• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Any iPad users out there?

The iPad will be comming to Spore this July 23rd & I'm seriously considering getting one for web surfing. It's going to replace my current iBook. Although I have my PC & Mac desktops a portable is going to use less power.

I'll probably get the Wifi model as I'll be taking it on trips & connect by wifi. Don't think I'll be needing the 3G.

Spore prices start at SIN$728, probably for the WiFi 16GB model.
Seems like its got enough storage but what's your opinion is more space(32GB or 64GB) really necessary :confused:

For those who have really used the iPad, what kind of issues have you come across? What are the add ons I should consider getting?

An iPad is like a toy. If you want to do serious work on it, you will be better off buying a netbook.

I dun hab an Ipad. I oni got Ipod Touch 64G. I use up more then half of the mem so 32G certainly not enuff. Hand on a set b4 n dun find it very impressive esp if u own an ITouch. 32G with 3g cost $1288. No flash support jus an oversize Ipod Touch. With tat price, u can get a full NB. I will wait for tablet running on full win 7. Got flash support, can load office maybe...even photoshop? :D:D

Dun bother to get the Wifi, get the 3G 1 better lah :D:D

Like the iTouch, storage is through the iTunes. I suppose its convenient to carry a little device around. Then again, I have a cheap NB which functions the same now, grab a usb 3g dongle and you are good to go.

I dun hab an Ipad. I oni got Ipod Touch 64G. I use up more then half of the mem so 32G certainly not enuff. Hand on a set b4 n dun find it very impressive esp if u own an ITouch. 32G with 3g cost $1288. No flash support jus an oversize Ipod Touch. With tat price, u can get a full NB. I will wait for tablet running on full win 7. Got flash support, can load office maybe...even photoshop? :D:D

What are you storing on your Ipod:eek:
Is it filled with music, videos, or apps? I can see myself getting apps but not music, an iPad is not an iPod :)

I'm trying to decide between an iPad and a Macbook Pro($1788). I don't see Flash support as important as I've never had a flash capable machine. my current iBook chokes on it :( I use the Mac for mail because it's more virus resistant

My desktop PC has an I7 processor but it's overkill for surfing the web & not very portable.

Dun bother to get the Wifi, get the 3G 1 better lah :D:D

Using a Spore telco for 3G will cost a bomb$$$ especially when one is overseas in LOS, Malaysia, Indonesia,.... While wifi is free & readily available at many MacD, malls, hotels,..

Like real! U try finding a free Wifi area at Hong Kong lor. Almost like striking 4D!

An iPad is like a toy. If you want to do serious work on it, you will be better off buying a netbook.

Your probably right, the iPad is now more of a gadget but given time it will mature into something bigger?

Maybe I'm trying to justify getting one :D

What are you storing on your Ipod:eek:
Is it filled with music, videos, or apps? I can see myself getting apps but not music, an iPad is not an iPod :)

I'm trying to decide between an iPad and a Macbook Pro($1788). I don't see Flash support as important as I've never had a flash capable machine. my current iBook chokes on it :( I use the Mac for mail because it's more virus resistant

My desktop PC has an I7 processor but it's overkill for surfing the web & not very portable.

Songs songs n more songs...i rip em at 320bit so u can imagine... Movies...i rip em faster then i watch n delete...got 2 control myself lotsa time not to rip anymore...

Games losta games...previously 11 pages of icon is certainly not enuff...

Ebooks...losta em either dl mainly cut/paste/create myself...

Photos of all sort...trip photo esp 2 show coll n friends thou i dun keep em bery long...

SW wise not so much...

Ipad wise there is no such thing as good or bad buy. It all depend on ur nids...U can even buy 1, place it on ur coffee table perm n use it like a e-newspapers...As long as u get to use it frequently w/o much cumplain, it's a good buy...:D:D

The only thing I will need the Ipad for, will be reading ebooks..and most imprtantly, finally I can find an easy reader for my electronic bible..being using the plam....to the itouch for this purpose..too small to see & too difficlut to nagivate..gets very frustrated...

Other than that, I don't need the ipod...maybe emergency surfing..

Like real! U try finding a free Wifi area at Hong Kong lor. Almost like striking 4D!

Been awhile since I've been to HK. It's a very tiring & hectic place, you can't stand still without blocking someone in a rush. :)

However this is not the case in LOS, Indo, Malaysia, places where I intend to use it . Even in poor Indonesia wifi is readily available & free in many MacDs & malls. I really hate to weighed down with barang, barang.

Ipad is only 1.5pounds compared to 4.5 pounds for the alternative laptop I'm considering.

The only thing I will need the Ipad for, will be reading ebooks..and most imprtantly, finally I can find an easy reader for my electronic bible..being using the plam.....

I have an old Palm Titanium PDA which I bought for $800. It's a nice solid gadget but have to agree that it strains the eyes. Nice unit but now very limited compared to what you can get out there.

Originally I considered getting an iPod touch but decided against it as it wasn't practical for my purposes. The iPad is something else.

Read that many people who have seen an iPad are instant converts. Was going to wait until version 2.0 before deciding but will now go to an apple shop on the 23rd to see & touch one. :)

please update us with your iPad experience. Personally I am quite skeptical about this new device. Unless there is a killer app that runs solely on the ipad, i fail to see the point of owning one.

that's only my opinion. hope apple comes up with something groundbreaking again.

Songs songs n more songs...i rip em at 320bit so u can imagine... Movies...i rip em faster then i watch n delete...got 2 control myself lotsa time not to rip anymore.....

Think iPod Classic

It's only got 160GB of space but it'll give you more to play around with:D

3G version includes WiFi also lah....... if not why cost more.... -____-"""

The iPad will be comming to Spore this July 23rd & I'm seriously considering getting one for web surfing. It's going to replace my current iBook. Although I have my PC & Mac desktops a portable is going to use less power.

I'll probably get the Wifi model as I'll be taking it on trips & connect by wifi. Don't think I'll be needing the 3G.

Spore prices start at SIN$728, probably for the WiFi 16GB model.
Seems like its got enough storage but what's your opinion is more space(32GB or 64GB) really necessary :confused:

For those who have really used the iPad, what kind of issues have you come across? What are the add ons I should consider getting?

The iPad is a true tablet and it does the job. super fast, IMO and has all the nifty apps that you dl from itunes. If you type a bit, get the keyboard dock. Real cool to carry it around and surf anywhere you like. e-books are the next thing, where you dl journals, mags, etc

the ipad does look good, but the only thing stopping me from getting one is because of the limited storage size and they don't allow u to plug in a portable hardrive.

I think with the camera kit, you shld be able to access thumb drives? after you jb lah