• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Another part of Singapore Mati Liao!!!:-(

The restaurant famous for its paper-wrapped chicken for the past 60 years will close after Chinese New Year.

Union Farm Eating House looks set to close on Feb 19. The kampung-style Chinese restaurant along Clementi Road sits on two plots of land, one owned by Union Farm's landlord and the other by Singapore Institute of Management (SIM).

The latter wants its land back by March 7 to expand its campus, but that plot is where the restaurant's kitchen is located.

'That's the most important part of the restaurant. No kitchen means no restaurant.'

MR CHIA KAR WING, owner of Union Farm Eating House, on the land that SIM wants to take back.

The restaurant's owner, Mr Chia Kar Wing, 49, said his father built the kitchen on that plot of land in 1953 after being given the green light by his current landlord's father. 'Maybe back then, the lines weren't that clear. They didn't know; we didn't know,' he said, adding that without a kitchen, he will have to close down the restaurant.

I remember many years ago, my rich friend gave me a chicken treat there and I never forget! Now it's GONE GONE GONE!!!!!!!!!!!Another nail to our heritage makan place!!!

never try before. Is it really that tasty????
not bad lah..very singaporean and very kampung like ...simple and rustic....like a family gathering...but now gone liao ..like so many singaporean iconic places...alll gone gone gone...roots all gone.....sad hor.

Mr Char Ko Wings, should have scouted for another place to move the kitchen after so many years. They have the intention to close the business, the way I look at it. Businessman are not stupid people.

Long time since I've been there. I remember enjoying the food there.

Nowadays cannot take too much of anything :(

Too oily, imo.

I tried that once many years ago when a Chinese former colleague hosted a dinner there to celebrate striking 4D. I think it's a bit oily too but it tastes good, going very well with whisky. He seems to know the boss well enough to be allowed BYOB without corkage.

Standards have dropped in recent years.
Now this dish also easily available elsewhere unlike last time (though union is still tops).
The ambience is what you cannot find anymore.
Later years they added hk style dishes like fried quaid and pigeon.
There used to have a raised pond near the kitchen where kids will go to catch guppies tadpoles while waiting for food to be served.
Back then I always choose maju camp for ippt or RT and tapow the chicken back after my sessions.
Sad to see the place go.

maybe they also know their days are numbered. only some die hards and old uncles and aunties as regulars. the younger ones don't even know the place or heard about chipaukai....they have other air con makan places to patronise...so lau chipaukai will just die a natural death.....swee kee also gone liao lah....newer swee kee cannot make it lah....even sergeant's chicken rice also gone from chatter box....many others have sprouted and perhaps better and cheaper....

so the old dies giving way to the new...HAPPY LUNAR NEW YEAR TO ALL.....HUAT !!! TONITE!!!! 5454 !!!!!

The restaurant famous for its paper-wrapped chicken for the past 60 years will close after Chinese New Year.

Union Farm Eating House looks set to close on Feb 19. The kampung-style Chinese restaurant along Clementi Road sits on two plots of land, one owned by Union Farm's landlord and the other by Singapore Institute of Management (SIM).

The latter wants its land back by March 7 to expand its campus, but that plot is where the restaurant's kitchen is located.

'That's the most important part of the restaurant. No kitchen means no restaurant.'

MR CHIA KAR WING, owner of Union Farm Eating House, on the land that SIM wants to take back.

The restaurant's owner, Mr Chia Kar Wing, 49, said his father built the kitchen on that plot of land in 1953 after being given the green light by his current landlord's father. 'Maybe back then, the lines weren't that clear. They didn't know; we didn't know,' he said, adding that without a kitchen, he will have to close down the restaurant.

Why do Singaporeans have little sense of belonging to Singapore?

THIS is one of the reasons why.

If you go to Maju Camp for RT/IPPT, as you make your way up the gentle slope towards the guard house, turn your head to the right.
The restaurant is there, albeit concealed behind some trees.

6a013487d329f1970c013487d3a73e970c

Why do Singaporeans have little sense of belonging to Singapore?

THIS is one of the reasons why.

If you go to Maju Camp for RT/IPPT, as you make your way up the gentle slope towards the guard house, turn your head to the right.
The restaurant is there, albeit concealed behind some trees.

going to RT is the only time it reminds me of being in Singapore surrounded by Singaporean.

never try before. Is it really that tasty????

1. thambi, don't waste your money there.
2. honest, the standard of food served there has gone down the drain.
3. as compared to those good old days.
4. it is so sad!

Narong Wongwan said:
Standards have dropped in recent years.
Now this dish also easily available elsewhere unlike last time (though union is still tops).
The ambience is what you cannot find anymore.
Later years they added hk style dishes like fried quaid and pigeon.

I managed to have a last taste of it this month. The chicken was tasty enough but oily and the paper stuck. The rest of the menu was forgettable.

Knn angmo expats can save colbar but sinkies have to see their favorites places go...

Ate there a few times many years ago and it was good. The last time was not the same, too oily and the rest of the food was not that great. I recall in the early years they kept a lot of dogs all of the huge Great Danes.

The paper is probably used to hold the marinade together with the chicken when its in the hot oil (deep fried). So it came about because they were too cheap to afford ovens.

Get use to further loss of our culinary heritage. Especially when Vivian (drought is worse than floods) Balakrishnan and Grace (not in it for the money) Fu end the 'subsidies' given to food vendors in our food centres.

going to RT is the only time it reminds me of being in Singapore surrounded by Singaporean.

Son, you mean you go RT? You should keep yourself slim fighting fit at least IPPT-silver level at all times.

After RT go eat "chee Pow Kai", then fail, go RT, go eat....it is a vicious circle. ha ha ha ha :D