• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Boy genius, 9, has passed two 'O' levels

metalslug

http://www.asiaone.com/News/Education/Story/A1Story20090723-156687.html

Fri, Jul 24, 2009
AsiaOne

20090723.184701_ainan_zb.jpg

Boy genius, 9, has passed two 'O' levels

Singaporean child prodigy Ainan Celeste Cawley is the record holder for the youngest person to obtain an 'O' level certificate when he passed the chemistry examination at age seven.

Now nine, he has added the physics 'O' level certificate to his achievements.

Lianhe Wanbao reported that Ainan, son of British writer Valentine Cawley and Singaporean mother, Syahadah Cawley has had a passion and talent for chemistry since young.

After passing the chemistry 'O' level, his parents enrolled him in chemistry practical classes at Singapore Polytechnic where he could explore his interest further.

His fascination with chemistry led to an interest in physics and his father started teaching him physics at home last September.

His father, Mr Valentine Cawley told Wanbao that he was not surprised at Ainan's interest as there were often areas of overlap between the different sciences.

Ainan also attends a regular primary school, but he spends one or two days each week at Singapore Polytechnic. Three days a week, he will also have physics classes at home with his father for two hours at a time, after school.

After four months of home schooling, he took and passed the GCE 'O' level in physics in January this year.

"Grasping scientific theories is literally child's play to Ainan, there's really no pressure at all. Two years ago, he took only six months to prepare for his chemistry exam. The exam is not a test of his abilities, just an additional challenge to prove himself," said Mr Cawley of his son's achievements.

Mr Cawley also hopes that Ainan can start university in a year's time, as his course at Singapore Polytechnic will be ending in one or two weeks' time.

"Finding a suitable course for Ainan so that he can continue to develop his potential in chemistry and physics has become an urgent concern," says Mr Cawley, who has been contacting American universities in the hope of arranging distance learning classes for Ainan. Alternatively, he plans to send him to study in Australia.

Despite being a child prodigy, Ainan has no problems getting along with his classmates in primary school.

"He can both discuss scientific theories with adults, and blend in with children of his own age," said Mr Cawley.

TeeKee

not every children can be genius...we can only dream...ours to be like them?

so reality check! LOL...

SamuelStalin

not every children can be genius...we can only dream...ours to be like them?

so reality check! LOL...

Nah, my daughter went to RGS, has more than 2 'O' levels and she now studies in ACJC. What about yours? Probably struggling in ITE still repeating that same module HAHHAHAHAHHAA :smile::smile::smile:

Reality bites for the initiators when they check themselves. You have to reassess your worth as a parent and a family man as well dude. Let's not go into a Eugenics debate, but you should know what to do to yourself for being worthless. :wink::wink::wink:

SamuelStalin

And the real geniuses (天才小童) are the ones with psychic powers (特异功能) in the People's Republic of China.

This is something Christians and God (whom Mao Zedong also HATED throughout his lifetime because of their discrimination against him for being Chinese) CANNOT EXPLAIN despite trying their darnest as usual to deny these things.

Thomas Edison was deemed be on the borderline of being retarded in his childhood and youth. One thing very telling is the Chinese term 神童. All geniuses are children. There're hardly adult or old ones. Abormal acceleration of brain processes usually lead to early death. I'm not cursing anyone. It's just empirical.

SamuelStalin

But 2 'O' level can be towkay?

For that the aspirant must be extremely streetsmart, independent, consistent and diligent. Not for the faint-hearted definitely.

The way outside state planning is often always more difficult, but if traveled to the end the rewards are usually far greater than that of the former. And there is nothing wrong with any of both approaches either.

The next major determinant would be what type of person you are since your childhood - whether you are more inclined to lead or more inclined to follow.

People like Jackie Chan and Li Ka-Shing don't study very much, but look at what they could achieve. Which elite and contemporary including that of their own society dares to laugh at them calling them uncultured and uneducated barbarians at least to their face?

TeeKee

Reality bites for the initiators when they check themselves. You have to reassess your worth as a parent and a family man as well dude. Let's not go into a Eugenics debate, but you should know what to do to yourself for being worthless. :wink::wink::wink:[/COLOR]

nah, man shouldn't rely on others to tell if one is worthless or not....

you ended up living for others instead for yourselves or for God for that matter...

Muthukali

For that the aspirant must be extremely streetsmart, independent, consistent and diligent. Not for the faint-hearted definitely.

The way outside state planning is often always more difficult, but if traveled to the end the rewards are usually far greater than that of the former. And there is nothing wrong with any of both approaches either.

The next major determinant would be what type of person you are since your childhood - whether you are more inclined to lead or more inclined to follow.

People like Jackie Chan and Li Ka-Shing don't study very much, but look at what they could achieve. Which elite and contemporary including that of their own society dares to laugh at them calling them uncultured and uneducated barbarians at least to their face?

I strongly agree with you, its the inner mind and strength to determined who who are.........:smile:

SamuelStalin

Anyway the boy is not that smart at all. He would have gone into a junior college and aim for enrolment in Oxford, Cambridge or Harvard.

He goes to a poly and then it's off for him to study in, hmm, Australia. Hahahahhaa. Very humorous article really. I will give it 5 stars just on this account.

TeeKee

And the real geniuses (天才小童) are the ones with psychic powers (特异功能) in the People's Republic of China.

This is something Christians and God (whom Mao Zedong also HATED throughout his lifetime because of their discrimination against him for being Chinese) CANNOT EXPLAIN despite trying their darnest as usual to deny these things.

what cannot explain? they are gifts from God...:biggrin:

everybody has at least one gift from God.

so what's yours? :biggrin:

btw since when did God discriminate Mao for being a Chinese?

TeeKee

it's interesting you brought out Jackie, who had been receiving alot of media attentions due to his comments about the Chinese people...:biggrin:

Muthukali

what cannot explain? they are gifts from God...:biggrin:

everybody has at least one gift from God.

so what's yours? :biggrin:

btw since when God discriminate Mao for being a Chinese?

PLs HOR....... its a GIFT from our parents, nothing to do with GOD......:oIo:

TeeKee

seiously I don't know, but if you can't explain the so call special power, pls dun put every credit to GOD, cos its not logic.........

why not? if God created the Universe, God created you and me...whatever talents we get comes from God.

that's the most logic way of thinking...

tioh boh.

Muthukali

why not? if God created the Universe, God created you and me...whatever talents we get comes from God.

that's the most logic way of thinking...

tioh boh.

What makes you think that God create Earth? Any real life proof? We are living in a reality world which need scientfic proof to all this myth or lengend.

tio boh? your turn.........:biggrin:

TeeKee

What makes you think that God create Earth? Any real life proof? We are living in a reality world which need scientfic proof to all this myth or lengend.

tio boh? your turn.........:biggrin:

if science cannot prove where the universe came about...

can we, for the time being just credit it to God, since God made claims to it in the bible?

isn't this the most logical way of thinking?

unless you can prove you created the Universe? then i promise to shut my mouth!! :biggrin: