• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Angmor passengers put on all their clothes to avoid Scoot's excess weight charge

Why didn't Mr Goh meng seng do this when flying Tigerair?

Cheeky airline passengers avoid $130 charge for having excess luggage… by WEARING all their clothes

• Two male passengers have defied airline staff by piling on all of their clothes to avoid paying an excess luggage fee
  • The pair were checked in to fly from Singapore to Sydney on Scoot airline
  • Airline staff let the comical pair wear the extra attire but threatened to check they were still dressed like that when they boarded the plane

By AMY ZINIAK FOR DAILYMAIL AUSTRALIA

PUBLISHED: 08:04 GMT, 12 August 2014 | UPDATED: 11:44 GMT, 12 August 2014

They were told their luggage was overweight and faced an extra fee of $130 (£72), so these two passengers on their way to Sydney decided to get creative to get out of paying extra costs.

The duo were flying from Singapore to Sydney when they were told by budget airline Scoot that one of their bags was over the free weight limit.

But instead of protesting, the travellers believed to be from San Fransisco, opened their bags and put on as many of their clothes as possible in a bid to escape financial penalty.

article-2722591-20762F7A00000578-440_634x696.jpg

Travellers in Singapore flying to Sydney show off their new trend to avoid being out of pocket $130 (£72) for the excess baggage fee

The cheeky pair sported shoes tucked into their pants, jeans tied around their necks, various layers of jocks and pants, and even hats piled high on top of each other.

Traveller Stou Sandalski witnessed the unusual ordeal and even snapped a photo of the comical duo decked out in their new attire.

He posted the photo to Reddit where it has since gone viral.

Sandalski said Scoot's airline staff warned the pair at the check-in desk.

'I am going to come to the gate and make sure you are still wearing everything,' a staff member told them.

Daily Mail Australia contacted Scoot who said the baggage policy was at the discretion of ground staff at the time.

article-2722591-20762F7600000578-634_306x371.jpg
article-2722591-20762F8200000578-736_306x371.jpg

The two travellers were flying from Singapore to Sydney (left) travelling a little lighter after they unloaded their baggage contents on themselves

article-2722591-20762F7E00000578-309_634x286.jpg

Budget airline Scoot not able to see the funny side of it : making sure the two men kept on their clothes when they arrived to board their plane

Many on social media were quick to jump to the pair's defence.

'Seems like a dumb rule. If a couple pounds is an issue why don't they charge bigger people more (who only need one seat mind you) and/or smaller people less? These airlines... honestly. Doesn't matter if they're still wearing everything at the gate - same weight either way,' one Reddit user posted.

Another user said: 'I did this once, crammed all clothes on me in front of the security people (long story short, they were being ridiculously unreasonable). They gave me the stink eye but couldn't refuse me boarding. Once I entered the lounge I got a round of applauds by the people who'd witnessed the whole ordeal'.

The Reddit have no idea the operating model of budget airlines. Till today i have come across people I know that book flights on budget airlines at short notice without checking mainstream airlines where everything is provided in the fare.

This is despite the age of internet where you can check fares before you book.

And which airline is going to waste time checking what they wear at the gate once the bag has already been checked in.

The Reddit have no idea the operating model of budget airlines. Till today i have come across people I know that book flights on budget airlines at short notice without checking mainstream airlines where everything is provided in the fare.

This is despite the age of internet where you can check fares before you book.

Nigger they are called redditors not the reddit. Mind you the reddit is one of the biggest internet communitites in the world it's a laugh if you say they don't know the costs of operating an airline especially since in the US there are many domestic budget airlines.

Btw do you even know the purpose of a budget airline? You yourself said it's at short notice so it's obvious there would most likely be no flights available on a mainstream airline. Also what does not checking the prices on a mainstream airline have to do with anything? It looks like you're implying those so called ppl you know don't check on mainstream airlines and somehow this proves that budget airlines are good? What a laugh.

The point is that a small minded airline run by money grubbing Asians slapping a fee on hapless travellers. If they can wear all that on themselves, the luggage is not grossly over the limit. A terrible publicity for a new airline.

And, it woild appear this rule may not be common in north america. Are travellers here getting the short end of the stick here? Small wonder governments block national airlines from being acquired by SIA. Singapore companies are well known for fleecing their customers, and anti trust bureaus would be foolish to allow consolidation of market power by Singapore Inc.

i always have to remove my flux capacitor from my luggage as it always tip the weight over the limit on sq flights. hand carry the fc with me is a problem especially going through security thus i would set the time a few minutes ahead and viola i'm through security in a flash. :p

Stupid dumb airline........liddat also want to fleece customers..........KNN, go fuck spiders lah.

'Seems like a dumb rule. If a couple pounds is an issue why don't they charge bigger people more (who only need one seat mind you) and/or smaller people less? These airlines... honestly. Doesn't matter if they're still wearing everything at the gate - same weight either way,' one Reddit user posted.

Of course. It's a dumb airline run by dumber people.

Heed my advice: boycott Scoot, Tigerair and SIA.

Airline staff let the comical pair wear the extra attire but threatened to check they were still dressed like that when they boarded the plane

Wah.... threaten customers leh! What's this: reprimanding naughty schoolchildren? :rolleyes:

Stop giving your business to these condescending pricks.

voucher

Have tried Tiger and Silkair and found them not too bad. Not yet tried Scoot or Sia but maybe at the end of the year.