• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Beware of 'Paynow for Cash' scam

Hightech88

From Bard AI:

Question
: Yesterday a guy wanted to pass me $100 cash and asked me to Paynow him. He said the ATM machine is down. If this is a scam, how does it work?

Answer:

Yes, the scenario you described is a textbook example of a "Paynow for cash" scam. Here's how it works:
  1. The scammer approaches you: The scammer will often target people in situations where they might be rushed or distracted, like near an ATM machine.
  2. Fabricated story: They'll invent a story about needing cash urgently, claiming a broken ATM machine, a lost wallet, or any other reason why they can't access their own money.
  3. Cash-Paynow exchange proposal: They'll offer you cash, usually a tempting amount, on the condition that you send them the same amount through Paynow immediately.
  4. Immediate pressure: They'll create a sense of urgency, emphasizing their predicament and pressuring you to act quickly without thinking.
  5. Vanishing act: Once you transfer the money through Paynow, the scammer will disappear with your cash, leaving you empty-handed.
Why is this a scam?
  • Unbalanced exchange: The scammer offers cash with no guarantee of its authenticity or source. You have no way of verifying if the money is real or counterfeit.
  • Irreversible transaction: Unlike cash transactions, Paynow transfers are instant and irreversible. Once you send the money, it's almost impossible to get it back, especially if the recipient is unknown.
  • No recourse: The scammer is likely operating under a fake identity or using stolen details, making it nearly impossible to track them down and recover your money.
What to do if you encounter this scam:
  • Be cautious and decline the offer: This is the best way to protect yourself. Don't trust strangers who request immediate financial assistance with unusual methods.
  • Verify the story: If you have doubts, ask the person to show you proof of their situation, like a bank statement or receipt. Scammers are unlikely to have convincing evidence.
  • Don't be pressured: Don't let the scammer rush you into a decision. Take your time and assess the situation logically.
  • Inform authorities: If you encounter the scam, consider reporting it to the police or the relevant financial authorities to raise awareness and help prevent others from falling victim.
Remember, if something seems too good to be true, it probably is. Always be vigilant and be wary of anyone requesting quick financial transactions with unusual methods. Stay safe!
-------------
1705836852713.png

1705836892313.png

1705836958429.png

sbfuncle

Fabricated story: They'll invent a story about needing cash urgently, claiming a broken ATM machine, a lost wallet, or any other reason why they can't access their own money.
It just doesn't make sense.
Need cash urgently and yet can pass you the cash.
I will take it as a imh patient than a scammer.

Hightech88

It just doesn't make sense.
Need cash urgently and yet can pass you the cash.
I will take it as a imh patient than a scammer.

Nope, that is one scenario whereby they don't have cash but need it urgently then claim to promise to return you by passing you their contact no.
The AI is just giving you many other possible scenarios to try to scam you money.

Like the famous China lady case below pretending to lost money in casino and ask people to buy them something to eat, knowing that you will likely pass them cash or later might slowly con you to send to them thru Paynow etc..LOL.

Point 3 then is when they claim to have cash but ATM down hence unable to deposit etc.

Hightech88

i always ignore strangers trying to make a conversation with me. so i and be safe
Yes, just ask them to fly kite or report police.

Most scams on the streets come from PRC tourists approaching local Chinese exploiting kum gong Sinkies weakness they will try to help fellow Chinese.

Now is ICT mobile app era, you are safe as long as you avoid anything which involves your personal data esp. internet banking or your phone no. which will let you get scammed. Never even show them or lend them your phone else sure GG.

Hightech88

Such scam are extremely deceptive which you will not understand til too late.

Example:

" Means he carouselled a $500 item

buyer paid.
he said sorry - will refund.

Pass you $100 cash
Ask you to paynow buyer $100

He ghost buyer
Buyer go leepok police with your paynow records.

u show the $100 note to police and good luck explaining. "

in sg just don’t help any stranger who asks for favors, but for sure can help chiobu or milf who needs to find her lobang.