• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

American can expat notices that uneducated Singaporean pedestrians create absolute chaos on streets.

bic_cherry

American can expat notes that uneducated Singaporean pedestrians create absolute chaos on streets.
And that was in April 2016, more than 1 year before PAP/LTA changed the law to allow bicycles and PMD to legally travel on footpaths. Didn't LTA notice this pre-existing chaos and the need to organise pedestrian foot path directional use first before introducing PMDs into the mix which would many times magnify the lawlessness, chaos and confusion already existing amongst pedestrians themselves to begin with?
Why did LTA ignore the glaring problem of confused/ renegade pedestrians, an obvious situation that took an American expat just few months observation to pick up.
LTA must really hire this very talented and observant American expat to replace some of its useless (sleeping on job) directors or maybe even employ him as a Foreign Talent consultant to the Ministry of Transport.
------------
In Singapore aren't you supposed walk on the left side of the sidewalk?
Rusty Sammon, Answered Apr 24, 2016
In Singapore, people , similar to Great Britain and other former British colonies. So you'd think that people would follow the same "on the left" rule when walking down the sidewalk.

Not really. From my experience(*), people walk wherever they please, following the flow of other foot traffic. Sometimes they walk on the left, sometimes they walk on the right. There are some patterns for particular neighborhoods and areas, but the general rule "walk on this side" is not followed as strictly as many other countries. It's a little surprising, given how Singapore has rules for most everything else, but people are friendly enough that you seldom butt heads with anybody.

Some patterns I've seen:

In MRT (subway) stations and other business areas, most of the crowd will walk on the left. And many (but not all) stairways and escalators are set up for walking on the left.
On escalators, there is a custom to stand on the left so that other people can walk up the escalator on the right. Make sure to follow this rule or else you'll find somebody standing behind you anxiously waiting to pass you.
In touristy areas (Marina Bay, Orchard Rd), a lot of people end up walking on the right. Probably because they're still following the custom of their home country?
In busy shopping areas (shopping malls, Chinatown), it's a total free-for-all. Just aim for where you want to go and try not to step on any toes.
On uncrowded sidewalks, it seems that more people walk on the right than left, but it's still pretty close to 50-50.
If you go jogging or biking (i.e., faster than the flow of walking traffic), there is no general rule of passing on the right. You just try to make your intention as clear as possible and avoid collisions.
(*) Disclaimer: I'm an expat (American) living in Singapore and have only been here for a few months. Maybe the "walk on the left" custom is evolving over time?
https://www.quora.com/In-Singapore-arent-you-supposed-walk-on-the-left-side-of-the-sidewalk

jkohlc2(HWZ) said:
Amdk imposing on sinkies again

AMDK just pointing out obvious flaws in Singapore society / obvious every man for himself mentality / lack of proper pedestrian traffic planning by gahmen so hell bent on fixing political opposition, they don't even notice OBVIOUS problems under their nose.

2yrs later and because the root of the problem (uneducated, uncoordinated pedestrian traffic) isn't solved, adding PMDs to the mix only creates greater chaos because the root of the problem remains unsolved (lack of coordinated footpath directional flow (i.e. keep left at all times unless overtaking)).

This American expat has organized and logical thinking, unlike brain dead Singapore LTA directors who have never walked the ground and write policies encamped in their ivory towers, informed solely their facebook personalized newsfeeds and limited to what commercial salesmen leave at their door.

rlikolgon (HWZ) said:
ask him scram back to where he comes from

And leave headless chicken sinkees to be leaderless sheep?

This American expat has 10x the talent of any LTA director because 2 yrs ago, he already kinda predicted that legalizing PMD on footpaths was putting the cart before the horse and thus set up for disaster because LTA failed to realise that without pedestrians being first educated and organised to keep to their leftmost side of the footpath unless overtaking, adding faster moving PMDs would be like adding oil to fire. Pedestrians needed to be coordinated first before PMDs were added. Failure to approach the issue of PMD systematically is what caused many pedestrian -PMD conflicts to occur.

The tongue in cheek response by the US expat just goes to show how untrained, unqualified and unfocused LTA directors at their job.

Were the Singaporeans on the following plane all LTA directors?:
powerrr;112773404 said:
A plane made an emergency landing on water. The stewardess asked the passengers to slide down to the lifeboats, but the passengers refused.

The stewardess then asked the captain to help. The captain, being very knowledgeable and experienced, guided her - “You tell the Americans this is an ADVENTURE. Tell the British this is an HONOUR. Tell the French this is a ROMANTIC activity, and tell the Germans this is the LAW. Tell the Japanese this is an ORDER, and everyone will be sorted out.”

The stewardess remembered the flight had some passengers from India and Singapore too. “What about them”, she asked.

The captain laughed. “Easy. Just tell the Indians this activity is FREE.”

Can i convince the Pakistanis ???

Yes dear, just whisper, "This is a suicide mission"

“And what about the Singaporeans?”, she persisted.

The captain, taking a deep breath, patiently explained - “You need not tell the SIngaporeans anything, my dear. Once they see a QUEUE, they will join it without questions.”
[ms]$@&%# fuckwarezone Forums app[/ms]

Chris008(HWZ) said:
What does he expect when half the population are foreigners. :s13:

Foreigners in Singapore obey strict Singapore laws wrt drugs, littering, non-smoking areas.

Sad to say, LTA has dropped the ball on this one, thus in the absence of any LTA promulgated footpath direction rules in Singapore, foreigners practice their own home country laws: (some keep right whilst others left). And Singaporeans (like LTA directors) just blindly follow the foreigners, as they have been doing all along.

Porlumpar Angmoh start new clones and still spew same shit.

American can expat notes that uneducated Singaporean pedestrians create absolute chaos on streets.
And that was in April 2016, more than 1 year before PAP/LTA changed the law to allow bicycles and PMD to legally travel on footpaths. Didn't LTA notice this pre-existing chaos and the need to organise pedestrian foot path directional use first before introducing PMDs into the mix which would many times magnify the lawlessness, chaos and confusion already existing amongst pedestrians themselves to begin with?
Why did LTA ignore the glaring problem of confused/ renegade pedestrians, an obvious situation that took an American expat just few months observation to pick up.
LTA must really hire this very talented and observant American expat to replace some of its useless (sleeping on job) directors or maybe even employ him as a Foreign Talent consultant to the Ministry of Transport.
------------
In Singapore aren't you supposed walk on the left side of the sidewalk?
Rusty Sammon, Answered Apr 24, 2016
In Singapore, people , similar to Great Britain and other former British colonies. So you'd think that people would follow the same "on the left" rule when walking down the sidewalk.

Not really. From my experience(*), people walk wherever they please, following the flow of other foot traffic. Sometimes they walk on the left, sometimes they walk on the right. There are some patterns for particular neighborhoods and areas, but the general rule "walk on this side" is not followed as strictly as many other countries. It's a little surprising, given how Singapore has rules for most everything else, but people are friendly enough that you seldom butt heads with anybody.

Some patterns I've seen:

In MRT (subway) stations and other business areas, most of the crowd will walk on the left. And many (but not all) stairways and escalators are set up for walking on the left.
On escalators, there is a custom to stand on the left so that other people can walk up the escalator on the right. Make sure to follow this rule or else you'll find somebody standing behind you anxiously waiting to pass you.
In touristy areas (Marina Bay, Orchard Rd), a lot of people end up walking on the right. Probably because they're still following the custom of their home country?
In busy shopping areas (shopping malls, Chinatown), it's a total free-for-all. Just aim for where you want to go and try not to step on any toes.
On uncrowded sidewalks, it seems that more people walk on the right than left, but it's still pretty close to 50-50.
If you go jogging or biking (i.e., faster than the flow of walking traffic), there is no general rule of passing on the right. You just try to make your intention as clear as possible and avoid collisions.
(*) Disclaimer: I'm an expat (American) living in Singapore and have only been here for a few months. Maybe the "walk on the left" custom is evolving over time?
https://www.quora.com/In-Singapore-arent-you-supposed-walk-on-the-left-side-of-the-sidewalk