• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ang Mohs who fake Singlish accent

Queen Seok Duk

Have you come across Ang Mohs in your workplace who fake Singlish accent ? They would purposely add a 'la' at the end of their sentences, and make sure that you know they're speaking unnaturally.

Are these people trying to integrate into Singapore or are they simply mocking Singaporeans ?

Why would you do if an angmoh fake Singlish accent right before your eyes ?

Have you come across Ang Mohs in your workplace who fake Singlish accent ? They would purposely add a 'la' at the end of their sentences, and make sure that you know they're speaking unnaturally.

Are these people trying to integrate into Singapore or are they simply mocking Singaporeans ?

What would you do if a Singla fakes American accent right before your ears?

Language is something that can't be copyrighted.

That's why English is written in Roman and Japanese is written in Chinese.

That's why Americans can accuse Brit accent and oversea Chinese can accuse PRC accent.

Non-Singaporeans who use Singlish fall into three groups:
  • Some are trying to mock the way we speak;
  • Others 'fake', i.e. uncomfortably use our speech features to fit in;
  • A third group have simply picked up our speech features without realizing it.

What the proportions are merits a PhD thesis. Is YRH interested?

It sounds as bad as sinkie trying to fake angmo accent.

There is a big difference.

When Sinkies fake angmo accent, we're speaking a language that did not originate from us. We're speaking their language.

When Angmos fake Singlish accent, they're deliberately speaking 'away' from what was in fact their own language.

An appropriate parallel would be Chinese faking the way Angmos speak Mandarin. Are we not making fun of Angmos in that sense ?

Nothing wrong

Maybe they are trying to fit in or be nice?

Unless they do it in a sneering and mocking manner, then you should slap their hairy balls

Nothing wrong

Maybe they are trying to fit in or be nice?

Unless they do it in a sneering and mocking manner, then you should slap their hairy balls

It's like Singaporeans fake Johorean accent when they speak Mandarin.

The same with Taiwanese faking Hongkie's accent when they speak Mandarin.

I PRC Mandarin accent,北方 accent to find PRC mei mei how?

It matters why they speak with a fake accent.
If a Singkie speaks with a fake ang moh accent because he is concerned that the ang moh does not understand his singkie accent, I'm a bit more sympathetic. Similarly for an ang moh who speaks with a fake singkie accent because he is trying to fit in or because he has adopted it.
No sympathies for those who are mocking or those who are trying to brag.

It matters why they speak with a fake accent.
If a Singkie speaks with a fake ang moh accent because he is concerned that the ang moh does not understand his singkie accent, I'm a bit more sympathetic. Similarly for an ang moh who speaks with a fake singkie accent because he is trying to fit in or because he has adopted it.
No sympathies for those who are mocking or those who are trying to brag.

When a Angmo says: "Ok LAH...! I undertstand LAH...!"

I leave it to you to draw the conclusion, whether he is mocking or trying to fit in.

When a Angmo says: "Ok LAH...! I undertstand LAH...!"

I leave it to you to draw the conclusion, whether he is mocking or trying to fit in.

He's probably just worried you can't understand if he speaks proper English.