• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Allow partial CPF withdrawals now !

<TABLE id=msgUN cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Allow partial CPF withdrawals now !</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF noWrap align=right width="1%">From: </TD><TD class=msgFname noWrap width="68%">kojakbt22 <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate noWrap align=right width="30%">Mar-12 11:12 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT noWrap align=right width="1%" height=20>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname noWrap width="68%">ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 17) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%" rowSpan=4> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>9055.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>March 13, 2009
MIDDLE CLASS AND SQUEEZED
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : start --></TD></TR><TR><TD>Allow partial CPF withdrawals now

</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : end --></TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- show image if available --></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->MY WIFE and I are in our late 40s and live in a paid-up five-room HDB flat.
We are still working and have a few hundred thousands dollars in our Central Provident Fund (CPF) Ordinary and Special accounts.
We will also have a six-figure insurance payout on maturity when we reach 65 years of age.
With the guaranteed amount from the compulsory insurance taken via the CPF when we are older, we have enough set aside for our retirement.
However, the issue that worries us is taking place now, not when we reach 55.
Whatever take-home pay we earn now is barely enough to meet family expenses for ourselves and our two children.
Needless to say, we have little or no savings at all.
I believe that there are many more people like us, at the lower end of the typically squeezed middle-income group.
We do not qualify for many government handouts. Our salary increments, whenever we have them, do not keep up with the pace of inflation.
We need more money now, and not when we are 55.
The irony is that when we withdraw our CPF savings at age 55, we may not have urgent need for the payout as our children will probably have finished their education and joined the workforce.
It is time for the CPF Board to consider allowing eligible members who have healthy balances, and who are currently not using their CPF savings, to withdraw a small part of their savings before the age of 55.
The CPF Board can regulate this policy with certain conditions, for example, allowing members to withdraw a certain percentage of CPF savings before then.
Members should also have more than enough funds to meet the mandatory Minimum Sum, or must not have to service heavy loans using their CPF savings.
The CPF Board can also consider allowing members to withdraw their savings in the form of a loan with principal sum and interests paid into their own accounts.
The Government tells us regularly to make adjustments and changes to adapt to current conditions or to keep up with the times.
To my best knowledge, the CPF Board has not made as many changes to its policies.
If the current economic situation is not the right time, then when is? Gary Chua

[email protected]

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

lky.jpg

Paiseh! All in long-term investments now. Cannot return it to you now. In your next life perhaps. *hee*hee*

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=heading>Latest comments</TD></TR><TR><TD id=messageDisplayRegion width="100%"><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=Post style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>The only way you can get the CPF money is to renounce citizenship..
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: 0517elias at Fri Mar 13 13:07:06 SGT 2009

</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=AlternatePost style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Dear Gary

It is "foolish" for you to come out with such request or suggestion. Don't you know that the government need to use your money?

You keep your money in the CPF, and the governement can use it as HDB loan for other Singaporean. Having a health profit by pricing HDB flats "affordable" to "majority" people; you need not worry that they will lose your money.

Don't be "stupid"!
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: Greaterasia at Fri Mar 13 12:40:29 SGT 2009

</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=Post style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Mr Gary Chua, you got to ask Prez SR Nathan for the key!
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: ahbohling at Fri Mar 13 12:30:46 SGT 2009

</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=AlternatePost style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Haha...see money but cannot touch, this is what all Singaporeans are facing now but it is still better than if we 'kong ka kwa' (in Hokkien) before 55, then we can't even use our CPF money to buy a coffin.
CPF withdrawal before 55 - wait long long lah! Unless the CPF board is owned by your father.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: Singaporexyz at Fri Mar 13 12:02:17 SGT 2009

</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=Post style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>1. Our national investments suffers paper lost Tremendously, as said it is LOOOONG term investment. So, not likely to allow early withdrawal. We are lucky they dun rise the age limit ;

2. A good excuse the nation can explain is - sin ppl dunno how to manage their wealth. Many not some, lost lifetime savings on investments, you know ? If let ppl withdraw, and they ended up bankrupt, gov must still help them ; We dun like this kind of thing, ppl can die but dun burden the nation ;

3. Borned in this country, no matter higher middle income or lower bracket - all fate are the same. Study what the gov gear towarded industry -> earn money(income tax eg to feed 80 over ppl top scale salary, every 3/4 years there will be at least 80 millionaires) and CPF for housing and high old age hospitalisation cost. Finally when the day one is to go, s/he will discover their CPF is almost used off ! That is the intend, accumulate CPF to fund the economy acitivties.

Our grannies, parents is now in the cycle. When we reach the last part, it is medication expense. So you think can let u withdraw CPF or not ? I like u is samma samma, I also want to withdraw CPF money early. Imagine the $ opportunity lost.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: Gooidea1 at Fri Mar 13 09:37:17 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

I did try talking to the 'customer'..officers in & around 1997 & 1998, about withdrawing some of my OWN MONEY from CPF to ride over the Asian Financial Crises... the reply was, "No", "Nyet", "bu ker yi"...

Wait long long. Gov always increase age limit. Best is convert back the policy to 10 years ago already many will be happier.

allanlee

Wait long long. Gov always increase age limit. Best is convert back the policy to 10 years ago already many will be happier.

Withdraw CPF ? ......... dun these people know CPF is gahmen $$$ not yours :biggrin: ...... wanna withdraw ah ? ....... go n die first lor :p

nickers9

What I worried is that if the Singaporeans really pressure the PAPpies government to open up the CPF safe with the 2 keys hold by LHL and Nathan, when the safe is opened, to our horror, there might be no cash or gold bar inside the safe, and a moth flies out from there.

As our taxpayers money might be in somewhere out there, Suzhou or Citibank or some other money losing stocks.

I believed LKY might increased the age limit of drawing out all the money from the CPF to 100 years old.

Before you reach 100 years old, you are somewhere six feet under alreadi.