• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Budget 2009 - responds from some Greater Mortals.

R4g3

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/specialreport/news/404257_89/1/.html

MP for Ang Mo Kio GRC, Inderjit Singh, who is also the chairman of Government Parliamentary Committee for Finance and Trade & Industry, said: "We did not do enough in the area of cost reduction and this is a very urgent issue. "Freezing government charges alone was not sufficient. We could have reduced and also looked at other initiatives to help companies reduce their costs."

For Michael Palmer, MP for Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC, he said he "would have liked to see some rebate or suspension in GST for essential household items".

Labour chief Lim Swee Say said "We watched this Budget 2009 with a lot of anxiety. What came out from this Budget, in my view, far exceeded what we can expect from any government," said Mr Lim.

-----------------------------

Last time our SM Goh said "If you sing Jailhouse Rock with your electric guitar when others are playing Beethoven, you are out of order. The whip must be used on you."

so should the whip be used this time?

The_Latest_H

I think this budget, while adhering to basic Keynesian economics, is still a little too little, too late. Don't get me wrong but I believe beyond the surface, the finer details will no doubt dictate the effectiveness of this budget.

And as I said in a similar thread about the budget, since the government responded too slow- because Lehman Brothers crashed last September- and hasn't co-ordinated its efforts with other countries, the chances of it tricking down to the masses are small, and therefore inadequate.

And there are many more people who have been retrenched getting temp and contract jobs which pay less and demand more working hours. Its still doubtful, even with the rebates that they will have enough to pay for the bills. In some cases, a rebate that amounts to just a month is hardly enough at all.

... Last time our SM Goh said "If you sing Jailhouse Rock with your electric guitar when others are playing Beethoven, you are out of order. The whip must be used on you."

so should the whip be used this time?

ya ...

hit me wif ur best shot! ...
y dun u hit me wif ur best shot! ...
hit me wif ur best shot! ...
fire away! ...

<div style='padding:3px; border:1px solid #FF6600; border-bottom:0px; width:310px'><embed src='http://www.youtube.com/v/g4rPIjWqMRc&rel=1' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' wmode='transparent' width='310' height='259'></embed></div><embed src='http://widget.lyricsmode.com/i/scroll2.swf?lid=158282&speed=4' width='318' height='181' type='application/x-shockwave-flash'/></embed><br>​

denzuko1

Garment pays:

1 12% of first 2,500 income on behalf of employers --> into CPF, employers pay less.
2 20% rebate on income tax --> take less from the people
3 more GST rebate --> tax less from the people
4 More spending on re-training --> Employers need you at work because you need to work on more than 2 people jobs (from retrenched colleagues).

So how much of the 20.9Bil goes into your pocket? "0".

R4g3

Garment pays:

1 12% of first 2,500 income on behalf of employers --> into CPF, employers pay less.
2 20% rebate on income tax --> take less from the people
3 more GST rebate --> tax less from the people
4 More spending on re-training --> Employers need you at work because you need to work on more than 2 people jobs (from retrenched colleagues).

So how much of the 20.9Bil goes into your pocket? "0".

maybe it will take 56 man years to give you the answer.

Frankiestine

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/OaiSHcHM0PA&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/OaiSHcHM0PA&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

SHOW ME THE MONEY!!!!!!

DrPanacea

The greatest act of leadership this gahmen can show now is to take an 80% paycut. After all overpaid perm sec just lavish himelf and family with expensive French cooking, oops sorry....culinary course.

But are they so bold????