• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ang Moh: Raffles Hotel Only Interested in Serving Ang Mohs!

May 3, 2010

Service unbecoming of an icon

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
I REFER to last Friday's letter by Ms Joanna Hoare, 'Singapore Sling at icon of service sours memory', in which she describes the poor service attitudes she encountered on a recent visit to Raffles Hotel.
I empathise with her and would like to add my own experiences.
On Feb 20, my friend and I had a dinner appointment at Raffles Grill. On approaching the hotel door, we noted that only one half-door was open and there were two 'bouncers' standing there. One asked my friend, 'May I help you?', with a tone of voice that implied, 'So where do you think you're going?'
My friend took particular exception to this as it seemed the hotel was only interested in serving Caucasians. On arriving at the Grill, we noticed it was almost empty.
However, the final horror was still to come. At the end of the meal, we were each offered a large pink candy floss more in keeping with the fun fair at Coney Island in New York than a supposed five-star hotel. We saw this as a cheap marketing gimmick if ever there was one.
When the bill came, we noted, as did Ms Hoare, that the cost was extremely high. In our case, more than $500.
In sum, although there were some redeeming points, the overall dining experience and attitude was way below that of earlier days and certainly not befitting of a hotel like Raffles.
I wrote a complaint to the hotel's general manager on Feb 26 as my friend and I were upset by the seemingly racist 'welcome' we received on arrival. A reply - making no reference to this - was sent only two weeks later on March 9. Such in itself suggests lack of interest and importance accorded to guests by a senior employee of the hotel.
I rather wonder whether these attitudes are a reflection of poor service standards in their own right or whether it has anything to do with the fact that Raffles is no longer a Singapore icon, owned - as it is - by foreign interests whose major concern is presumably to see a handsome financial return from the property rather than provide a quality experience for guests.
Dr Peter Hardstone

newpic-hot.jpg

Donch kar cheow me being served by PRC MMs hor! *hee*hee*

May 3, 2010

It tasted like over-sweetened cough medicine

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
THANK you for publishing last Friday's letter by Ms Joanna Hoare, 'Singapore Sling at icon of service sours memory'.
I could not agree more with her. I went to Raffles Hotel with my husband on my first trip to Singapore in 2008. We were given no menu, only a cheeky smile from the waiter: 'Two Singapore Slings to start with?'
It tasted like over-sweetened cough medicine, and cost $58.
It is a real shame as this hotel is part of Singapore's image and it just gives a bad name to this beautiful hotel and country.
Xiaodan Wang (Ms)

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=heading>Latest comments</TD></TR><TR><TD id=messageDisplayRegion width="100%"><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Need to upgrade Singapore Sling......... taste nothing like Singapore.
There is not much Singaporeness in Raffles Hotel anymore........ the people, the managment, the owner.

</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: kjks at Mon May 03 07:52:43 SGT 2010

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=AlternatePost cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Today Singapore is call THEIR SINGAPORE (see lah ST early morning silver lining) that 1 is hinting our future leaders all of you must go for lasik treatment lah tidor too long not healthy lah alamak

</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: dusbinahmad at Mon May 03 07:40:55 SGT 2010

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>MaluforSG, why it take so long for you to realise "Your Singapore" does not mean you, means foreigners. No wonder our own MM is calling us daft. Ask again if you are not sure, now is a good time to ask. In a few years time there will not be anybody to ask, most of us be living in neighboring country old folk home

</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: nonamepost at Mon May 03 07:13:35 SGT 2010

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=AlternatePost cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>where is alamak2 been living for the last five years. We are fighting for foreigners. Stay and fight for who. They are going to add another 100,000 foreigner/FT/PR by next year.

</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: nonamepost at Mon May 03 07:07:23 SGT 2010

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>How come survey not done on local living in Singapore. Is it the case that nobody is interested in what the local think. I have a suspicion maybe more foreigner then local here.

</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: nonamepost at Mon May 03 07:02:38 SGT 2010

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

pls get the facts right before making so much noise.
sir stamford raffles built this raffles hotel to serve the needs of immigrant angmohs during those days.
anything wrong?
there are so many hotels in singapore eg. hotel 81.
why must go there kana trashed?

It was a mistake for Singapore to tear down the old Raffles Hotel. What they now have is not a restoration, but an abomination. Singapore continues to destroy much of its history, and soon why would anyone want to visit Singapore? To gamble? For the "night life?"
Now that Singapore has destroyed much of its cultural heritage, it is going on to destroy its people by bringing in so-called "Foreign talents" to replace Singapore's own citizens - who now are leaving Singapore in record numbers. Singapore is becoming a Disneyland, populated by non-Singaporeans - including the multitude of hookers.
The "good old days" are pretty much gone forever.
It is sad.

slowly all the iconic symbols gone one by one...left with the namless MBS and the listless RWS!!! NNB!!!

singapore sling taste like sai zhui...why? bcos of Newater what...what else haha..

It is Sai zhui ( aka newater) with rose syrup ( now F&N magnolia) add some acohol...you get sTinkerpore SIlNg....:p