• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Build economical HDB public houses, donch need gold and diamond facade !

Tiu Kwang Yew

One block of HDB palaces usually build on small land right , people are living in a concrete space –small and hot also right.

HDB space is concrete space , you pay for common concrete space for life. Somemore so small space, and hot like fuck ! Got aircon but cannot tahan the bills.

Look at the new flats---wow, build until like condo -like houses, outside very nice !

HDB Outside looks very SWANKY (just learn new word ) , but got use or not becos you live inside not outside. Outside will go under sun and rain, and did you see any owners sleep at corridors or sleep under the water tank , in the pump room, or outside the window... ?

All these swanky façade are not practical, it serves the eyes only, no fucking use! And you pay for that you know ? Think about it, how stupid !

Public houses should construct in a practical way, big space, simple and neat façade , so easy maintenance , easy to paint,--------the main theme is get the space inside bigger so people can fuck and have more kids.
Most of all, if design is simple, price is very cheap-----3 room flat can sell at 50k right?

Think about it, what is point of good looking outside but fuck- up inside and yet pay for life.

If people like to see pretty things curving in and there, structures roll up and down , big pillars, etc……..got private condo units, they can pay a bomb if they like ….

HDB public houses should be built in simple way---square square, big inside, cheap cheap.

People never think, they pay and pay for life and never walk out of the HDB rut----no money to invest, to get rich you need to sell and buy something, you need money to grow.

So simple HDB houses is the practical way to live a happy life.

Chinese saying---dress so nice but pocket and bank empty !

Sinkapore is like that----dress up so nice but inside empty----not yet expose , soon cumming .

So if HDB build simple HDB flats, price go down a lot, no point selling hundreds of thousands per palace and people suffer.....

see for yourself, many new HDB houses are built so fucking nice outsdie, the cost to do that stupid things are killing the local sporns who want new flats.
Just for your eyes only, and you pay like fuck ! Worst than Geylang !

cheap labor and faster labor comes with cheap and faster flats

Facade is very important to historical buildings....

p62382-Jordan-Al-Khazna.jpg

And you talk like a pappy doggy. :D

Talking sensibly is a PAP doggy. Otherwise is support for the Opposition who will win seats in the next GE if people with less than a stellar record for moral righteousness will lead you to believe.:p

ur not the only one who noticed this ...

these things - said by my ex-PRC-colleagues ...

1) HDB flats look grand on the outside but are actually very drab inside ...

2) wow, singapore has alot of poor people ! (ie. pavement not paved with gold as the PAP + their own communist leaders would have them believe) ...

3) so troublesome to speak english ... s'pore is chinese majority, malays & indians ought to learn chinese !

i smiled to myself ... :rolleyes:

No matter what is built in Spore it will be VERY expensive because of the "subsidies" given to the PAP :rolleyes:

Well, this imperative subject has nothing to do whether you are on PAP skunks' side or oppo -party side.

Does PAP always need critics to help them along ? Then why PAP people are paid over the moon?

Any civil engineering students can tell you fanciful facade or building envelope will cost more than simple outside.

HDB houses are public houses and not a political tool.

Simple on the outside and spacious on the inside should be in a sound mind factoring the common man salary does not hike as what HDB is doing to its house price.

PAP skunks should think about it, because the mortgage lasts for a life time.

Public houses should construct in a practical way, big space, simple and neat façade , so easy maintenance , easy to paint,--------the main theme is get the space inside bigger so people can fuck and have more kids.
Most of all, if design is simple, price is very cheap-----3 room flat can sell at 50k right?

HDB houses are public houses and not a political tool.

Under the PAP has used "public" housing as a political instrument. Who can forget threats of turning opposition wards into ghettos? HDB has been also used as a cash cow to finance Temaseks gambling.

This is what happens when the country Spore is turned into the familee's Spore Inc or rather Spore Pte Ltd. So next time if you get the chance you can try to remove the familee from the equation by voting out the PAP.

However one has doubts whether the GE are fair or not :confused:

Even with exotic design, the cost of construction of 1 unit of PHole is around $20k - $40k. So the real reason for high prices is due to the sucking efficiency of the Papaya TRAITORs!

see for yourself, many new HDB houses are built so fucking nice outsdie, the cost to do that stupid things are killing the local sporns who want new flats.

HDB look butt ugly. Must be always designed by dumb farks 4-eyes .

relevant info for sinkies holed up in hdb flats...

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/property/3345478/On-the-level-safety-on-the-fault-line.html

Jeff Howell
Published: 12:01AM BST 19 Oct 2005

In a quake, most reinforced concrete buildings behave the same as conventional masonry buildings, writes Jeff Howell

The terrible scenes from the Asian earthquake are only too familiar, with thousands of people killed, chiefly by collapsing buildings. The question asked in the aftermath of such disasters is always why - in known earthquake zones - so many buildings are constructed in a way that makes them unable to withstand the shocks?

Masonry buildings (brick, concrete block, stone or earth walls) are held together by gravity, and with roofs and upper floors bearing on the walls it is no surprise that earth tremors should bring them down. What generally happens is that only a small sideways movement of the walls is enough to move them out from under the bearing ends of the floors, resulting in inevitable collapse. This type of structure is usually used only for houses and low-rise buildings, however. The major casualties in earthquakes most often occur in larger high-rise buildings made from reinforced concrete, and here the collapses are less forgivable.

The term "reinforced concrete" can give the impression that the concrete is somehow strengthened, but the function of the embedded steel reinforcement is actually less significant than that. Concrete is very strong in compression, but weak in tension, ie it can take high imposed loads, but it snaps easily if stretched or bent. So concrete walls, columns and floor slabs incorporate steel reinforcement bars (known in the trade as "rebars") to hold them together in the event that they are subjected to unusual bending forces. In normal circumstances, a well-designed concrete building is not affected by such forces, so the reinforcement sits inside the concrete, doing nothing in particular.

Most concrete buildings are made using a formwork of timber boards (called "shuttering") into which the wet concrete is poured. The steel reinforcement is first placed inside the empty shuttering, and the various horizontal and vertical members are tied together using twists of soft iron binding wire, which has hardly any strength, and can be twisted using bare fingers or small pliers. Its only function is to hold the steel rebars in position until the concrete is cast around them. When a section of wall is poured, the ends of the vertical rebars will be left protruding from the top of the shuttering, which will be removed later (or "struck") and moved up to take the next pour. The rebars for the higher section of wall will overlap the protruding ends of the section below, and be fastened to them using the iron binding wire. Concrete floor slabs and roofs will be made in the same way, using horizontal reinforcement which overlaps the vertical reinforcement inside the walls. Again, there is little that is physically holding together the different elements of the building, other than gravity, the natural friction of the overlapping pours of concrete, and a few twists of soft iron binding wire.

This is why, in an earthquake, most reinforced concrete buildings behave in exactly the same way as conventional masonry buildings, ie the walls move out sideways, the floor bearings are exposed, and the whole lot comes crashing down.

This could be easily guarded against during construction by the simple expedient of welding the rebars of the floor slabs to those of the walls. In earthquake zones in wealthy parts of the world - such as Japan and California - this practice is carried out as standard, and is rigorously enforced by building codes and officials. In poorer regions, however, rebar welding is often seen as an unnecessary extra expense, or perhaps even "overlooked" by corrupt officials. We have seen the results this past week, in terms of lives lost.

Buildings can be safe, or they can be cheap, but rarely both.

And you talk like a pappy doggy. :D

All talk craps...anyway!...question nobody ask, why bother with a facade?, when one work their head off, with their blood, sweat & tears...they do not even own the Housing Development Board flats..now known as aparments, a 'rose is a rose'....

They work off a 25 year loan, assuming you start at 28 , you work 25 years to pay that off...and by the time you reach 53, you have upgraded to, 'cleaning tables', and down graded to smaller or renting from the MIW's...one becomes unemployable...and every where you turn, FT PR's are buying up, what one, once could afford..and FT's takes over your job & you become the slaves to the FT..and the MIW's...you become a 3rd world worker, employed by a 3rd world immigrant...

So ask that question again, do you OWN THAT FLAT..or APARTMENT NOW..swanky or not!!!:mad: and some wise sage...says you have lost your 'spurs'....but even with spurs, you have lost that mare you once own...!!!

Buildings can be safe, or they can be cheap, but rarely both.

I suspect that HDB has designed obsolescence into those units. Why bother spending $$$ into those flats when they know they'll eventually demolished. They'll of course call it upgrading :rolleyes:

in their zeal to comply with their master's wishes, they had done relatively well in the early years when hordes from the slums needed to be housed in more sanitary conditions and land and material resources were harder to amass cheaply. but as time went on, supply chain improved, building tech progressed, and funds kept streaming in, instead of optimizing quality with quantity and speed, they came up with some of the most bizzarre ideas in architecture. remember those hanging walking corridors that only exist for 2 floors (5th floor and 10th floor) out of a 12-floor apartment block? residents on floors other than the two had to either climb to the 5th or 10th to access the puny lifts on those floors. that was worse than the worst slum block in the worst city in india, calcutta, where at least any apartment building with multiple stories had access to a lift on every floor. when they designed the flats, they had totally no regards for the very young, old, infirmed, handicapped, pregnant, injured and those who hate getting stuck in a maze. even the fit and young had to struggle to navigate the maze if they were new to the flats. they are minimalist morons, doing only the minimum with the lowest cost and quickest time so they can have long lunches and extremely long tea breaks talking shit about their love lives, piles, std's and affairs.

and how much you guys paid for that shit?