• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Breaking: PAP: Buy Sentosa Cove, get citizenship!

<!-- End Forumprop advertisement --><!-- Adspace: 3in1kopitiam Sched: 0 Server: WEB138 --><CENTER><SCRIPT language=JavaScript type=text/javascript> <!--HM_Array1 = [[120,"","","000099","FFFFFF","CCCCCC","CCCCFF","black","CCCCCC",0,0,0,1,0,0,"null","null",0,0],["E-Mail this Message","/n/mb/forward.asp?webtag=3in1kopitiam&Rptid=19224&t=1",1,0,0,1],["Ignore this Author","/n/mb/ignore.asp?webtag=3in1kopitiam&Rptid=19224&u=423912393",1,0,0,1],["Add to Friends","/n/mb/ignore.asp?webtag=3in1kopitiam&Rptid=19224&f=1&u=423912393",1,0,0,1],["Print Message","/n/mb/display.asp?webtag=3in1kopitiam&Rptid=19224&print=y",1,0,0,1],["Bookmark Page","javascript:window.external.AddFavorite('http://forums.delphiforums.com/3in1kopitiam/messages?msg=19224.1',ForumName + ' #19224.1')",1,0,0,1]]HM_Array2 = [[120,"","","000099","FFFFFF","CCCCCC","CCCCFF","black","CCCCCC",0,0,0,1,0,0,"null","null",0,0],["E-Mail this Message","/n/mb/forward.asp?webtag=3in1kopitiam&Rptid=19224&t=1",1,0,0,1],["Stop Ignoring this Author","/n/mb/neutral.asp?webtag=3in1kopitiam&Rptid=19224",1,0,0,1],["Print Message","/n/mb/display.asp?webtag=3in1kopitiam&Rptid=19224&print=y",1,0,0,1],["Bookmark Page","javascript:window.external.AddFavorite('http://forums.delphiforums.com/3in1kopitiam/messages?msg=19224.1',ForumName + ' #19224.1')",1,0,0,1]] //--></SCRIPT><SCRIPT language=JavaScript1.2 src="/n/mb/HM_Loader.js"></SCRIPT><SCRIPT language=JavaScript1.2 type=text/javascript src="/n/mb/HM_ScriptDOM.js"></SCRIPT><!--PreMsgHTML--><SCRIPT language=JavaScript> <!-- //Force spider-friendly orphans info framesetif (parent.location.href == self.location.href) {if ((location.pathname.indexOf("/messages/")>0)&&(location.pathname.indexOf("?")==-1)){var path = location.pathname;var urlArray = path.split('messages');var webtag = urlArray[0].replace("/", "");var msgID = urlArray[1].replace("/", "");msgID = msgID.replace("/", ".");var theURL = 'http:\/\/' + location.hostname + '\/' + webtag + 'messages/?msg=' + msgID;window.location.href = theURL;}}//Randomize ad positionvar ranUnrounded = Math.random()*3;var ranNumber = Math.round(ranUnrounded);if (ranNumber<1){ ranNumber = 1 }var adPosition = ranNumber;var adPosition2 = ranNumber + 5; //Honor disable_ads forum propvar disable_ads = 'n';disable_ads = disable_ads.toLowerCase();if ((disable_ads.indexOf("y")==0)||(disable_ads.indexOf("t")==0)||(disable_ads==1)){ var adPosition = 0; var adPosition2 = 0; } else { disable_ads = 'n'; }//--></SCRIPT><SCRIPT type=text/javascript> if(disable_ads == 'n'){ GA_googleAddSlot("ca-pub-2093616136278178", "DF_ROS_inline_BTF_1"); GA_googleAddSlot("ca-pub-2093616136278178", "DF_ROS_inline_BTF_2"); }</SCRIPT><SCRIPT type=text/javascript> if(disable_ads == 'n'){ GA_googleFetchAds();}</SCRIPT><!--/PreMsgHTML--><TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - PAP: Buy Sentosa Cove, get citizenship!</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>Lola (Langusta) <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>4:23 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 2) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>19224.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>
PAP is selling Singapore away by the square feet. What ARE you defending? Serve NS to protect foreign trash PARASITES who come here to steal our jobs, and help protect wealthy foreigners' expensive houses? http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Sg_Review/message/5994
Subscribe to Sg_Review yahoo group RSS feed: http://rss.groups.yahoo.com/group/Sg_Review/rss

17 Aug 2009

To: PM Lee Hsien Loong
To: MAS Chairman - Attn: SM Goh Chok Tong
cc: various

A website purportedly claims that the government has a MAS immigration scheme where an investor may qualify for PR via an investment scheme which includes the purchase of a "Sentosa Cove bungalow on Sentosa Island" (see link below).

If true, why must these investors be restricted to these Sentosa Cove bungalows?

Who benefits from such "enforced" demand of these bungalows? Correct me if I am wrong, but I believe many owners and developers (eg Ho Bee?) of such bungalows will stand to benefit if such "hotly demanded" properties are highly sought after by the rich and famous seeking PRs in Singapore.

Who are these bungalow owners? Are there ministers and their spouses/relatives, top civil servants and their spouses/relatives, seniors executives of TLCs?GLCs/stat boards and their spouses/relatives, etc.. owning these bungalows?

If so, why should such a government policy (if true) enrich these government officials and developers?

Rgds

===========================================================

http://www.bignews.biz/?id=810201&keys=Migration-emmigration-immigration-Residence
The Singapore government and the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS), in their quest to boost Singapore’s status as a centre for private banking and wealth management, set up a new investment scheme to get Singapore Permanent Residence. This scheme, the Financial Investor Scheme (FIS), is our third route for Singapore migration.

There are two types of financial commitments under the FIS for Singapore Permanent Residence.

• Option A: requires the applicant to place in Singapore at least SGD 5 million of financial assets with a financial institution regulated by the MAS.
• Option B: requires the applicant to hold at least SGD 3 million of assets and a Sentosa Cove bungalow on Sentosa Island.

Who is eligible?

An applicant should place in Singapore at least S$5 million worth of assets which is to be booked and managed by a financial institution that is regulated by the MAS. The assets should comprise of a financial asset of not less than S$ 3 million and amount which is not more than S$2 million in properties.

A financial asset can be any of the following:

(a) bank deposits;
(b) capital market products;
(c) collective investment schemes;
(d) premiums paid in respect of life insurance policies; and
(e) other investment products.

The eligible Singapore property is subject to foreign ownership restrictions under the Residential Properties Act. Only newly acquired property purchased within 6 months from the formal submission of the application can be included.

Applicants may include their immediate family members (spouse and unmarried children below 21 years old).

After residing as a PR in Singapore for 2 years, you may be eligible to apply for citizenship.

For more information, please visit http://www.rikvin.com

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></CENTER>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>19224.3 in reply to 19224.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - PAP: Buy Sentosa Cove, get citizenship!</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>Lola (Langusta) </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>4:23 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL </TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 2) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>19224.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>
PAP is selling Singapore away by the square feet. What ARE you defending? Serve NS to protect foreign trash PARASITES who come here to steal our jobs, and help protect wealthy foreigners' expensive houses? </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
TV2009081619134600.jpg

http://sg.finance.yahoo.com/q/bc?s=H13.SI&t=1d&l=on&z=m&q=l&c=
b

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

shelltox

I believe that in countries like new zealand and australia and of the western countries, if you are able to do capital investment of a specific amount citizenship are granted quite easily

This is not the point. The question why the specific requirement to buy a Sentosa Cove bungalow. Why are specific elites targetted to benefit from this scheme? How many PAPee-leelated individuals are invested in Sentosa Cove bungalows?

Why so blur?

Sentosa Cove was developed by a CCC chairman. The tender for the development was not not open and became a subject criticism by Auditor General. The Chap was prior to the tender was member of Sentosa Advisory committee related to the Island development and resigned shortly before the tender.

Everyone knows about other countries having investment schemes for migrants. Thats not the issue.

No wonder they have to bring in FTs, when locals can't even understand what they read. Common sense should have told you something odd with the complaint if the whole world has something similar.

Porfirio Rubirosa

bloody hell...if this is true...Chiam, LTK, Sylvia and Viswa please take note and ask GCT and Tharman to explain...but enough of 'Chip answers'...oh and CSJ try and take this up with Georgie on FB...

Perspective

Why so blur?

Sentosa Cove was developed by a CCC chairman. The tender for the development was not not open and became a subject criticism by Auditor General. The Chap was prior to the tender was member of Sentosa Advisory committee related to the Island development and resigned shortly before the tender.

Everyone knows about other countries having investment schemes for migrants. Thats not the issue.

No wonder they have to bring in FTs, when locals can't even understand what they read. Common sense should have told you something odd with the complaint if the whole world has something similar.

Sorry, so what's the issue here bro?

PR is cheap in singapore
they want to increase the number of PR
so that they can increase FT with working permit
because they calculate the number of work permit vs PR and sinkies

<!-- End Forumprop advertisement --><!-- Adspace: 3in1kopitiam Sched: 0 Server: WEB138 --><CENTER><SCRIPT language=JavaScript type=text/javascript> <!--HM_Array1 = [[120,"","","000099","FFFFFF","CCCCCC","CCCCFF","black","CCCCCC",0,0,0,1,0,0,"null","null",0,0],["E-Mail this Message","/n/mb/forward.asp?webtag=3in1kopitiam&Rptid=19224&t=1",1,0,0,1],["Ignore this Author","/n/mb/ignore.asp?webtag=3in1kopitiam&Rptid=19224&u=423912393",1,0,0,1],["Add to Friends","/n/mb/ignore.asp?webtag=3in1kopitiam&Rptid=19224&f=1&u=423912393",1,0,0,1],["Print Message","/n/mb/display.asp?webtag=3in1kopitiam&Rptid=19224&print=y",1,0,0,1],["Bookmark Page","javascript:window.external.AddFavorite('http://forums.delphiforums.com/3in1kopitiam/messages?msg=19224.1',ForumName + ' #19224.1')",1,0,0,1]]HM_Array2 = [[120,"","","000099","FFFFFF","CCCCCC","CCCCFF","black","CCCCCC",0,0,0,1,0,0,"null","null",0,0],["E-Mail this Message","/n/mb/forward.asp?webtag=3in1kopitiam&Rptid=19224&t=1",1,0,0,1],["Stop Ignoring this Author","/n/mb/neutral.asp?webtag=3in1kopitiam&Rptid=19224",1,0,0,1],["Print Message","/n/mb/display.asp?webtag=3in1kopitiam&Rptid=19224&print=y",1,0,0,1],["Bookmark Page","javascript:window.external.AddFavorite('http://forums.delphiforums.com/3in1kopitiam/messages?msg=19224.1',ForumName + ' #19224.1')",1,0,0,1]] //--></SCRIPT><SCRIPT language=JavaScript1.2 src="/n/mb/HM_Loader.js"></SCRIPT><SCRIPT language=JavaScript1.2 type=text/javascript src="/n/mb/HM_ScriptDOM.js"></SCRIPT><!--PreMsgHTML--><SCRIPT language=JavaScript> <!-- //Force spider-friendly orphans info framesetif (parent.location.href == self.location.href) {if ((location.pathname.indexOf("/messages/")>0)&&(location.pathname.indexOf("?")==-1)){var path = location.pathname;var urlArray = path.split('messages');var webtag = urlArray[0].replace("/", "");var msgID = urlArray[1].replace("/", "");msgID = msgID.replace("/", ".");var theURL = 'http:\/\/' + location.hostname + '\/' + webtag + 'messages/?msg=' + msgID;window.location.href = theURL;}}//Randomize ad positionvar ranUnrounded = Math.random()*3;var ranNumber = Math.round(ranUnrounded);if (ranNumber<1){ ranNumber = 1 }var adPosition = ranNumber;var adPosition2 = ranNumber + 5; //Honor disable_ads forum propvar disable_ads = 'n';disable_ads = disable_ads.toLowerCase();if ((disable_ads.indexOf("y")==0)||(disable_ads.indexOf("t")==0)||(disable_ads==1)){ var adPosition = 0; var adPosition2 = 0; } else { disable_ads = 'n'; }//--></SCRIPT><SCRIPT type=text/javascript> if(disable_ads == 'n'){ GA_googleAddSlot("ca-pub-2093616136278178", "DF_ROS_inline_BTF_1"); GA_googleAddSlot("ca-pub-2093616136278178", "DF_ROS_inline_BTF_2"); }</SCRIPT><SCRIPT type=text/javascript> if(disable_ads == 'n'){ GA_googleFetchAds();}</SCRIPT><!--/PreMsgHTML--><TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>Lola (Langusta) <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>4:23 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 2) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>19224.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>
PAP is selling Singapore away by the square feet. What ARE you defending? Serve NS to protect foreign trash PARASITES who come here to steal our jobs, and help protect wealthy foreigners' expensive houses? http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Sg_Review/message/5994
Subscribe to Sg_Review yahoo group RSS feed: http://rss.groups.yahoo.com/group/Sg_Review/rss

17 Aug 2009

To: PM Lee Hsien Loong
To: MAS Chairman - Attn: SM Goh Chok Tong
cc: various

A website purportedly claims that the government has a MAS immigration scheme where an investor may qualify for PR via an investment scheme which includes the purchase of a "Sentosa Cove bungalow on Sentosa Island" (see link below).

If true, why must these investors be restricted to these Sentosa Cove bungalows?

Who benefits from such "enforced" demand of these bungalows? Correct me if I am wrong, but I believe many owners and developers (eg Ho Bee?) of such bungalows will stand to benefit if such "hotly demanded" properties are highly sought after by the rich and famous seeking PRs in Singapore.

Who are these bungalow owners? Are there ministers and their spouses/relatives, top civil servants and their spouses/relatives, seniors executives of TLCs?GLCs/stat boards and their spouses/relatives, etc.. owning these bungalows?

If so, why should such a government policy (if true) enrich these government officials and developers?

Rgds

===========================================================

http://www.bignews.biz/?id=810201&keys=Migration-emmigration-immigration-Residence
The Singapore government and the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS), in their quest to boost Singapore’s status as a centre for private banking and wealth management, set up a new investment scheme to get Singapore Permanent Residence. This scheme, the Financial Investor Scheme (FIS), is our third route for Singapore migration.

There are two types of financial commitments under the FIS for Singapore Permanent Residence.

• Option A: requires the applicant to place in Singapore at least SGD 5 million of financial assets with a financial institution regulated by the MAS.
• Option B: requires the applicant to hold at least SGD 3 million of assets and a Sentosa Cove bungalow on Sentosa Island.

Who is eligible?

An applicant should place in Singapore at least S$5 million worth of assets which is to be booked and managed by a financial institution that is regulated by the MAS. The assets should comprise of a financial asset of not less than S$ 3 million and amount which is not more than S$2 million in properties.

A financial asset can be any of the following:

(a) bank deposits;
(b) capital market products;
(c) collective investment schemes;
(d) premiums paid in respect of life insurance policies; and
(e) other investment products.

The eligible Singapore property is subject to foreign ownership restrictions under the Residential Properties Act. Only newly acquired property purchased within 6 months from the formal submission of the application can be included.

Applicants may include their immediate family members (spouse and unmarried children below 21 years old).

After residing as a PR in Singapore for 2 years, you may be eligible to apply for citizenship.

For more information, please visit http://www.rikvin.com

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></CENTER>

angry_one

Actually the price of a SGP PR is more expensive than that of some western countries. Im not sure of the exact figures.... but canada allows you to be PR if you invest 400K into them. You must wait for your PR to be processed, though. And i think you get your money back after a certain number of years.

For SGP this price is in the millions, no?

HTOLAS

I went to an Aus property fair a while back because I was keen on investments and the possibility of a PR. I asked the agent if buying a property would improve my chances of getting PR. He adjusted himself, then said, 'I have to make this very clear so there can be no misunderstanding. NOT ONE BIT. Buying a property does not improve a foreigner's chance of getting PR in Aus.'

bryanlim1972

Why so blur?

you obviously can't read, the complaint is about being admitted as a citizen if one specifically buys a bungalow in sentosa cove + 3M.

don't dis your own fellow citizens... unless you think you're an elite and better than all of us? :confused:

Why so blur?

Scroobal, I think the point the poster is trying to make is not whether there was corruption in the tender process via the former committe member (of course, there is, u can trace that for decades starting with HDB developments). The poster is asking why specifically potential PRs are being ask to buy Sentosa Cove properties.

The answer is probably something simple like "Sentosa Cove is owned by the stat board Sentosa Development Corp, which is in turn owned by MOF. But since the units there have not been selling, and they need to recoup their investments, they just make their purchase one of the conditions for a route to S'pore PR" In other words, the Govt. is directly competing with private developers of luxury condos and bungalows that these rich immigrants would otherwise buy. Nothing new in S'pore.

Thats exactly my point. There should be a parliamentary board of inquiry into this. Its a shocker.

Scroobal, I think the point the poster is trying to make is not whether there was corruption in the tender process via the former committe member (of course, there is, u can trace that for decades starting with HDB developments). The poster is asking why specifically potential PRs are being ask to buy Sentosa Cove properties.

The answer is probably something simple like "Sentosa Cove is owned by the stat board Sentosa Development Corp, which is in turn owned by MOF. But since the units there have not been selling, and they need to recoup their investments, they just make their purchase one of the conditions for a route to S'pore PR" In other words, the Govt. is directly competing with private developers of luxury condos and bungalows that these rich immigrants would otherwise buy. Nothing new in S'pore.

When the auditor general expressed his displeasure and the timing of his resignation from the Sentosa post, I was already mad. Now this.

If they can hold a parliament query on HPL, this is much worse than that.

bloody hell...if this is true...Chiam, LTK, Sylvia and Viswa please take note and ask GCT and Tharman to explain...but enough of 'Chip answers'...oh and CSJ try and take this up with Georgie on FB...

You might one to sit out on this. Its a little hard to comprehend or to line up the dots. The picture is the clue.

you obviously can't read, the complaint is about being admitted as a citizen if one specifically buys a bungalow in sentosa cove + 3M.

don't dis your own fellow citizens... unless you think you're an elite and better than all of us? :confused:

Watchman

Those eager ones are those bootlickers stand-ins.

The sleeping ones are those whose position is secured !

Watchman

That is why Lee Kuan Yew stated that they cannot treat every race equal !

By that he meant to say that there will be preferential treatment for the rich !

That is why Lee Kuan Yew stated that they cannot treat every race equal !

By that he meant to say that there will be preferential treatment for the rich !

Anywhere you go the rich will get preferntial treatment.

However in this case, PAP & Co stand to gain & not the country or its citizens. :mad: