• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ang Moh Kena Trapped Between MRT Train Doors!

Jul 22, 2010

Problem with train doors

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
I AM writing to highlight a major issue with train doors on the MRT system, especially on the North-East Line.
Recently, I saw an incident which could have turned into a disaster had it not been for some very helpful and vigilant Singaporeans. I had just alighted at Dhoby Ghaut MRT station when a tourist family of four rushed into the train as the doors were closing. I imagine they did this as they were unaware how quickly the doors close with little warning.
As they rushed into the train, the father was caught between the train doors with their newborn child in a pram. Even more frightening, the doors continued to close even as the two were stuck, struggling to pull loose the stuck pram and child. With a few cries for help from the family, two men forced the pram out of the doors before the train pulled out of the station.�
My question to the authorities is this. Why do train doors not have a safety feature so they open automatically when they detect an obstruction?
I know they do not as I have seen this occur on many other occasions, including to me. With the force of the closing doors, it is a matter of time before someone is seriously injured.
Todd Beltz

Jul 22, 2010

SMRT: Checking train door episode

WE ARE sorry to learn about Mr Tan Kim Hock's experience at Bugis MRT station ('Caught repeatedly by closing MRT doors'; July 5).
Stringent measures and procedures are in place to ensure passenger safety. Before all train doors close, there is a chime, a door-closing announcement and a buzzer to warn passengers of the impending closure.
The train officer is required to check the in-train closed-circuit television before closing the train doors. If the doors are not fully closed, the train officer is immediately alerted by indicator lights and will re-open the doors to allow the object to be moved out of the way. During peak hours, there are service ambassadors stationed at the platform area to facilitate commuter movement.
We are currently investigating the matter involving Mr Tan, and the train officer will be disciplined if he did not follow procedures.
Bernadette Low (Ms)
Manager, Corporate Marketing and Communications
SMRT Corporation

<!-- story content : end -->

2 questions:-
1)Where is the "train officer" located?
2)Why can't train doors be made to open automatically like elevator doors when they sense an onstruction?

Seems like safety is hinged on the "alertness" of the train officer. Scary isn't it? What if he is not alert?

They are caught ... (fill in the blank yourself!)

looks like

1. take bus die
2. Take car also die
3...lookslike MRT soon can die

think i stay home lah

1)Where is the "train officer" located?
2)Why can't train doors be made to open automatically like elevator doors when they sense an onstruction?

Seems like safety is hinged on the "alertness" of the train officer. Scary isn't it? What if he is not alert?

They are not hi-tech savvy enough to implement that? The HK MTR is so much better.

... a tourist family of four rushed into the train as the doors were closing. ...
often c dese kind of ppl ...

door oredi closing, yet dey want 2 rush in ... cannot wait 10 min 4 nex train meh? ...

if u urself, 1 single person never mind la ... but got big, got small, 4 persons ... where r u rushing 2? ...

It is Act of God. No amount of engineering can prevent such accident.

often c dese kind of ppl ...

door oredi closing, yet dey want 2 rush in ... cannot wait 10 min 4 nex train meh? ...

if u urself, 1 single person never mind la ... but got big, got small, 4 persons ... where r u rushing 2? ...

This is not the point. The point is where are the safety measures? Apparently the MRT does not have sensors to automatically open the doors. Is this to save costs?

People will rush in. There are many foreigners in SG who are not aware of this "death trap". So are you saying they should be torn apart just because they rush into the train when the doors are closing?

Besides, if the MRT arrivals are more frequent, people will not rush into the trains.

They are not hi-tech savvy enough to implement that? The HK MTR is so much better.

Hi-tech has nothing to do with it because all these things are out-sourced to foreign companies. I think more a matter of dollars and cents.

This is not the point. The point is where are the safety measures? Apparently the MRT does not have sensors to automatically open the doors. Is this to save costs?

People will rush in. There are many foreigners in SG who are not aware of this "death trap". So are you saying they should be torn apart just because they rush into the train when the doors are closing?

Besides, if the MRT arrivals are more frequent, people will not rush into the trains.
u wanna push evryting onto smrt, oso can la ... up 2 u 1 la ... :D

Dear Tan Kim Hock

Next time wait for the next train.

Please don't endanger your family or disrupt the train service.

Thank you

Train door cannot close because of Chewing gum. Ban Chewing gum.

Train door cannot close due to ppl, Ban ppl? Cannot lah.
So how, still close otherwise train door can never close, how to move, schedule delay. Ppl must learn to adapt to this, like the floods, no matter how much engineering will not available to solve the issue.

one time i saw this gundu lady. she tot the mrt door like lift door. she faster rush in when the door is closing. use her hand to stop the door. and the door "kiap" the hand for few seconds then open.
panic bitch...
sooo..em..ba..rass..ing...

why ppl so stupid must think the door shud be like lift door ? if the mrt doors shud be like the lift door... imagine 1deck got 4 doors.. 6 decks got 24 doors.. if everyone put their farking hand and stop the door from closing.. MRT no need to move liao lor...

knnbccb stupiak gundu angmoh...
take cab lah.. stupiak..

Jul 22, 2010

Problem with train doors

I AM writing to highlight a major issue with train doors on the MRT system, especially on the North-East Line.
Recently, I saw an incident which could have turned into a disaster had it not been for some very helpful and vigilant Singaporeans. I had just alighted at Dhoby Ghaut MRT station when a tourist family of four rushed into the train as the doors were closing. I imagine they did this as they were unaware how quickly the doors close with little warning.
As they rushed into the train, the father was caught between the train doors with their newborn child in a pram. Even more frightening, the doors continued to close even as the two were stuck, struggling to pull loose the stuck pram and child. With a few cries for help from the family, two men forced the pram out of the doors before the train pulled out of the station.�
My question to the authorities is this. Why do train doors not have a safety feature so they open automatically when they detect an obstruction?
I know they do not as I have seen this occur on many other occasions, including to me. With the force of the closing doors, it is a matter of time before someone is seriously injured.
Todd Beltz

Personally I encountered this, it was not an ang moh couple, but a local with the baby pram stuck on the gap & the door was closing fast, no one reacted...I pressed the emergeny butteon to stop the train, risking a $5,000 fine...fortunately there was an off duty SMRT train officer near to the door, witness it & he called control from there using the train intercom.

It was the NEL...

It is Act of God. No amount of engineering can prevent such accident.

6xyhch.jpg

YES ! IT'S HIM !!! UP THERE !!!​

This is a system designed to counter kiasu Sinkies.
If there was a kiap detection device, the doors would never close as passengers will keep activating it so that the train will wait for them.

one time i saw this gundu lady. she tot the mrt door like lift door. she faster rush in when the door is closing. use her hand to stop the door. and the door "kiap" the hand for few seconds then open.
panic bitch...
sooo..em..ba..rass..ing...

why ppl so stupid must think the door shud be like lift door ? if the mrt doors shud be like the lift door... imagine 1deck got 4 doors.. 6 decks got 24 doors.. if everyone put their farking hand and stop the door from closing.. MRT no need to move liao lor...

knnbccb stupiak gundu angmoh...
take cab lah.. stupiak..

Be realistic, there won't be a case where everyone puts their fucking hands to stop the doors from closing. How many incidents per year? Why you base your argument on something that never happens?

If you do not have sensors, why can't the doors close slower so that people can react?

Be realistic, there won't be a case where everyone puts their fucking hands to stop the doors from closing. How many incidents per year? Why you base your argument on something that never happens?

If you do not have sensors, why can't the doors close slower so that people can react?

i base on someone's argument and it happens everyday just u dint see it. must it be reported everyday?
the more the door close slower the more those monkeys take their sweet time to enter and ppl starts to complain why the train arrive so slow..

If train move off with the Ang Moh stuck between the door. That will be world news. Lucky for good samitarian is there to help.
Sue the SMRT.

Very funny reply by SMRT.
1. We have CCTV ( working CCTV if so anyone monitoring chances 99% not one looking at the monitor)
2. Have officer station at platform.( really or not maybe one day only do 2 round patrol check)
3. What happen to the door sensor( maintenance never check properly)
4. How come train can move without door closing. ( This is the serious matter the 1st of line of safety MRT dont even have).