• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Buskers Or Beggars

I actually like buskers, because the talented ones do liven up the environment. But they shouldn't block the way and most importantly of all, they should be talented.
Some self professed buskers sing and play their musical instruments so badly that they end up causing a lot of noise and become a real irritant to passers by.
If they don't have talent, they shouldn't claim to be buskers. It would be better if they stopped what they were doing and simply begged.

As for beggars, if they don't block the way or approach people, they should be allowed to operate, even if it's against the law. But foreigners should go back to their own countries to beg.

chinkangkor

For those who are jobless and have no more savings, if they are not able to borrow any $$$ from friends/relatives and still don't beg, they will die of starvation in affluent S'pore.

That's why I don't mind if they beg.
But if they don't have talent, please don't become a busker.

splintuh

But foreigners should go back to their own countries to beg.

Fully agreed. Charity begins at home.

Those professional beggars from China should be rounded up and shot. They're just taking up precious space, and conning money out of soft-hearted people.

Perspective

I actually like buskers, because the talented ones do liven up the environment. But they shouldn't block the way and most importantly of all, they should be talented.
Some self professed buskers sing and play their musical instruments so badly that they end up causing a lot of noise and become a real irritant to passers by.
If they don't have talent, they shouldn't claim to be buskers. It would be better if they stopped what they were doing and simply begged.

As for beggars, if they don't block the way or approach people, they should be allowed to operate, even if it's against the law. But foreigners should go back to their own countries to beg.

Did you encounter any untalented buskers?

As far as I know, buskers need to go through certain tests because of the limited number of licenses.

batman1

In bad times ,give the people a chance to survive,now u can see more people selling tissue papers and ball-point pens in markets and foodcourts.
Have a kind heart,please give people a chance,they are only trying to survive on a daily basis.Please remember,Nobody help them.The MIW talk only but no action.The MIW always monitoring the situation of the poor and jobless and still monitoring....DO NO expect any help from the FAT CATS!

allanlee

As far as I know, buskers need to go through certain tests because of the limited number of licenses.

Need to pay $$$ to take the test and some buskers just dun have the $$$ to pay for it.....:(

Anyway it isn't tat difficult to figure out who is the real busker and who is the fraudster.

Oh yes, I have, especially those that play wind instruments, or more correctly, can't play but try to. Very irritating.

VIBGYOR

if you dunno how to play an instrument, it's better that you beg, one beggar at KuanYin Temple at Rochor rakes in about S$4K per day taxfree....see bay hor seng yi man...lol..

just work for a day and can rest for the entire month...lol...

so who wants to put down their dignity?

I have heard of this old lady who sells tissue paper on the streets at exorbitant prices. Some of us would think this is ok, some would not, like our old friend applei from sam's old delphi forum.
This old lady would ask in a pitiful voice "uncle, aunty, xiao di, xiao mei, bang bang mang".
Still ok so far for most, I would think.
But then later in the day, she would go to cinema halls and put her legs up on the seat in front of her. When asked to put them down, she would scream and shout at the person asking her politely. Not sure if she even paid for the ticket or not.
Do you think this old lady deserves any sympathy? Do you think she is despicable?

ahbengsong

I actually like buskers, because the talented ones do liven up the environment. But they shouldn't block the way and most importantly of all, they should be talented.Some self professed buskers sing and play their musical instruments so badly that they end up causing a lot of noise and become a real irritant to passers by.

everyone should have a chance... talented or not.. to display their "art"... but it should be done at designated places... not randomly like now... by putting them together... it will also pressure the pap govt to perform in provding for its people.. imagine a field full of buskers.. real and fake.. that will be a slap in the face for the pap...

ahbengsong

In bad times ,give the people a chance to survive,now u can see more people selling tissue papers and ball-point pens in markets and foodcourts.
Have a kind heart,please give people a chance,they are only trying to survive on a daily basis.Please remember,Nobody help them.The MIW talk only but no action.The MIW always monitoring the situation of the poor and jobless and still monitoring....DO NO expect any help from the FAT CATS!

statistically... 66% of these people voted for pap... if only these people have the guts to vote against the pap.. maybe times will be better for the peasants...

Buskers are for me if they play can play their guitar and can sing :biggrin:

This busker really good at guitar and sings. You can find him performing at Maxwell Rd market on Thursday night and at Serangoon Garden on Sunday night. Get a coffee, worth sitting there.

Maybe because my heart kenna eaten, that why i never buy tissue or whatever nonsense they are trying to push. No money not my problem, so find CDC lah since govt say CDC good in helping people in need. Govt shd be responsible for it citizens.

As for Buskers, i will stop my steps and appreciate their music. If they are good enough, i will give a dollar or two after they finish the song to show my appreciation. I find it an insult to give money when ppl dont even stop to listen. They are not beggars but selling their "talent".