• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

AMK- GRC may look impossible under PAP 6 , but it may be the weakest GRC of all !

Tiu Kwang Yew

Old saying always tell people –the most dangerous place may be the safest place right !
Just like army days at the graveyard, it is most peaceful place you can twang (of course you don’t think about Russell Lee ghost stories).

If you study AMK GRC proper, last GE, WP sent a young team to test water, they won 35% !
Voters sensed WP was not serious about taking care AMK GRC, just a test of support , and surprisingly, the result was good. The percentage could have gone higher if not the Gomez saga becos both GRCs are neighbors !

Put Yio chu kang into AMK GRC in fact, is just to demoralize the Oppo !
Not so much about capability of the PAP candidates, it is just the manpower issue !
Oppo think PM ward will gather giving-face votes to Ah Loong right ! So they cow away right !
If you think like that, you only let the monster to grow !

Now the most interesting part is that they cut Hougang -Ave 8 people to AMK GRC, these voters were from big kampongs of Yio Chu Kang and Jalan kayu , they are hardcore WP supporters or we say , Oppo supporters (80%) !

So can guys see the weakness ?

Aljunied GRC will fall , this is imminent , no one can deny but what about AMK GRC ?

AMK GRC is also one of weakest PAP GRCs ! This is serious !

Oppo missing out AMK GRC will be a ghastly mistake !

Single wards are useless , oppo resources should channel at GRCs, at weaker GRCs, AMK GRC is one of them !

Man in the streets

Re: AMK- GRC may look impossible under PAP 6 , but it may be the weakest GRC of all

50/50 chance for WP to contest if they use more matured candidates unlike the past !

Well, WP may win 100 or 200 votes , a very close fight !

But instead WP is aiming for other unfamiliar ground !

True, not contesting AMK is a big loss to Oppo, deposit will not be eaten away !

cleareyes

Re: AMK- GRC may look impossible under PAP 6 , but it may be the weakest GRC of all

While you guys are only thinking of overthrowing PAP and without thinking of continuatity and alternative situation that could arise, WP is thinking of replacing PAP gradually as the alternative ruling party.

There are times when removal of the head dont kill the monster but created another two more.

Strategy is the best way to move ahead, not rush in with no long term plans.

Tiu-leh-see-fart

Removing the one at AMK will indirectly kill the true monster !
There are enough good people to go round, without PAP, Singapore will still carry on.
We may be better off with Lim chin Siong, kampongs with good sanitation can be also a good and cheap living.
More importantly, people must see true wealth and not piling up HDB debts for the reserves

Robert Half

I hope to see SPP 23 yrs old Alex Tan lead a team to contest in AMK GRC :biggrin:

cleareyes

There are enough good people to go round, without PAP, Singapore will still carry on.
We may be better off with Lim chin Siong, kampongs with good sanitation can be also a good and cheap living.
More importantly, people must see true wealth and not piling up HDB debts for the reserves

Stop living in the past and face the present and the future.

The days of Lim Chin Siong is over. Whatever happened before had happened. So with all the noise making and rash action change the past? It wont even brought justice as nothing can be compared upon.

You think by voting out LHL and you indirectly could kill PAP? You seem to forgot who is DPM after LHL and that fellow is more hardline.

Dont miss the forest by just looking at a single tree.

Man in the streets

In fact, Voting out Ah Loong eventually will weaken the PAP . This is a fact because the old one will go also. When the old one's gone, ministers will have nobody to impress, these people dont know how to serve the people !

Many first world countries have first -class kampong houses, they are unique,clean and also economical.
Some can see them in western countries, Japan, and even Taiwan.
Clean Kampong houses are not the past, it is clean and cheaper living if we have the space without artificial big population .

Don't think anyone in the opposition realistically believes that AMK GRC can be won.
The LKY impact is still very strong, even though many are bewildered why that is still the case.

The reason to contest AMK would be to show objection to LHL's tenure as PM, and to allow the voters to reflect that, if they so wish.
Also, to keep him busy.

ivebert

If LHL loses to Alex Tan in GE

Will 23 year old Ah Beng Alex Tan be SIngapore's next Prime Minister?

SGX and property prices will nosedive
:(:(:(

Sideswipe

AMK GRC absorbed many oppositions strong support districts or precincts from past elections. considering the circumstances, LHL polling 66% last GE should be considered pretty satisfactory from PAP perspective.

Hougang Ave 8 precinct which WP claimed they polled very well there last GE is shifted to AMK GRC to save Aljunied GRC.

How does LHL poll exceptionally well in elections when all those oppo strong support precincts keep on joining his constituency? :biggrin:

If LHL loses to Alex Tan in GE

Will 23 year old Ah Beng Alex Tan be SIngapore's next Prime Minister?

Oh, if LHL loses to Alex in GE and more than half the pap mps lose to opposition mps, and the opposition parties form a coalition government, and the people the parties nominate to be cabinet ministars choose Alex to be PM in a democratic ballot out of their own free will and without encumbrance from anyone, then it's possible Alex will be Singapore's next PM. :rolleyes:

How does LHL poll exceptionally well in elections when all those oppo strong support precincts keep on joining his constituency? :biggrin:

4 words lah bro.
e a lao pei. :biggrin:

dysentry

Alex Tan (SPP) already has a team ready, just waiting for SPP CEC to give go-ahead. They will need extra funds for rally and poster printing etc.

Good synergy being just on top of Bishan and adjacent to Potong Pasir.

WP may be going for Sembawang, they have done walkabouts there recently.

Qantas

Mr Pwee of SPP just confirmed today that they will not contest AMK GRC. So disappointed.

Consider worst AMK GRC lost to opposition. Who will be the PM since LHL is lost?

Char_Azn

U kidding? Do U know who is DPM right now? Hong Kan Seng and Teo. LHL stepping down and handing to any one of them is going to be even worse.

blahblah

Mr Pwee of SPP just confirmed today that they will not contest AMK GRC. So disappointed.

I would think it is wise of the opposition not to contest AMK GRC. By not contesting, the oppositions can:

- focus on a selected group of constituencies
- send a message to the rest of the uncle / auntie citizens or whoever that might be worried of opposition winning a PM-led GRC

When the voters feel 'safe' about the PM still being a PM with a walkover, they would be more willing to vote for oppositions in other GRC/SMC.
The key is to secure more oppositions into the parliament and building up a balanced parliament.

Just my 2 cents opinion.

Spearhead

U kidding? Do U know who is DPM right now? Hong Kan Seng and Teo. LHL stepping down and handing to any one of them is going to be even worse.

I dun think that WKS and TEo are both in safe hand....they are 泥佛萨过江自身难保 (their positions are shaking too)

patrickv

CB pap dog,

u just revealed that u belong to the ah loong's kennel, not ah seng or ah teo kennel.