WOW! Very grand..the MP came this afternoon, moments ago. Here's a transcript of our interaction:
Carryball: *bang the door super loud* MP coming, MP coming
(KNN..next time, ring the doorbell please! Baby sleeping!!!)
After 3 mins, the MP showed up.
MP: Hallo, how are you?
SosoHeaven: Not so good
MP: *concerned face* Anything I can help you?
SosoHeaven: My father needs a job
MP: Oh, what did he used to work as?
SosoHeaven: He was an engineer, but got retrenched 3 years before retirement - and the "redundant" position was given to a Filipino.
MP: Oh dear...
SosoHeaven: *fume*
MP: You can ask your father to come and join the RC. We have many fun activities?
SosoHeaven: Are the activities paid?
MP: Yes, you pay to join some of the activities...
SosoHeaven: *steaming* No, no..what I meant, is it a job, do u pay him?
MP: Uh..no...
SosoHeaven: So you can't help us lah?
MP: We will try..
SosoHeaven: Like?
MP: (talk to Carryball) Please see if there's any assistance they can have
Carryball: Yes, sir..
MP: We will look into how we can help you.
SosoHeaven: Good..can you please help before May 7..
MP: (laughs)..We will try..
MP: How long have you lived here?
SosoHeaven: 18 years (this is in Tampines GRC)
MP: WOW!!
SosoHeaven: How about you? How long have you lived here?
MP: Oh, I don't live here..
SosoHeaven: So where do you live?
MP: I live in Bt Timah
SosoHeaven: Landed?
MP: Yes
SosoHeaven: (roll eyes)
MP: (obviously uncomfortable) Is there anything else...
SosoHeaven: Got...this block has a mosquito problem
MP: (to CarryBall) you all have to check properly!!!!
CarryBall: Yes sir...
SosoHeaven: It's ok.
A few tips to PAP grassroots:
1) It is a hot day, please have wet wipes or tissues to wipe off the perspiration when you come. Not nice shaking sweaty palms
2) Knock nicely, always apologise first for "disturbing" people. These are manners. I don't like it that the attitude is pretty arrogant leh.
3) Don't hardsell the RC.
4) I think the candidates should all put up where they stay. I'd be impressed if they live in my district. Got home team advantage.
5) Better have ready answers to obvious problems, e.g. unemployment. To give more perspective, my father went to so many job hunts organised by e2i, NTUC etc. This is a grad leh. No jobs....e2i asked him if he wants to be a waiter. WTF. HOW CAN THIS BE REASONABLE? I am already seeing my own future. Grad also no use, maybe I will end up as a road sweeper albeit a highly qualified one. :(
Carryball: *bang the door super loud* MP coming, MP coming
(KNN..next time, ring the doorbell please! Baby sleeping!!!)
After 3 mins, the MP showed up.
MP: Hallo, how are you?
SosoHeaven: Not so good
MP: *concerned face* Anything I can help you?
SosoHeaven: My father needs a job
MP: Oh, what did he used to work as?
SosoHeaven: He was an engineer, but got retrenched 3 years before retirement - and the "redundant" position was given to a Filipino.
MP: Oh dear...
SosoHeaven: *fume*
MP: You can ask your father to come and join the RC. We have many fun activities?
SosoHeaven: Are the activities paid?
MP: Yes, you pay to join some of the activities...
SosoHeaven: *steaming* No, no..what I meant, is it a job, do u pay him?
MP: Uh..no...
SosoHeaven: So you can't help us lah?
MP: We will try..
SosoHeaven: Like?
MP: (talk to Carryball) Please see if there's any assistance they can have
Carryball: Yes, sir..
MP: We will look into how we can help you.
SosoHeaven: Good..can you please help before May 7..
MP: (laughs)..We will try..
MP: How long have you lived here?
SosoHeaven: 18 years (this is in Tampines GRC)
MP: WOW!!
SosoHeaven: How about you? How long have you lived here?
MP: Oh, I don't live here..
SosoHeaven: So where do you live?
MP: I live in Bt Timah
SosoHeaven: Landed?
MP: Yes
SosoHeaven: (roll eyes)
MP: (obviously uncomfortable) Is there anything else...
SosoHeaven: Got...this block has a mosquito problem
MP: (to CarryBall) you all have to check properly!!!!
CarryBall: Yes sir...
SosoHeaven: It's ok.
A few tips to PAP grassroots:
1) It is a hot day, please have wet wipes or tissues to wipe off the perspiration when you come. Not nice shaking sweaty palms
2) Knock nicely, always apologise first for "disturbing" people. These are manners. I don't like it that the attitude is pretty arrogant leh.
3) Don't hardsell the RC.
4) I think the candidates should all put up where they stay. I'd be impressed if they live in my district. Got home team advantage.
5) Better have ready answers to obvious problems, e.g. unemployment. To give more perspective, my father went to so many job hunts organised by e2i, NTUC etc. This is a grad leh. No jobs....e2i asked him if he wants to be a waiter. WTF. HOW CAN THIS BE REASONABLE? I am already seeing my own future. Grad also no use, maybe I will end up as a road sweeper albeit a highly qualified one. :(