• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Aljunied Town Council prints calender

<TABLE id=msgUN cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Aljunied Town Council prints calender</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF noWrap align=right width="1%">From: </TD><TD class=msgFname noWrap width="68%">cockado <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate noWrap align=right width="30%">4:12 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT noWrap align=right width="1%" height=20>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname noWrap width="68%">ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 7) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%" rowSpan=4> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>4911.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>I have just recieved a copy of a calender 2009 printed and published by the Town Council of Aljunied GRC. I was so elated that for this year, I have yet to recieve a calender. When I called my friends in the business circle, I was told that owing to the economic downturn, it is a rarity to find a calender.
When I opened the pages, I realised that it was not only a calender but it also included photographs of all the MPs in the GRC. Every month has its flavour ie. an MP and it is repeated over and over again. How mundane !
My conclusion is that it is just another PAPlee propaganda with the objective of prolonging the regime and to use it in preparation for any sudden snap election.
Another question: As the Town councils are losing money in investments that have collapsed, why is the Town Council spending so much money on printing calenders? Going back to the last election, there were about 150.000 households. which means that the same number is printed, or even more.(complements to other fellow comrades)
If they are not using the Town Council's money, I supposed all the 5 MPS made their contributions. They must really be filled in their coffers. Why not use it for the needy, the poor etc. especially at a time when the citizens are trying to recoup and even to the extend of begging for food to fill their stomach.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

ze calendar is 4 u 2 polish ur dart-throwing skills ... dun waste it ... :smile:

kylie72

I live in Aljunied GRC. Just before the 2006 elections they sent me a fridge magnet of one MP's face.

DerekLeung

They ask cronies to set up printing company !

Assign contracts to crony companies by drawing funds from heartlanders !

RK85

I also rec. one from Hong Kah TC. every yr. I threw it away immediately as I felt sick watching the MPs faces on every page.

scoobyhoo

luckily you didn't put it in your bedroom. otherwise, they will stare at you and ask you to make more babies.

Wobble

I received the Town council report on "Town Council's Sinking Fund Is Well Protected and Earning Positive Returns"....guess which TC?

The_Latest_H

George Yeo has got to be joking if he thinks his GRC MP faces are collectible items. I mean, even most ordinary citizens around the world will have a love-and-hate relationship with their local politicians. Why would someone put a button of their MP's face on their shirt?

Barring the examples of Obama, these are people whom most ordinary people have no feeling for.

funglung

They ask cronies to set up printing company !

Assign contracts to crony companies by drawing funds from heartlanders !

They got in

You all voted them in

So they all do what they know best

JIAK BAK JIAK BAK JIAK BAK JIAK BAK

LAUGH ALL THE WAY TO THE BANK

GO TO FRANCE TO LEARN FRENCH COOKING

THINK OF EVEN MORE WAYS TO SUCK MONEY FROM US

SCREW US SCREW US SCREW US

Sinkies got what they voted for

kylie72

Did you use it as a dart board? :smile:

No lah.. really couldn't be bothered. First I asked the maid whether she would like to have it as a singapore souvenir but she said "Eee!!..." so I told her to throw it away.

The_Latest_H

No lah.. really couldn't be bothered. First I asked the maid whether she would like to have it as a singapore souvenir but she said "Eee!!..." so I told her to throw it away.

That belies the fact that MP calendars are such a corny idea. And besides, if they aren't handsome or pretty, or even appealing in character, why bother?

Obama is only the exception because he's handsome, and his character is viewed as honest, kind, and respectful. But his appeal in the stuff that his face adorns also depend on his performance for the next few years. If he does well, people will still buy mugs that has Obama's face on it.