• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

BREAKING: ALL BEACHES In S'pore NOT SAFE For Swimming? School Holidays So Please Read

ahleebabasingaporethief

There have been too many drownings. Another one at East Coast yesterday.

Also incident where US nuclear submarine leaked nuclear waste in S'pore waters.

Let's examined the beaches concerned.

• East Coast Beach: Have anyone noticed how dirty the waters are. If you feet touches the bottom, it's sludge and not sand. Next time walk along the East Coast Parkway Beach and count the numbers of DRAIN pipes leading into the sea. You will be shocked, let alone want to swim there.
  • Pasir Ris Beach: Too close to nuclear leak area. Also Pasir Ris Beach have been closed for swimming because water there is deemed 'dirty' to the core? Nuclear core maybe? Too close to Johor where the factories also dump toxic waste. I won't even eat the fish there let alone swim?
  • Sentosa Beaches: How many beaches on Sentosa can one really swim in? Only the netted areas. Even those areas, once you step in the water, it is also SLUDGE at the bottom. Also, many poisionese Stone Fishes. Many drownings there as well owing to DANGEROUS under CURRENTS. May also be supernatural presence due to numerous Japanese massacre in WW2 resulting in island being called Pulau Balakang Mati or "The Island Of Death". Name was changed to Sentosa (Isle Of Peace) in early 70's for TOURISM purposes and also to appease the dead there.
  • Changi Beach: Very strong currents and also close to nuclear leak site. Bottom is filled with sharp rocks. Very choppy waters. Extremely dangerous even for strong swimmers. certain beaches there site of Japanese massacre in WW2.
  • West Coast: I would not even dare venture into the waters there let alone swim.
If anyone else can add on your experiences on the beaches and waters around our Island, please do so and be informative.

Funny how Sentosa is touted as 1st CLASS, World CLASS Living; but the 'poor' residents there don't have their own beaches to swim in.
Even though they are living close to the water's edge, they cannot swim there are as there are NO BEACHES but only large granite boulders leading into the sea.
Can you believe this? Can see but cannot touch. Very 'pitiful'. WORLD CLASS LIVING indeed.

scoobyhoo

Re: BREAKING: ALL BEACHES In S'pore NOT SAFE For Swimming? School Holidays So Please

Eventually, nothing is free for swimming now. Must swim at one of the paid-to-enter swimming pool.

Watchman

Re: BREAKING: ALL BEACHES In S'pore NOT SAFE For Swimming? School Holidays So Please

We are surrounded by thousands of Ships ! Imagine what they do in our waters !

cooleo

Safety aside, there is the question of the hygiene level of the beaches

Only stupid Sinkies will swim in dirty Sinkapore beaches. Pls la... go pay some money and go Bintan if u cannot afford Maldives!

antitrwatch

better to swim in own condo pool. :(

flyingdagger

there shld be more security at the beaches.

Katana

Teen feared drowned off East Coast

Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Nov 16, 2009
Teen feared drowned off East Coast <!--10 min-->
<!-- headline one : start --> <!-- headline one : end --> <!-- Author --> <!-- show image if available --> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr></tr> <tr> </tr> <tr> </tr> <tr><td colspan="2" class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold">By Sujin Thomas </td></tr> <tr valign="bottom"> <td width="330">
drowning-desmondlim.jpg

</td> <td width="10">
c.gif
</td> <td valign="bottom">
c.gif

The spot where he disappeared is near a bicycle kiosk around Marine Cove, a stretch which houses popular eateries such as fast-food chain McDonald's. -- ST PHOTO: DESMOND LIM
</td></tr> </tbody></table>
A TEENAGER who waded into a closed-off section of the sea off East Coast Park to retrieve a ball that was floating in the water is feared to have drowned last night. The Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF), navy divers as well as patrol boats from the Police Coast Guard and the Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore continued searching the sea late into the night, but did not find Mr Mohammed Nazim Ismail, 18. The spot where he disappeared is near a bicycle kiosk around Marine Cove, a stretch which houses popular eateries such as fast-food chain McDonald's. The stretch of beach is cordoned off with orange netting for repair works. About 50 family members, including the teen's mother, who was sobbing uncontrollably and had to be supported by relatives, kept vigil at the beach last night, praying that he would be found alive. Mr Mohammed Nazim was at the beach from about 2pm with a friend and the friend's family for a picnic, said the teenager's cousin. He went into the water to retrieve the white plastic ball but disappeared, the cousin said. The spot where he was last seen was near a breakwater, about 20m from the shore, said the SCDF.

cooleo

Re: Teen feared drowned off East Coast

Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Nov 16, 2009
Teen feared drowned off East Coast <!--10 min-->
<!-- headline one : start --> <!-- headline one : end --> <!-- Author --> <!-- show image if available --> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr></tr> <tr> </tr> <tr> </tr> <tr><td colspan="2" class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold">By Sujin Thomas </td></tr> <tr valign="bottom"> <td width="330">
drowning-desmondlim.jpg

</td> <td width="10">
c.gif
</td> <td valign="bottom">
c.gif

The spot where he disappeared is near a bicycle kiosk around Marine Cove, a stretch which houses popular eateries such as fast-food chain McDonald's. -- ST PHOTO: DESMOND LIM
</td></tr> </tbody></table>
A TEENAGER who waded into a closed-off section of the sea off East Coast Park to retrieve a ball that was floating in the water is feared to have drowned last night. The Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF), navy divers as well as patrol boats from the Police Coast Guard and the Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore continued searching the sea late into the night, but did not find Mr Mohammed Nazim Ismail, 18. The spot where he disappeared is near a bicycle kiosk around Marine Cove, a stretch which houses popular eateries such as fast-food chain McDonald's. The stretch of beach is cordoned off with orange netting for repair works. About 50 family members, including the teen's mother, who was sobbing uncontrollably and had to be supported by relatives, kept vigil at the beach last night, praying that he would be found alive. Mr Mohammed Nazim was at the beach from about 2pm with a friend and the friend's family for a picnic, said the teenager's cousin. He went into the water to retrieve the white plastic ball but disappeared, the cousin said. The spot where he was last seen was near a breakwater, about 20m from the shore, said the SCDF.

He died over a white plastic ball! :rolleyes:

singapore never have good beaches.

in fact, singapore beaches are created by singapore public services.

not real beaches by nature.

i seen real beaches at southern france and northern italy. boy, that is a zillion time better than singapore.

ahleebabasingaporethief

singapore never have good beaches.

in fact, singapore beaches are created by singapore public services.

not real beaches by nature.

i seen real beaches at southern france and northern italy. boy, that is a zillion time better than singapore.

No need to go to the obvious. Malaysia, thailand , Indonesia, Vietnam, Philippines, even HK have nice natural beaches which S'pore does not have.

Yet places like HK do not boast they are WORLD CLASS or 1st CLASS although we all know they are, and are ahead of S'pore in everyway, including food and services.

No need to go to the obvious. Malaysia, thailand , Indonesia, Vietnam, Philippines, even HK have nice natural beaches which S'pore does not have.

Yet places like HK do not boast they are WORLD CLASS or 1st CLASS although we all know they are, and are ahead of S'pore in everyway, including food and services.

sorry i dun like to go to third world countries for holiday. i work hard for money and like to spend good money on decent countries.
basically, Japan, USA or western Europe only. try not to shove third world slum to me. thank you.

cooleo

sorry i dun like to go to third world countries for holiday. i work hard for money and like to spend good money on decent countries.
basically, Japan, USA or western Europe only. try not to shove third world slum to me. thank you.

Haha looks like u think in a narrow way. U try staying at Banyan Tree at Bintan before?

Go faraway countries doesn't necessarily mean class hor!