• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Be Greatful to PAP and Dun Ask Too Much!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Briefing beef: 'When I stood up to ask if residents would be allowed to vote on the upgrading, I was told it would be too difficult.'
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I LIVE in Braddell Heights, an old private estate. Earlier this year, residents received feedback forms informing us that we had become eligible for the Estate Upgrading Programme. The forms asked general questions on what we hoped to see. I was glad our comments were solicited, and that certain aspects of the estate would be upgraded. I was also pleased to hear there would be a briefing-cum-forum last Saturday and made a point to attend, as did a number of my neighbours.
At the briefing, our Member of Parliament told us that the response to the feedback forms had been above average in our estate, indicating that residents here are interested in the issue.
However, instead of a discussion and feedback being solicited, the briefing turned out to be just that. Residents were told what to expect, and when the upgrading works would be carried out. When I stood up to ask if residents would be allowed to vote on the upgrading, I was told it would be too difficult to do so.
I fail to see how sending a letter detailing different items to be upgraded and asking residents if they agree or not is difficult. These forms can be returned in exactly the same manner as the feedback forms. The results can then be tabulated and released. It was suggested we take into account the 'silent majority'. Again I fail to see how we will determine what the silent majority feel if they choose to remain silent. If a resident feels strongly enough, he will choose to vote. If he does not, one can take into account only those who do so.
We were told instead by another member of the forum that we should be grateful to the Neighbourhood Committee for all its hard work, and how it had managed to earmark $5.5 million of funds for our estate. While I appreciate the work by the volunteers on the Neighbourhood Committee, the MP and others, they do not speak for residents. While we are grateful they have secured this amount for our estate, as residents I believe we have a right to decide how that money should be spent. After all, this is taxpayers' money.
$5.5 million is not a small sum. In an economy which is looking bleaker by the day, it might be prudent to be circumspect about how funds are spent and forego cosmetic changes. Some of my neighbours may disagree with me, and I am more than prepared to accept whatever the majority decides. However, to push ahead with the upgrading works without putting this to a democratic vote seems disingenuous. If upgrading is truly meant to be for residents, it is the residents who should ultimately decide. Dawn Kua (Ms)

However, to push ahead with the upgrading works without putting this to a democratic vote seems disingenuous. If upgrading is truly meant to be for residents, it is the residents who should ultimately decide. Dawn Kua (Ms)

Ms Dawn, Your unsinkified statement , i totally agree with.

However, you forgot one thing. You are in a land where sinkie behavior runs amok. And these morons need to be controlled like a criminal. Those who are really sane had left for a more humane environment where real human belongs.

ksterk

To this day.

I dun dare to ask anything from GOV liao. i just hope they forget abt me, i will be happy enough lor

Neh_Neh_Pok

A real democratic country allows we pple to voice out, suggest and have the right to say. If the Pees want us all to keep quiet, why Lao Lee want to pull it out to be a democratic country 43yrs ago? Might as well be a communist or military country where pple have no say in everything

ksterk

A real democratic country allows we pple to voice out, suggest and have the right to say. If the Pees want us all to keep quiet, why Lao Lee want to pull it out to be a democratic country 43yrs ago? Might as well be a communist or military country where pple have no say in everything

do a search lor. SGP is constitutional democracy:biggrin:

ksterk

Isit? Wah if you nvr say this i really donno, whatever type of democracies, i find it a one-man-rules-all, one-man-says-all cunttry

not really la.

when i was @ sch tt time, teacher got explain.
our constitutional democracy is known as "limited democracy" lolx.
think the book now have "remove" this info le la:biggrin:

Neh_Neh_Pok

not really la.

when i was @ sch tt time, teacher got explain.
our constitutional democracy is known as "limited democracy" lolx.
think the book now have "remove" this info le la:biggrin:

Oic.. paiseh I never took History as my humanities subject in sec sch :biggrin: