• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Boy, 8, dashing across road gets hit by van, trapped underneath

firehyrant

Stupidman
The boy's family members checking on him.
The boy's family members checking on him. PHOTO: SHIN MIN DAILY NEWS

Yesterday 03:20pm

Boy, 8, dashing across road gets hit by van, trapped underneath​

An eight-year-old boy was hit by a van as he was crossing a road and was trapped under the vehicle.

Fortunately, he survived and managed to crawl out on his own but required stitches and hospitalisation.

The accident happened on Feb 23 at around 3.50pm at Lorong Ah Soo in Hougang.

Eyewitnesses reported a loud crash followed by a woman's frantic screams.

Photos from the scene showed multiple emergency vehicles, including fire engines and ambulances, with over 10 SCDF personnel on-site.

A resident, Mr Chen, told Shin Min Daily News he heard a loud bang and rushed downstairs to find out what happened. He was met with the sight of a boy trapped under a van, with only one arm showing.

"There were more than 50 people watching, and some suggested lifting the van, but they were stopped," the 62-year-old said.

The boy's mother, Ms Nisa, shared that their family of five had been waiting on a pedestrian refuge island when her son suddenly broke free from her grasp and ran onto the road.

"I was frozen in shock when I saw him get hit," the 40-year-old said.

Her son was terrified and cried while he crawled out from under the vehicle. His arm sustained deep cuts that required stitches, and he also suffered abrasions on his legs, though X-rays confirmed there were no fractures.

He completed his treatment at around 3am and remained in the hospital for observation.

Police confirmed that the accident involved a van and a pedestrian, and that the boy was conscious when taken to the hospital.

Investigations are ongoing.

SCDF also confirmed that the injured child was taken to KK Women's and Children's Hospital.

That is sad….hope that young mudd would not be now terrified of road users and decided not to be a food delivery expert

This seem like a sign of an early low iq behaviour. 8 years old is pri 2 not small de woh.

Last time when young I also kana...got chased by stray doggie then run and run then dashed across road then tio long until fly ... lucky didn't die...
But this case he broke free from his mum hand and ran de woh

sometimes kids do irrational things...like me who didn't bother to look out for traffic and just run for my life across the road because the doggie was chasing and chasing me....

Just drive along the streets of Little India, and you will see jaywalkers step in front of cars, believing that the drivers are alert and won't be speeding on those narrow lanes.

Father dashed across first
Son copied his reckless action and kenna.
Father should be condemned.

8yr old boy in Primary School liao leh .... school no teach how to cross roads one meh? like that how to pity him on what happened to him siah .... pity the driver instead. :whistling: