• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

AUD reaching parity with USD soon? Again?

Ash007

Every couple of months seems to have story of AUD hitting parity with USD. Is this going to happen now? Or time to stock up on USD before it falls?

http://www.smh.com.au/business/dollar-to-hit-parity-shortly-fortescue-boss-says-20100921-15ky5.html?autostart=1

Dollar to hit parity 'shortly', Fortescue boss says
Clancy Yeates
September 21, 2010 - 4:27PM
Loading player

This video will automatically play after a 5 second delay.

Aussie dollar heading for parity?
Business Day writer Chris Zappone takes a look at what's fuelling the surging Australian dollar.
Video feedbackVideo settings
Mining magnate Andrew Forrest says the Australian dollar is likely to hit parity with the US dollar ‘‘shortly,’’ as benefits of the resources boom spill into the wider economy.

After the currency overnight struck a two-year high of 94.94 US cents, the Fortescue Metals chief said he thought it had further to rise thanks to the nation’s growth prospects.

While the resources boom had been the key attraction for investors so far, he said they would soon appreciate the broader growth story across various industries in Australia.

‘‘That’s a vote on how good Australia is,’’ he said of the dollar's recent ascent.

In a wide-ranging question and answer session, Mr Forrest also gave grudging support for a carbon tax, but said the government should look carefully at other options before introducing a price on polluting.

Amid a growing debate on climate policy among business leaders, Mr Forrest also backed further research on the coalition policy of carbon soil sequestration.

Mr Forrest likened a carbon tax to Winston Churchill’s view on democracy - that it was the worst option, except for all those others that have been tried.

'‘‘I would say before you bring in that worst system in the world make sure you’ve given your scientists, not politicians, every opportunities they need... to say what’s best for Australia,’’ Mr Forrest said in Sydney.

Mr Forrest’s commentary on federal politics extended to the $43 billion national broadband network, a key factor in determining the recent election.

He said people should be ‘‘scared’’ that the government had not conducted a cost-benefit analysis on the project, and questioned whether a wireless option could meet the nation's future communications needs.

He said wireless handheld devices such as the BlackBerry had changed communication between people and this technology needed to be formally weighed up against the proposal to roll out the NBN.

‘‘We are just getting to the outer edge of this technology and then we are putting in this old technology all around Australia,’’ he said. ‘‘To build it without a study ... as a mum or a dad we should be scared.’’

neddy

Every couple of months seems to have story of AUD hitting parity with USD. Is this going to happen now? Or time to stock up on USD before it falls?

I have bought some USD. Gold index too high, not going into it.

Know any migrants who need a job? My South African friend need workers.
Below are roles currently being recruited for in WA.

Underground Fifo -
Senior Prodcution Engineer / Alt UG Manager - $168,000
Planning Engineer - Entry level 2+ yrs - $137,000
Drill & Blast Engineer / Gold - $135,000
Senior Production Engineer / Nickel - $163,000
Senior Production/ Superintendent / Gold - $163,000
Technical Services Superintendent x 2 positions / Gold – $170,000
Planning Engineer / Medium to long range / Gold - $138,000

Open Cut Fifo -
Mining / Resident Manager OP Gold - $230K
Senior Planning Engineer / Iron Ore - $170,000
Senior Mine Planning Engineer / Gold - $165,000
Senior Production Engineer / Iron Ore - $170,000
Short / Medium term planner / Iron Ore - $137,000
Drill & Blast Engineer / Iron Ore - $130,000
Consulting -

Principal Consultant OP / International -$192,000
Consultant OP / International Consultancy - $118,000
Principal UG / OP / Smaller local consultancy - $185,000

Perth Based Corporate -
Senior Planning Engineer / UG - $147,000
Senior Planning Engineer / OP - $163,000
Technical Services Manager / UG - $190,000

Nathan de Jong
Senior Mining Consultant
1300 696 900
0417 964 411 (after hours)
[email protected]

Don Muthuswamy

I have bought some USD. Gold index too high, not going into it.

Underground Fifo -
Senior Prodcution Engineer / Alt UG Manager - $168,000
Planning Engineer - Entry level 2+ yrs - $137,000
Drill & Blast Engineer / Gold - $135,000
Senior Production Engineer / Nickel - $163,000
Senior Production/ Superintendent / Gold - $163,000
Technical Services Superintendent x 2 positions / Gold – $170,000
Planning Engineer / Medium to long range / Gold - $138,000

Open Cut Fifo -
Mining / Resident Manager OP Gold - $230K
Senior Planning Engineer / Iron Ore - $170,000
Senior Mine Planning Engineer / Gold - $165,000
Senior Production Engineer / Iron Ore - $170,000
Short / Medium term planner / Iron Ore - $137,000
Drill & Blast Engineer / Iron Ore - $130,000
Consulting -

Principal Consultant OP / International -$192,000
Consultant OP / International Consultancy - $118,000
Principal UG / OP / Smaller local consultancy - $185,000

Perth Based Corporate -
Senior Planning Engineer / UG - $147,000
Senior Planning Engineer / OP - $163,000
Technical Services Manager / UG - $190,000

Nathan de Jong
Senior Mining Consultant
1300 696 900
0417 964 411 (after hours)
[email protected]

The pay so high meh? Sure or not? :confused:

Ash007

Already migrated or willing to sponsor? I know engineer that work in oil rigs, but lack the will power to move on unless they have a "job". Not sure if the skills are "transfereable" or not as well.

And yes, the pay are that high.

neddy

The pay so high meh? Sure or not? :confused:

Up to you to decide if it is true or not.
There are too many anti-Aussie "sour grape" trolls around to "muddle the pool".
I am enjoying life here, so I do not care what the fuck the losers think.

If you bother, just google for the facts.
http://content.mycareer.com.au/salary-centre/engineering/-/australia

But I think the trolls are right, I do not think Singaporeans should migrate to Australia, it is out of your reach now.
But Koreans welcome.

Ash007

But I think the trolls are right, I do not think Singaporeans should migrate to Australia, it is out of your reach now.
But Koreans welcome.[/B]

You Singaporean once upon a time also leh. Why Koreans? Japanese, PRC mei mei, Taiwan mei mei cannot?

neddy

You Singaporean once upon a time also leh. Why Koreans? Japanese, PRC mei mei, Taiwan mei mei cannot?

Let face it, how much do Singaporeans have in their CPF and savings. Now, convert that SGD into AUD and see what you can afford in Australia.

Look at the long-term gas contracts signed with the various countries, the Aussie boom will last for a while more, at least until my retirement. So, you can forget about falling property prices. But inflation will be a factor and Aussie-earned income will rise to meet the inflation - making housing affordable.

Moreover US declare themselves out of recession since last June. That is good news.

My favourites are the Japs mei meis, followed by those Koreans who are eager to please. (There is a rich class of snob/spoilt Korean mei meis who I dislike, they can play by themselves)

Taiwanese mei meis will put spells on me. No thanks.

The Singapore mei meis are seriously no better than the local white trash. I can leave them alone - they like hanging around the angmos anyway.

Ash007

$0.95 USD today. Not even rate rise yet. Market already factoring that eventuality.

http://www.smh.com.au/business/markets/records-in-sight-as-dollar-soars-again-20100922-15lpk.html?autostart=1

Records in sight as dollar soars again
Gabrielle Costa
September 22, 2010 - 6:57AM
Loading player

This video will automatically play after a 5 second delay.
More video
Recommended
Click to play video
No quick end to BHP's Potash bid
Click to play video
US Fed says recovery has slowed
Click to play video
Bank customers to hit back
Click to play video
Creating pearl perfection
Replay video
Reserve hints at rate rises
The commodity boom is likely to induce up to five rate rises over the year, the reserve bank has hinted.
Video feedbackVideo settings
The Australian dollar powered ahead again overnight, tearing through the 95-US-cent mark after a stellar performance that has driven the currency to its highest levels since the onset of the global financial crisis.

The latest rise saw the dollar touch a high of 95.64 US cents shortly before 5am east-coast time, its best since mid-2008.

The 95-US-cent level is considered key by traders. Technical or psychological barriers can restrain the strength of the dollar and it has now pushed through an important roadblock. The next one lies at 96.5 US cents. The dollar's peak since it began trading freely in 1983 is 98.5 US cents, achieved in July 2008.

From yearly lows of 81.58 US cents reached in May to this morning's highs, the dollar has risen a massive 17.2 per cent.

The latest rally is driven by a combination of factors, including weakness in the US dollar caused in large part by a belief the central bank there, the Federal Reserve, will embark on a program of stimulus measures that would effectively weaken the greenback.

Overnight, the Fed policy panel opened the door wider to pumping hundreds of billions of new dollars into the economy, although it kept official interest rates unchanged near zero. The greenback also weakened against the euro and the yen. It was at a six-week low against the euro and against the Japanese currency it fell to levels last seen a week ago when there were official moves to weaken the yen.

Another driver, strength in the Australian economy, has been underlined by expectations the Reserve Bank of Australia will lift interest rates sooner rather than later. Higher rates drive demand for the Aussie dollar as international investors seek out higher returns, in turn driving demand for the currency.

Ash007

Let face it, how much do Singaporeans have in their CPF and savings. Now, convert that SGD into AUD and see what you can afford in Australia.

CPF savings means jack shit. A lot of people that migrated here have no CPF savings to take out at all, yet they could live happily here.

Why you say Taiwan mei mei put spell ah? Honestly, after got Taiwan mei mei chase me in uni days I never find them that attractive after that. Singapore mei mei in Australia still have ang moh tua kee mentality?

neddy

CPF savings means jack shit. A lot of people that migrated here have no CPF savings to take out at all, yet they could live happily here.
Not sure about the younger generation of Singaporeans.
You will do alright with no CPF. No need to give up SG citizenship

Why you say Taiwan mei mei put spell ah? Honestly, after got Taiwan mei mei chase me in uni days I never find them that attractive after that. Singapore mei mei in Australia still have ang moh tua kee mentality?

Taiwanese will chase the men and put a spell to get them to marry, eg after 3-6 months dating. Then after that, control the hubbies' life. That is what I found out, 2 cases.

Actually, you should be able to answer that question about Singapore mei meis.

Ash007

Taiwanese will chase the men and put a spell to get them to marry, eg after 3-6 months dating. Then after that, control the hubbies' life. That is what I found out, 2 cases.

Actually, you should be able to answer that question about Singapore mei meis.

I cringed every time I hear a Singapore/Malaysian accent in restaurant. Think I only talked to a half Italian/Singapore girl here once. That was the closest to a Singapore mei mei I talked to.

neddy

I cringed every time I hear a Singapore/Malaysian accent in restaurant. Think I only talked to a half Italian/Singapore girl here once. That was the closest to a Singapore mei mei I talked to.

Wow, you are lucky.
I have overheard SPGs badmouthing Singapore men. My Nipponese mei mei looked at her in shock and told me quietly whether that SPG know what she is talking about?

It is not so much the Singapore accent, it is their still-Singapore whineing mainly because Perth still has its share of weekend Aussie residents from Singapore. Hope this group abandon Perth soon and find another country to whine.

sidetrack ....
Summer is coming. It is really amazing how the Ah Tiongs are staring at the local cows' skimpy wear.

neddy

Ah? the PRC mei mei wear skimpy also what.

It is the amount of flesh popping out of the those C to F cup melons on skinny Aussie girls.

PRC mei meis need to eat more cheese to compete for top heavy. kekekeke :biggrin:

Also, saw the first jogger with cameltoe for this season.

New USD notes?
dollars01.jpg

Ash007

It is the amount of flesh popping out of the those C to F cup melons on skinny Aussie girls.

PRC mei meis need to eat more cheese to compete for top heavy. kekekeke :biggrin:

Never into breast size that much. Contend with B or C.

Aussie Prick

Latest : We see the AUD going beyond parity in 2011 - the Fed is printing 1 Trillion starting November. Gold 1400 in 2011.

Now is your chance to cash out and enjoy if you are in Australia.

Dont say you werent told when inflation hits in 2012 and it all reverses - you have over a year.

Ash007

Latest : We see the AUD going beyond parity in 2011 - the Fed is printing 1 Trillion starting November. Gold 1400 in 2011.

Now is your chance to cash out and enjoy if you are in Australia.

Dont say you werent told when inflation hits in 2012 and it all reverses - you have over a year.

Meaning buy gold?

Ash007

Parity with Canadian dollar today. 0.97USD. Next month rate rise, probably going to increase to $1USD

http://www.smh.com.au/business/markets/dollars-rise-a-hits-parity-with-loonie-20100930-15xr7.html

Dollar's rise: $A hits parity with loonie
September 30, 2010 - 7:29AM
The Australian dollar continued to rise overnight, climbing to another fresh two-year high of 97.3 US cents as it consolidated recent strong gains.

And for the first time in six years, it was on equal footing with the Canadian dollar, widely referred to as the loonie because of the imprint of a loon on the dollar coin.

The Aussie dollar was fractionally more valuable than the Canadian currency briefly overnight and this morning was fractionally lower. It is the first time the two currencies have been one-for-one since 2004.

The Australian dollar broke through the 97-US-cent mark yesterday afternoon and touched the 97.3 mark again in evening trade. This morning it was buying 96.88 US cents.

Most of the recent rise in the dollar - it is up more than 19 per cent since the 81.58-US-cent low for the year, struck in May - has come as its US counterpart has slipped in value. US dollar weakness continued again overnight.

In overseas trade, the US dollar fell to an eight-month low against a basket of currencies including the euro and yen on speculation the US Federal Reserve will increase purchases of government debt to spur the economy.

That move would devalue the greenback.

The US currency was headed for a quarterly loss versus all of its 16 most-traded counterparts as reports indicated the US recovery is stalling. The yen traded at its highest mark since Japan's central bank intervened on September 15 to devalue the Japanese currency.

Another factor influencing the Australian dollar's rise is expectations the nation's official cash rate will rise - expectations that have been creeping up ahead of next week's Reserve Bank board meeting. The credit market now considers a quarter-percentage point rate rise a 64 per cent chance, but is still pricing in two rate rises within the next 12 months.

Higher interest rates increase demand for the currency as foreign investors seek out assets that will provide a better return.

Gabrielle Costa, BusinessDay