• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

AngMoh: Dun Enslave Sporns With NS!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>No room in forces for divided loyalties
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I REFER to Monday's article, 'Give up citizenship? Brothers must do NS first'. I am in agreement with the compulsory national service policy.
It is the Government's responsibility to provide a working military to serve and protect the people, especially in such a small country as ours, and NS has, over the years, become an integral and honoured part of Singapore life.
However, surely it is unwise to force those who obviously owe allegiance to a country, other than Singapore, to be part of our military?
Even more, isn't it a duty to ensure that those in our defence force actually love and care for our nation, which it is their duty to protect? One reason dual citizenship is disallowed, is that the dual passport holder may have divided loyalties between the two countries, should they come into conflict. Then doesn't the practice of forcing citizens who have openly stated that their allegiance to another country, to join our military, undermine the very security the military is supposed to provide?
Citizenship is a privilege, not a sentence, and NS is a duty for those who want to retain it, not a debt that must be paid before one is released from it.
Singapore may be running low on population, but surely we want to attract people to come and live in our beautiful country - not enslave them within it?
If nationalism is forced on us with the threat of the whip, or bound to us with shackles - is it any wonder people do not wish to have children here, and our best and brightest flee for other places?
So honour and reward Singaporeans who do serve our nation in this way - for a nation cannot be better served, than by those who love her.
Tim Begent

chinkangkor

All these NS problems stem from the fact that NS burden male citizens with military obligations without any concomitant privileges or benefits to male citizens for shouldering such burdensome and sometimes dangerous duties.

Who in their right mind would want such a raw deal if they can avoid it?

All these NS problems stem from the fact that NS burden male citizens with military obligations without any concomitant privileges or benefits to male citizens for shouldering such burdensome and sometimes dangerous duties.

Who in their right mind would want such a raw deal if they can avoid it?

66%: Me? *hee*hee*

Man in the streets

Tim,

Sorry lah, old fart and dogs are busy about the sliver medal .
They are parading at AMK hub.

You are ang moh, old fart wants you to create jobs and not to talk cock.
NS is slavery since old fat era, you can leave sinkpaore if you hate old fart's NS policy

Tim , you know this is a pretty island with a fucktard regime, go to the point to fuck PAP and dont beat the bush, you are becoming like 66%, support leegime and wants oppo parties to speak for you.

Aussie Pete

Children of PRs also need to do NS... whether we agree or not, this is part of the decision-making process when we decide to make SG our home.

Many of my local friends don't agree with compulsory NS - everyone to their own opinion - why's this thread turning into the usual 'ang moh' bash?

Children of PRs also need to do NS... whether we agree or not, this is part of the decision-making process when we decide to make SG our home.

Many of my local friends don't agree with compulsory NS - everyone to their own opinion - why's this thread turning into the usual 'ang moh' bash?

Are u a PeeR and have u served NS?

chinkangkor

The govt can shaft NS down the throats of those who don't have a choice. But does it foster loyalties and pride, a sense of belonging to S'pore? The opposite effect seems to be happening.

Aussie Pete

Why did you not take up citizenship? Are your kids citzens?
Singapore Govt don't allow children of non-citizens to be citizens even if they are born here - one of the few countries in the world that do this... just because I and my family are not citizens yet, doesn't mean we are not considering it - there are many things to think about, ranging from heritage, culture, religion, passport travel restrictions, taxation (and hundreds more, many which are specific to us, and actually a little too personal to discuss on an internet forum). Furthermore, the Govt also has many restrictions of it's own, that we would first need to satisfy - just because someone is ang moh, does not automatically give them right to citizenship (regardless of popular belief).

Now I'll ask you a question - why do you care if I'm a foreign employee, PR or citizen? My hair and skin colour will still remain the same. :biggrin: seem to have gone way off topic.

Aussie Pete

I should also add (in relation to the original topic), that when my grandfather served in the Australian armed services defending Singapore in the 2nd world war, before being taken POW by the Japanese and made work on a railroad in another country, he was always an Australian citizen. His loyalty to Australia did not stop him fighting side by side with Singaporeans to try and protect their country. We cannot forget our history, and to me this makes Tim's entire post a moot argument.

Lestat

Aussie Pete,

Well said. I like your replies. Shows that you do put some thought into what you want to say, unlike most retards. :biggrin:

chinkangkor

I should also add (in relation to the original topic), that when my grandfather served in the Australian armed services defending Singapore in the 2nd world war, before being taken POW by the Japanese and made work on a railroad in another country, he was always an Australian citizen. His loyalty to Australia did not stop him fighting side by side with Singaporeans to try and protect their country. We cannot forget our history, and to me this makes Tim's entire post a moot argument.

S'pore was a British colony then and Australia fought side by side with the British against Japanese aggression, in Australia's own interest.

Aussie Pete

S'pore was a British colony then and Australia fought side by side with the British against Japanese aggression, in Australia's own interest.
So you're saying my Grandfather didn't fight and suffer to protect Singapore and the SGpean people? Rest his soul - I had lengthy conversations with him on this subject before he passed, and know that he would disagree strongly with you. How can you dare try to guess his motivations?

What your grand dad did and the suffering he had to endure for Peesai is indeed commendable. He certainly deserves to be honoured more that than the PRC $luts that are already thinking of excuses of making their way back to PRC after they've made their buck. But that sais, remember that Peesai and Oz were part of the British Empire then. Peesai was lost to the Japs in 3 days despite its defenders outnumbering the Japs x to 1. This does lend weight to the writer's suspicion on the effectiveness of an army in which there is no sense of belonging among its soldiers. This is also clearly written in history. And Peesai is allowing history to repeat itself with the unbridled influx of FTrash. And as long as you refuse to take up the Peesai citizenship for whatever reason, you cannot expect your words to carry as much weight as you would like to - at least with the citizens, and especially on rights and privileges that cirizens should enjoy.

chinkangkor

So you're saying my Grandfather didn't fight and suffer to protect Singapore and the SGpean people? Rest his soul - I had lengthy conversations with him on this subject before he passed, and know that he would disagree strongly with you. How can you dare try to guess his motivations?

Those were British subjects and national identities aside, I'm sure during those trying times, your Grandfather's sacrifice was deeply appreciated as they forged alliance to fight a common enemy - the Japanese army.

Aussie Pete

"He certainly deserves to be honoured more that than the PRC $luts that are already thinking of excuses of making their way back to PRC after they've made their buck. But that sais, remember that Peesai and Oz were part of the British Empire then. Peesai was lost to the Japs in 3 days despite its defenders outnumbering the Japs x to 1. This does lend weight to the writer's suspicion on the effectiveness of an army in which there is no sense of belonging among its soldiers. This is also clearly written in history. And Peesai is allowing history to repeat itself with the unbridled influx of FTrash. And as long as you refuse to take up the Peesai citizenship for whatever reason, you cannot expect your words to carry as much weight as you would like to - at least with the citizens, and especially on rights and privileges that cirizens should enjoy."

The writer did not once talk about 'effectiveness of an army' due to no 'sense of belonging' - this would give an entirely different meaning to the article... he speaks of allegiance to one's country. In war, without a doubt, allegience is also to one's allies.

History clearly shows why the Japanese were so successful in their invasion, and it was predominately due to underestimating the enemy and geography.

Please re-read my post, I did not say I had refused to take up citizenship, in fact I implied we are considering it - as for the rest of your post, it's just too blatantly racist to respond to.

Two last points - 1/ you did not answer my question on what my citizenship status has to do with you? and 2/ do you spend your entire life on internet forums? - there are many other things out there in the big wide world of interest...if you want to talk racist cock all the time, I'm sure people would love to hear your courageous opinions face-to-face so they can respond in kind :p

Take care and God bless - I've gotta go jump on a plane now. :p

"He certainly deserves to be honoured more that than the PRC $luts that are already thinking of excuses of making their way back to PRC after they've made their buck. But that sais, remember that Peesai and Oz were part of the British Empire then. Peesai was lost to the Japs in 3 days despite its defenders outnumbering the Japs x to 1. This does lend weight to the writer's suspicion on the effectiveness of an army in which there is no sense of belonging among its soldiers. This is also clearly written in history. And Peesai is allowing history to repeat itself with the unbridled influx of FTrash. And as long as you refuse to take up the Peesai citizenship for whatever reason, you cannot expect your words to carry as much weight as you would like to - at least with the citizens, and especially on rights and privileges that cirizens should enjoy."

The writer did not once talk about 'effectiveness of an army' due to no 'sense of belonging' - this would give an entirely different meaning to the article... he speaks of allegiance to one's country. In war, without a doubt, allegience is also to one's allies.

History clearly shows why the Japanese were so successful in their invasion, and it was predominately due to underestimating the enemy and geography.

Please re-read my post, I did not say I had refused to take up citizenship, in fact I implied we are considering it - as for the rest of your post, it's just too blatantly racist to respond to.

Two last points - 1/ you did not answer my question on what my citizenship status has to do with you? and 2/ do you spend your entire life on internet forums? - there are many other things out there in the big wide world of interest...if you want to talk racist cock all the time, I'm sure people would love to hear your courageous opinions face-to-face so they can respond in kind :p

Take care and God bless - I've gotta go jump on a plane now. :p

U also failed to understand my reply cos you're too eager to dodge the all important question of refusing to take up citizenship until now. And u're now even resorting to your Papaya masters' b.s. of "if you wanna talk politics, I must see your face and be part of a political party". Let me tell you, we dun buy this crap. It's FTrash like yourselves that better become citizens and serve NS first before telling us what to do and why you and your spawn deserve to be treated better than citizens, who are making real sacrifices at this very moment just so that you can come here to talk cock. Gotta jump on a plane now? Sure, cos Singapore is not your homeland and FTrash like you would be the first to run road at the earliest sign on trouble. Dun come back if you can. Singapre respects and salutes your grandfather, but we DO NOT welcome YOU.