• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Another money wasting committee.

The PAP bureaucracy is really too much. They can reduce the manpower by 10% at MOE and there will be no noticeable difference. Eat finish and got nothing better to do. Form committees left right and centre for what? School sports is school sports. kids will get injured for sure. even none contact sports, u can get injuries, its not like they are playing american football. This is part of life. Why are they forming committees for this? I think we are the only country in the world that have this money and time to waste on crap like this. Why don't the PAP form a committee on thingsthat really matter? E.g. billions of dollars in GIC and Temasek losses, or high cost of living, or something worthwhile. Fucking Ng want to score points with Old Fart, don't do until like that lah.

MOE to conduct safety review of sports in schools
By Jeremy Koh | Posted: 22 April 2010 1937 hrs

Photos 1 of 1

Related News

• Education Ministry says schools should encourage good sportsmanship

Video

MOE to conduct safety review of sports in schools

SINGAPORE: A committee will soon be convened to conduct a safety review of sports in schools.

Speaking to reporters, Minister for Education Dr Ng Eng Hen said the review will be led by his ministry.

But it will also involve sporting experts and practitioners.

Said Dr Ng: "They will look at the general aspects of competitive sports, not only judo, or just because there were these incidents. (We) might as well look at across the board where there are contact sports as well as for other sports. But obviously contact sports are where the chance and risk of injury is higher.

"They'll also want to look at what other countries do. I think also they'll get expert opinion from sports physicians to know, is there anything else that Singapore might want to do even if others don't do."

The review comes after a recent spate of sporting incidents in schools which have caused injuries.

Dr Ng said the review was prompted by the suggestions of professionals who felt it was 'timely' - a view he agreed with.

But the Minister also stressed, his ministry will not overreact.

For instance, if Singapore's practices were found to conform to the best practices elsewhere, then there could very well be no changes implemented.

The review, which will start soon, is expected to take about three to four months to complete.

Dr Ng also commented on the recent brawl between school rugby players.

He said the most important thing that should happen is that the students must learn the lessons and internalise them.

Said Dr Ng: "I know that some principals have taken a very constructive approach. They've asked the students to reflect on their own behaviour, what they should have done, what they could have done, and then also to have both sides meet to reconcile.

"For MOE, I prefer to take a slight step back, rather than to intervene, and allow this process to play out because it's a rich fertile ground for important lessons to be learnt which will last students for a long time".

Dr Ng was speaking to reporters after a visit to the Council for Private Education's new Student Services Centre

The PAP bureaucracy is really too much. They can reduce the manpower by 10% at MOE and there will be no noticeable difference. Eat finish and got nothing better to do. Form committees left right and centre for what?

10% reduction without impact ? You are too kind.

I was in MOE last year for some meetings. My take is if you reduce by half, you won't even realise it either. Just that now, 1-person's job is being done by 2 (or more people) person. The only kpkb is when their get back their fair share of the work load.

1st lesson in LKY School of Government ....

"Lai, Lai,
Lai Kwee COMMITTEE !!!" :D:D:D

10% reduction without impact ? You are too kind.

I was in MOE last year for some meetings. My take is if you reduce by half, you won't even realise it either. Just that now, 1-person's job is being done by 2 (or more people) person. The only kpkb is when their get back their fair share of the work load.

Yes, I agree that 10% is conservative. 50% is realistic. but the PAP has always had a longstanding plan to fatten the bureaucracy as much as possible and to have as many GLCs as possible so that the employees will be beholden to the govt. and vote PAP. Or face losing their jobs if a new govt. comes into power.

1st lesson in LKY School of Government ....

"Lai, Lai,
Lai Kwee COMMITTEE !!!" :D:D:D

Yes, lesson number one is "Why solve things right away, when you can form a committee". Lesson number 2 is "When there is no problem form a committee anyway to look for a problem"

From 80s British sitcom Yes Minister...

Minister : There're far too many people just sitting behind desks.

Perm Sec : (Casting a sarcstic look and grin on the Minister who's seated behind his desk) Well Minister, there're two types of chair for two types of Minister.

Minister : And what's that?

Perm Sec : Well one that folds up instantly and one that goes round and round. Which type are you, Minister?

Minister : (Realising it's another joke on him to stall and sidetrack) No no. We have to streamline the bureaucracy. Get rid of 10% of the staff now.

Perm Sec : Now? What do you mean now?

Minister : I mean now! This moment. This minute. Now!

Perm Sec : I see, I'll set the wheels in motion now. We'll set up a committee and hire more people.

Minister : What do you mean hire more people? I want to cut down the bureaucracy!

Perm Sec : We have to set up a committee to study which are the areas to cut. These studies can't be done by non-people. It's commonsense that we have to hire more people in order to hire less people.

1st ting dey'll do is go 4 free tour! ... :eek:

Actually, the govt already has a ready answer for what happened. But it may not go down well with today's highly educated parents. If the govt comes out and makes any kind of pronouncement suggesting blame, then people will say, "See? They have made up their minds! They don't listen to our voices! They are already closed to advice! etc ". So the smart politically correct Minister has to say, "Let's form a committee!", so that it will appear to come to the same conclusion via some consensus. In a builtup to the General Elections, who wants to risk his huge fortunes on some inept inane remark and be trapped by the hoi polloi and the unwashed peasantry?

We'll see what the Committe come up with. As they say, a camel is a horse created by a committee.

forming a committee is another way of not making a decision, because its a "collective" decision and the public cannot pin point on one person.

Spot on, even if it is the govt at the back massaging what comes out.

forming a committee is another way of not making a decision, because its a "collective" decision and the public cannot pin point on one person.

I am mesmerized by the various insights on 'Committee' here.....

clearly forummers here are seasoned committee-men or are fervent students of the art & science of committeeship :D !

I am mesmerized by the various insights on 'Committee' here.....

clearly forummers here are seasoned committee-men or are fervent students of the art & science of committeeship :D !

Repeat an old joke here since it is apt....

committees are a legacy of the British colonials...
British officials are used to being served, but have to substitute their butlers with Hainanese chefs and waiting staff during their service in Singapore. Very often, over their discussions over stengahs on the verandahs, they will discuss the day's proceedings in their Queen's english. And at times they need to refresh their drinks and sandwiches. Without understanding their accent, the amahs and busboys will be whispering and wondering what their masters are saying. Hei, ee Kong Mit Tee (What is he saying - in Hainanese). They masters will ask, "So ole chap, what is he saying ?". Someone explains that they dont understand what is required and needed clarity. That word stuck, and from thereon, each time the masters need to understand and justify any issues, they form a committee.

From 80s British sitcom Yes Minister...

Minister : There're far too many people just sitting behind desks.

Perm Sec : (Casting a sarcstic look and grin on the Minister who's seated behind his desk) Well Minister, there're two types of chair for two types of Minister.

Minister : And what's that?

Perm Sec : Well one that folds up instantly and one that goes round and round. Which type are you, Minister?

Minister : (Realising it's another joke on him to stall and sidetrack) No no. We have to streamline the bureaucracy. Get rid of 10% of the staff now.

Perm Sec : Now? What do you mean now?

Minister : I mean now! This moment. This minute. Now!

Perm Sec : I see, I'll set the wheels in motion now. We'll set up a committee and hire more people.

Minister : What do you mean hire more people? I want to cut down the bureaucracy!

Perm Sec : We have to set up a committee to study which are the areas to cut. These studies can't be done by non-people. It's commonsense that we have to hire more people in order to hire less people.
Hahaha Yes Minister and Yes Prime Minister always made me laugh.
The perm secretary (was his name Humpheries) was hilarious, as was the PM's secretary Bernard.
The funniest thing about this tv comedy series is that the bumbling minister subsequently became the prime minister.

The PAP bureaucracy is really too much. They can reduce the manpower by 10% at MOE and there will be no noticeable difference. Eat finish and got nothing better to do. Form committees left right and centre for what? School sports is school sports. kids will get injured for sure. even none contact sports, u can get injuries, its not like they are playing american football. This is part of life. Why are they forming committees for this? I think we are the only country in the world that have this money and time to waste on crap like this. Why don't the PAP form a committee on thingsthat really matter? E.g. billions of dollars in GIC and Temasek losses, or high cost of living, or something worthwhile. Fucking Ng want to score points with Old Fart, don't do until like that lah.

A committee shall be formed immediately to discuss on your suggestion by the government to decide if committees should be formed and another committee formed to discuss if forming committees are a waste of time and later after that another committee shall be formed to decide if forming committees are a waste of money and thereafter another committee shall be formed to conclude the findings from the previously formed committees and finally they will formed another committee to formally conclude all and decide they will totally ignore your suggestions and continue forming committees as & when they feel like doing so.

More committee shall also be formed to discuss on kinds of committees to be formed in the future.

Death to all committees

sometimes, no wonder people lament : chor lang jin kang kor !

One person decide - dictator

A few people decide - oligarch

many people decide - committee! bureaucrat!

So how ?

At the end of the day, I can only think of:-

- is speed important?
- is quality of outcome more important?
- wisdom of the decision matters most - whether 1,2 or many decide.

At the end of the day, track record & credibility/reputation becomes important indicators.

That's why Old Man at the end of any complex argument would say : With my 50 years experience in govt ..... everybody lan lan can't rebut..... but he may still be wrong .... it's just that - you won't be able to out-argue him.

sometimes, no wonder people lament : chor lang jin kang kor !

One person decide - dictator

A few people decide - oligarch

many people decide - committee! bureaucrat!

So how ?

At the end of the day, I can only think of:-

- is speed important?
- is quality of outcome more important?
- wisdom of the decision matters most - whether 1,2 or many decide.

At the end of the day, track record & credibility/reputation becomes important indicators.

That's why Old Man at the end of any complex argument would say : With my 50 years experience in govt ..... everybody lan lan can't rebut..... but he may still be wrong .... it's just that - you won't be able to out-argue him.

What shit are u talking about? In this case, there is no need for a decision. have you not read the posts? Sports is sports. injuries will happen. Its unavoidable, need committee for what? need one person to decide what?

Yo, why so emo :cool: ?

I am not referring to this sports/fighting issue ... I am merely following the drift of the thread which has slowly led to a general discussion on the pitfalls of forming committees & 'managing-by-committee' .....

As for the recent fracas involving school sports, be it fighting or injury, to me it is a non-issue molehill made into a mountain ....