subheader vAlign=top width="4%">•</TD><TD class=bodytext width="96%">Vote 2011 </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><!-- for Facebook Like function --><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=510><TBODY><TR><TD colSpan=4><HR align=left color=#dddddd SIZE=1 width=510></TD></TR><TR><TD height=30 vAlign=middle width=510 colSpan=4><?xml:namespace prefix = fb ns = "http://www.facebook.com/2008/fbml" /><fb:like class="fb_like fb_edge_widget_with_comment fb_iframe_widget" action="recommend" href="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1126334/1/.html" layout="standard" show_faces="false" width="510"><IFRAME style="BORDER-BOTTOM: medium none; BORDER-LEFT: medium none; WIDTH: 510px; HEIGHT: 22px; BORDER-TOP: medium none; BORDER-RIGHT: medium none" id=f3a67f96042bd8 class=fb_ltr title="Like this content on Facebook." src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?action=recommend&api_key=113370852059819&channel_url=http%3A%2F%2Fstatic.ak.fbcdn.net%2Fconnect%2Fxd_proxy.php%3Fversion%3D0%23cb%3Df16635739d0d74f%26origin%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.channelnewsasia.com%252Fff18bf7a8ff9df%26relation%3Dparent.parent%26transport%3Dflash&href=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.channelnewsasia.com%2Fstories%2Fsingaporelocalnews%2Fview%2F1126334%2F1%2F.html&layout=standard&locale=en_US&node_type=1&sdk=joey&show_faces=false&width=510" frameBorder=0 allowTransparency name=f335700e42a0166 scrolling=no></IFRAME></fb:like></TD></TR><TR><TD colSpan=4><HR align=left color=#dddddd SIZE=1 width=510></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

SINGAPORE: The People's Action Party (PAP) candidate for Marine Parade Group Representation Constituency (GRC) Tan Chuan Jin said the National Solidarity Party's (NSP) suggestions to cut defence spending are populist in nature.

Brigadier-General Tan said the army plays a very important role and that Singapore cannot afford to build an army overnight should a crisis arise.

Brig-Gen Tan has served in the Singapore Armed Forces for nearly 24 years.

"You cannot be definitive that peace will continue forever. If something arises, you cannot build an army overnight," he said.

"What's actually surprising, in spite of what is clear, (is that) they throw this card out, to say 'oh, let's cut the budget, let's cut the army size'

"This is popular and sometimes they will cite places like Taiwan and Europe. But the circumstances are very different (here).

"For our needs, I think it's quite clear that the army is a very critical component as with the air-force and navy.

"They come up with a lot of calculations. Frankly, it does not hold water and certainly goes against the conventional wisdom of what we have learnt in the past.

"So I think that, to me, shows, the length at which they are prepared to go just to get into Parliament, to throw out popular options, be it in the economic side of the house or in this case ,in national security, which I think is important to highlight.

Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong, who was on the walkabout with Brig-Gen Tan, posed a challenge to the NSP to give details and show the consequences of their suggestions.

Mr Goh said the pool of men for national service is shrinking due to the declining birth rate.

"Reduce the army to what size? Please tell me. (If) you say reduce it by 100 men, that's no problem; (if) you say reduce by half, then that's a problem," Mr Goh said.

-CNA/wk

GE: NSP says National Service duration can be reduced
By Satish Cheney | Posted: 02 May 2011 1828 hrs <LINK rel=image_src href="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/imagegallery/store/phpZxShZB.jpg">
<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=260 align=right><TBODY><TR><TD width=20 align=right></TD><TD width=240 align=right>
phpZxShZB.jpg
</TD></TR><TR><TD height=60 vAlign=top></TD><TD class=update height=80 vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=138>Photos </TD><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=47>1 of 1</TD><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=18><INPUT id=btnPrev disabled value="<< Previous" src="/images/butt_previous.gif" width=18 height=15 type=image></TD><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=19><INPUT id=bntPlay value="Play - Stop" src="/images/butt_stop.gif" width=19 height=15 type=image></TD><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=18><INPUT id=btnNext disabled value=" Next >> " src="/images/butt_next.gif" width=18 height=15 type=image></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
dotline_240.gif

Spencer Ng Chung Hon</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD class=update></TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD><TABLE style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #cccccc" border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=240><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width="100%"><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #ffffff"><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=topic vAlign=top>Video </TD></TR><TR><TD bgColor=#cccccc vAlign=top>
shim.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top align=left><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width="40%" align=left>
</TD><TD class=bodytext vAlign=top width="60%" align=left>GE: NSP says National Service duration can be reduced</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top background=/images/dotline_240.gif align=left>
shim.gif
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><!-- for Facebook Like function --><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=510><TBODY><TR><TD colSpan=4><HR align=left color=#dddddd SIZE=1 width=510></TD></TR><TR><TD height=30 vAlign=middle width=510 colSpan=4><?xml:namespace prefix = fb ns = "http://www.facebook.com/2008/fbml" /><fb:like class="fb_like fb_edge_widget_with_comment fb_iframe_widget" action="recommend" href="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1126298/1/.html" layout="standard" show_faces="false" width="510"><IFRAME style="BORDER-BOTTOM: medium none; BORDER-LEFT: medium none; WIDTH: 510px; HEIGHT: 22px; BORDER-TOP: medium none; BORDER-RIGHT: medium none" id=f167007091641b8 class=fb_ltr title="Like this content on Facebook." src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?action=recommend&api_key=113370852059819&channel_url=http%3A%2F%2Fstatic.ak.fbcdn.net%2Fconnect%2Fxd_proxy.php%3Fversion%3D0%23cb%3Df3c1d276b66724a%26origin%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.channelnewsasia.com%252Ff231450658ad144%26relation%3Dparent.parent%26transport%3Dflash&href=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.channelnewsasia.com%2Fstories%2Fsingaporelocalnews%2Fview%2F1126298%2F1%2F.html&layout=standard&locale=en_US&node_type=1&sdk=joey&show_faces=false&width=510" frameBorder=0 allowTransparency name=f3c2625855219e scrolling=no></IFRAME></fb:like></TD></TR><TR><TD colSpan=4><HR align=left color=#dddddd SIZE=1 width=510></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

SINGAPORE: The National Solidarity Party's candidate for Marine Parade GRC, Mr Spencer Ng said its possible to achieve a balance between having a strong defence and saving money for welfare.

He was responding to comments by the PAP team in Marine Parade, which questioned the NSP's plans, to cut the duration of National Service.

The NSP's proposals drew fire from both Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong and new PAP candidate - Brigadier General Tan Chuan-Jin.

But Mr Ng said National Service can be accomplished within one and a half years - training can be shorter and more efficient.

He said compared to Taiwan, Singapore faces fewer threats but has a longer training duration.

"They are facing a big threat, as they put it, from mainland China, so obviously we are facing lesser threats or lesser danger when compared to our counterparts in Taiwan."

On cutting defence spending, Mr Ng said the NSP is not suggesting that quality be compromised.

"We should not neglect the quality of equipment we purchase as well as the value of training that we can provide to ensure they are operationally ready.

"But at the same time we need to ensure the defence budget will not be too heavy, or rather, place a heavy burden on the rest of the economy."

As for the party's plans for Marine Parade, Mr Ng said they can be found in the party's manifesto.

Most touch on national issues such as discounts for first time buyers of new HDB flats, as well as giving priority to Singaporeans when it comes to jobs.

He said these plans also benefit residents in Marine Parade, where his team's keen on getting the elderly and youth together through activities within Marine Parade GRC.

The NSP team met residents at a hawker centre in the GRC Monday morning.

Many netizens have commented that NSP stands for 'Nicole Seah Party' but the 24-year-old said the NSP is more than just her.

Ms Seah said: "We must also remember that the NSP is all about teamwork."

"You have someone engaging the younger Singaporeans and you have someone who's more savvy with the media such as myself, but you also have a lot of people who are interested in the events and the logistics portion, people who will help out with the campaign strategy.

"There are many different areas that everyone can contribute, and that's how we synergise and bring our talents together to the table." <!-- Zone Tag : Channel News asia In Text <script type="text/javascript"> innity_pub = "66368270ffd51418ec58bd793f2d9b1b"; innity_zone = "12251"; innity_width = "**"; innity_height = "**"; innity_country = "SG"; </script> <script type="text/javascript" src="http://cdn.innity.com/network.js"></script>-->

ivebert

Nicole Seah Party

Haha

How can Sinkies count on a 24 year old?

Another stupid GMS plot

steffychun

GE: Cutting defence spending "populist", says Tan Chuan Jin
By Hetty Musfirah | Posted: 02 May 2011 2208 hrs <LINK rel=image_src href="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/imagegallery/store/phpvIDHIb.jpg">
phpvIDHIb.jpg
dotline_240.gif

Brigadier-General (NS) Tan Chuan Jin (R)</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD class=update></TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD><TABLE style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #cccccc" border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=240><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width="100%"><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #ffffff"><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD bgColor=#cccccc vAlign=top>
shim.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top>Special Report </TD></TR><TR><TD bgColor=#cccccc vAlign=top>
shim.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top align=left><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=subheader vAlign=top width="4%">•</TD><TD class=bodytext width="96%">Vote 2011 </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><!-- for Facebook Like function --><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=510><TBODY><TR><TD colSpan=4><HR align=left color=#dddddd SIZE=1 width=510></TD></TR><TR><TD height=30 vAlign=middle width=510 colSpan=4><?xml:namespace prefix = fb ns = "http://www.facebook.com/2008/fbml" /><fb:like class="fb_like fb_edge_widget_with_comment fb_iframe_widget" action="recommend" href="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1126334/1/.html" layout="standard" show_faces="false" width="510"><IFRAME style="BORDER-BOTTOM: medium none; BORDER-LEFT: medium none; WIDTH: 510px; HEIGHT: 22px; BORDER-TOP: medium none; BORDER-RIGHT: medium none" id=f3a67f96042bd8 class=fb_ltr title="Like this content on Facebook." src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?action=recommend&api_key=113370852059819&channel_url=http%3A%2F%2Fstatic.ak.fbcdn.net%2Fconnect%2Fxd_proxy.php%3Fversion%3D0%23cb%3Df16635739d0d74f%26origin%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.channelnewsasia.com%252Fff18bf7a8ff9df%26relation%3Dparent.parent%26transport%3Dflash&href=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.channelnewsasia.com%2Fstories%2Fsingaporelocalnews%2Fview%2F1126334%2F1%2F.html&layout=standard&locale=en_US&node_type=1&sdk=joey&show_faces=false&width=510" frameBorder=0 allowTransparency name=f335700e42a0166 scrolling=no></IFRAME></fb:like></TD></TR><TR><TD colSpan=4><HR align=left color=#dddddd SIZE=1 width=510></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

SINGAPORE: The People's Action Party (PAP) candidate for Marine Parade Group Representation Constituency (GRC) Tan Chuan Jin said the National Solidarity Party's (NSP) suggestions to cut defence spending are populist in nature.

Brigadier-General Tan said the army plays a very important role and that Singapore cannot afford to build an army overnight should a crisis arise.

Brig-Gen Tan has served in the Singapore Armed Forces for nearly 24 years.

"You cannot be definitive that peace will continue forever. If something arises, you cannot build an army overnight," he said.

"What's actually surprising, in spite of what is clear, (is that) they throw this card out, to say 'oh, let's cut the budget, let's cut the army size'

"This is popular and sometimes they will cite places like Taiwan and Europe. But the circumstances are very different (here).

"For our needs, I think it's quite clear that the army is a very critical component as with the air-force and navy.

"They come up with a lot of calculations. Frankly, it does not hold water and certainly goes against the conventional wisdom of what we have learnt in the past.

"So I think that, to me, shows, the length at which they are prepared to go just to get into Parliament, to throw out popular options, be it in the economic side of the house or in this case ,in national security, which I think is important to highlight.

Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong, who was on the walkabout with Brig-Gen Tan, posed a challenge to the NSP to give details and show the consequences of their suggestions.

Mr Goh said the pool of men for national service is shrinking due to the declining birth rate.

"Reduce the army to what size? Please tell me. (If) you say reduce it by 100 men, that's no problem; (if) you say reduce by half, then that's a problem," Mr Goh said.

-CNA/wk

Even Robert Gates is disbanding one US Fleet. Please tell me Goh, is that a problem?

http://www.navytimes.com/news/2011/01/navy-defense-cuts-6000-sailors-back-to-sea-010611w/