• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ang Moh: Dun Believe PAPee FTrash Create Jobs BS!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Dec 28, 2008
YOUR LETTERS
</TR><!-- headline one : start --><TR>What's 'colonial mindset' got to do with it?
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I fail to find one iota of evidence in Andrew Raven's article, 'Sheepish in Singapore' (Dec 7) that the 'comments from frothing-mad Western tourists' stranded in Bangkok were 'steeped in the sort of colonial mindset'.
Is it a surprise to find that some tourists might not care about 'your problems', 'want to go home', or would wonder why the government wasn't 'doing more', after several days of frustrating attempts to leave the country?
I know, and was involved in the repatriation of several Asians in the same position who were equally vociferous in their comments.
Such a 'mindset' and comments were witnessed in London during the Terminal Five debacle, and in other countries during strikes and other disruptions. Why, because they are made by Caucasians in an Asian setting, do they suddenly become evidence of a colonial mindset?
Many young Caucasian journalists have sought to burnish their credentials in Singapore by taking cheap shots at their own racial group, and the history for which we are all supposed to bear some shameful responsibility.
It is interesting to note also that, to the same apparent end, they always manage to introduce the fact that they live in an HDB flat into their articles: 'I'm one of you, not one of them.'
In this effort, Mr Raven appears to mimic a parrot rather than his namesake bird.
'Many locals believe foreign nationals are here either for money or a young wife.' Evidence of what? Many also think they are here because they bring money, jobs and opportunities, or in the case of the Singapore Government, foreign talent.
In his article, Mr Raven berates a perceived prejudice in the Westerners whom he quotes, and displays a highly offensive prejudice towards his own.
Benjamin Mander
Hong Kong
<!-- end of for each --><!-- Current Ratings : start --><!-- Current Ratings : end --><!-- vbbintegration : start -->